Retiring GAA Stars tribute thread - May cause brain/neck damage

https://twitter.com/thomasniblock/status/1671416687353032704?t=kMmt7uxeTJA21wkmryXkCg&s=19

A great player and fantastic career.

Smashing stuff. As it should be. Just a shame after those 40 seconds the Limerick fellas turned into robots again, but shur we got those 40 seconds.

He was a good hardy one.

Kevin McLoughlin, Mayo.

Richie Hogan

We’re here for you @locke

One of the all time greats.

A proper dispenser of joy.

End of an era. He was so bedevilled by injuries over the last 6 or 7 years, if not longer, you’d forget how good he was at his peak.

That point he scored off the bench in the ‘22 final is iconic.

He has had some shite end to a wonderful career.

Fair play to him for being willing to play that roll of sub they might not even use

That song he sang to Woolie on the WhatsApp message was iconic.

I always felt he might have hung around a couple of years after the sending off in 2019 to right a wrong.

Jesus he was something else in his day

Legend. It had to come with all the injuries,and he’ll continue with Dansfort for sure, but sad to see him go.

Fuck sake did he get all of his points against Waterford?

Genius, remember going watching him in u-14 county finals and you’d have a bigger crowd there than most senior club games. Most exciting KK forward since …!!!

He played my club in an under 14 game i guess in the 90s before a Limerick v Kilkenny league game. A lad from our club gave him as good as he got in it. He won a county championship with us aged 16 but pretty much finished hurling immediately after that. You’d hear a few lads still talking about that game as there was so much hype around hogan at the time.

The goal in 2011 broke my heart but he was some player.

Broke Tipp hearts in 2006 in the U21 Final too as an 18 year old. when he was already known countrywide as a superstar.

You just don’t see prodigies like him anymore.

Brilliant wrists, Exceptional spatial awareness and an evil eye for a score.

Richie was a good 'un.