Retiring GAA Stars tribute thread

A good forward in his time.

Diarmuid is the better of the two?

Not a lot between them. They should have done better with the attacking resources they had at the one time: Murtagh X 2, Smith X 2, Cregg X 2,Cox, O’Carroll and Ultan Harney. There’s surely other whom I’ve forgotten about and while none of them were a Tony McManus they were tidy.

Their problems were their somewhat carefree attitude of we’ll outscore you except when you run into a punishing set of forwards and for these small mercies we’re very grateful.

Happy actual retirement to Gerry McEntee who is hanging up the scrubs

A mad cunt but drove Brigids to their two county championships in Dublin

Operated on me in the Mater in 1993 in an emergency, an embarrassing condition but I’ve lived to tell the tale.

Some lads have it every way. What a talent. Hope he enjoys it now.

Hope you have been able to play the banjo since.

The time Beano broke his leg against Tyrone, Gerry was watching it across the road and had called one of the Laois backroom team and informed them that they would be waiting at the front door when they got them there.

A good lad.

Is there a song that could be used as a pun style reply to this post?

Ok, it was early April 1993, big gang of us scattered all over the country in 2nd year co-op in UL, arranged we’d head to Dublin this weekend with the group there, all staying on floors in various flats on sleeping bags etc, anyway after being on the piss all day Saturday I wake up in one of the lads places early Sunday morning feeling terrible, knew straight away it wasn’t the :beer:, went into a bathroom, saw straight away in the mirror one of my bollix had retreated internally :scream:, I said to the lads I feel like shite could be my appendix :wink:, abdominal pain etc, they rang a doctor back in those days you could, some guy appeared and said you need to go to hospital. The lads carried me down to the Mater hobbling into casualty, was seen quickly, examined and told I had a tortioned testicle and needed emergency surgery!, wheeled into theatre and before I was knocked out I realised the surgeon standing over me was Gerry McEntee, I vaguely remember telling him I hope his scalpel hands were more deft than the boxing he used to do on the pitch. Anyway, to this day my best pal had to ring home to tell the parents my predicament, he burst his hole laughing telling my mother what was wrong with me​:rofl:, something I would have done also of it was the other way round. I come round from the surgery and I thought I was hallucinating, Eamon Dunphy was the first person I saw, his father was in the bed next to me, then @Cheasty on the TV the very first viewing of The Snapper was shown that night on BBC, that was worse, as I was laughing the pain got worse, 2 kids later Gerry sorted me out anyway.

24 Likes

The replies to that tweet are lovely.

:grinning::grinning:

Had a similar emergency surgery but not by a celeb surgeon. If it was six months later, and Ennis A&E was closed, I’d have probably lost a ball :open_mouth:.

Didn’t McEntee operate on Shane Duffy before? He had a freak internal injury following an underage match in Tolka Park?

I believe it happened during a training match in Malahide.

Gerry McEntee managed the Dublin minor football team in 2008 and banned players from wearing white football boots.

Think you are right - think he ruptured his spleen

A Meath man managing Dublin. That must have been a first.

He told them they could wear any color boots they wanted as long as their black. James McCarthy was on the team. I think meath knocked them out.

They weren’t a Model-Team.