Retiring GAA Stars tribute thread - May cause brain/neck damage

Picked on the Team of the Century for the Fitzgibbon, some lads here will tell you thats more prestigious than the All Stars.

Not to mention his star studded inclusion here

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSXAtqoRL6o

The kid stays in the picture. Albeit after leaving the picture.

Just saw that. Very young to be stepping away from IC level. Any particular reason?

Been plagued with hip injuries in recent years. Was flogged by Laois for 11 years, didn’t help.

Not been ftunny How did he get flogged by laois?? Was summer not over most years by June/July ?

No one would ever accuse you of being funny.

Still had to do the shite training, and was made a go to man when he was 18. He was our only halfforward fit to catch a puck out as well so he spent days when (given what Laois were conceding) having ball rained down on his head with 2 men flaking him.

You make a valid point but in a county like Laois, a lad like him gets too much too soon and was still expected to perform every day and every opponent knew he was the main man and acted accordingly.

Hurling in July/August/September never shortened anyone’s career.

Paul Finlay’s left boot.

And the rest of him.

Paddy Stapleton

Who’s this now?

Two time All Ireland winner. Never won POTY though.

Paddy “The Saint” Stapleton

Interesting.

That would make his brother, Shane?

Did he release a statement, this Paddy Stapleton?

No, he got another Paddy Stapleton to do it.

never heard of him

You’re too busy getting off your tits over in the UK, and spending your time watching rugby league and Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor. You’d never get time to watch hurling pal.

Ballymuck vs Castleshitetown in a cowshed doesn’t do it for me anymore

Paddy Simpleton

Not enough fat birds drinking cheap bitter, dropping yokes, and game for a bareback ride with a stranger in the jacks at GAA matches for you pal, I’d say

watching a few farmers falling around in shit in Ballybollix is for muldoons