Rory McIlroy, Masters Winner 2025, Member of the most Exclusive Club in Golf (Gene Sarazen, Ben Hogan, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy), British and Irish Sports Personality Of The Year 2025

Clifton Hugh Lancelot de Verdon Wrottesley, 6th Baron Wrottesley

Like he turned down the MBE

He accepted an MBE?

You cant teally compare ruairs or tigs with the other lads who won career grand slams …shur there were only a few dozen people involved in the pastime, back in jack, ben and arnolds day

I remember working in a pub in mid 90s and on Sunday nights, the alickadoo golf crowd would come into the lounge to watch whatever yankee tournament was on. “Andrew, can you turn on the golf?” They’d all be stood near the tv in their golf clothes. as if to reinforce the fact to the rest of us that they were golfers. A harmless enough bunch.
The wives would be drinking vodka and slimline tonic, or Babycham, or Satzenbrau.
The bar flies would tune into the darts or the snooker usually. Great auld times.

Oh, so its ireland now, all of a sudden…

I’m trying to think of the three English major winners.

At first I drew a blank.

I then got Danny Willett. Eventually a spark hit my brain that Matt Fitzpatrick won the US Open about three years ago.

The third one. that’s more difficult. I went through all our English Ryder Cup stalwarts.

Tommy Fleetwood. Ian Poulter. Paul Casey. Lee Westwood. Luke Donald. None of them have won a major.

Go back further. Howard Clark. Mark James. Barry Lane. Paul Broadhurst? Nah, too far back.

I give up. Is it Nick Faldo?

I had no idea that pube head and Trump were good friends and have played golf with each other numerous times.

Justin Rose

It’s always the most obvious one you can’t think of.

It’s like the Grand National, sure any fucking eejit could train a National winner before Mullins ruined it.

Apparently they’re both lovely fellas, in person like

First ten backers were disappointed with you as well.

Rory ran into the right lad, he’s a bit of a flake really. Should’ve won way more with the talent he has.

Andrew was a good sort despite that.

He was indeed, yerra the golf jocks were fairly sound to be fair