Iām delighted the Jets are getting another crack at the Patriots. It would be quite amusing if they reversed the 45-3 result from earlier in the season.
I couldnāt find the article where I read it.
Here it is:
The good news for the Patriots is that theyāve had either a No. 1 or No. 2 seed and a first-round bye on five occasions since the playoffs expanded in 1990, and theyāve launched a Super Bowl run from that position each time. But if thereās a cause for concern, itās that this isnāt the battle-tested New England team of yore when it comes to playoff experience. I count only six active-roster players who were with the Patriots when they last won a Super Bowl after the 2004 season, and two of those are players who left and came back in recent years (Deion Branch and Tully Banta-Cain). Then again, they do still have Tom Brady and Bill Belichick. So nevermind.
thats players who won a superbowl CLD, not playoff expeerience. sure what team left has huge experience of superbowl rings other than steelers?
Well yeah, this is in the context of:
- New England being heavy Superbowl favourites.
- New England getting their arses handed to them last year by the Ravens.
This is not the Vrabel, Seymour, Law, Harrison etcā¦ Patriots of the past and playoffs can do funny things to people.
How the fook do these playoffs work? The Jets won so they play the Patrots but if the Colts had won they would have played the Steelers. How are these things decided?
Are you coming up to throw yellow dust cloths around Dublin again?
FFS!
That was a quality second half from the Jets last night. Really managed the ball and the clock very well and their defence was superb all day.
Explain it to me then because Iāve been looking at the division standings and overall records etc and still not quite sure what criteria is used.
All down to seedings.
Wild Card weekend is:
seed #3 vs seed #6
and
seed #4 vs seed #5
Whoever gets through plays the #1 and #2 seeds with the #1 seed playing the highest number seeded team.
Jets are a #6 seed so they must play the Patriots as they are #1.
Had the the Colts won they would have to play the #2 seed as they were #3 seed and whoever emerged from the other game would be a higher number seed.
Yeah thatās right of course. The seedings, nice one bro.
fucking eejit
FOAD mong.
jaysus Flano! let yourself down bigtime there bro!
Mac, not throwing dust cloths around this year, not sure if there is anything planned ofr the night yet, but doubt it, brought a lot of attentnion from bouncers last year!
CLD, indeed playoffs can do strange things, but if the Patriots cant learn from being heavy favorites alĆ” 07 when going for 19-0, annd if they cant learn from the drubbing last year, then they dont deserve it. the team last year I felt was weak, and didnt really expect them to get to the playoffs. this year I only expected a slight increase in performance, but the rookies have been a huge addition and contributed massivley. I havent seen betting odds, but are they heavu faborites? I certainly wouldnt make them heavy favorites anyway. I actually think its one of the mot open playoffs for years. Last year it was nailed on to be Saints Colts, Steelers year before, Patriots the year before. its never been where any one of at least 8 teams has a realistic chance.
The Jets clock managment was superb last night, and I expect them to try similar next week to keep Brady sitting. But they need Sanchez to be doing more. Some of throws in the first half were atrocious
This fucking seeding system is a pain in the hole, I was looking at it and thinking the Colts won their Division but so did the Cheifs with the same W/L record. Now that Iām looking at the standings properly itās all clearer, the Jets by virtue of not winning their division but while having a better W/L record than either the Colts of Cheifs are a lower seed, the Colts are a higher seed because they beat the Cheifs in the regular season.
I hope Vick is fully fit and properly rested. He was taking way too many hits late in the regular season and was visibly limping in the game against Minnesota. Heās had two weeks to get himself right what with being rested last week though. Iām quite wary of the Packers because I donāt think our secondary has been good at all this season. We also lack something in the linebacker unit, especially without Bradley, so I think heās capable of picking us apart unless we can get lots of pressure on him. I know his offensive line was fairly rubbish last season and he took loads of sacks but I donāt know if theyāve improved this season? I reckon itāll be fairly close.
Rodgers was sacked 31 times this year compared to 50 last year but he pretty much missed two full games this year because of the concussion. Iām fairly sure he didnāt miss a part of any game last year.
Shonn Greene coming into his own now the play offs are here. I reckon the Jets will keep it on the ground as much as possible next week. The ironic thing about Sanchez for me is he had a far better game in the Championship game last year than he did last night vs the Colts.
Does this mean the Jets have improved that much in other areas or did Indyās IR list finally catch up with them?
I fancied Seattle last night too, dunno why I just a had a feeling New Orleans were so lacklustre at home the week before to TB I couldnāt see them lift it to the required level. Seahawks have beaten the Bears this season too so donāt write them off as cannon fodder for next week just yet either.
There will only be 3 points in it either way between the Chiefs and the Ravens, tough one to call. If in doubt go with the home team I say?
The Ravens are a superior team all round to the Cheifs, I think theyāll stuff the running game of the Cheifs which is obviously their stong point on offense. i canāt see past the Ravens in this one, especially with Ray Rice looking like heās getting into some good form.
Could someone please post a quality link to tonights games and if anyone has any bets they wish to recommend please fire away