It’s known as Norbert’s, doesn’t matter what name is over the door
For some God known reason I decided to head to Padraig Pearse’s the night that Paisley died.
What I found inside was no reference to the passing but a few young scumbags smoking away and asking if we wanted drugs.
The biggest kip of a pub I ever stood in was Pat Spillane’s in Kerry. Kip in terms of being dirty and reminiscent of the 1920’s - not in a good way.
I’ve never been in it, but I wouldn’t really want to head in either. Ah I don’t think you’d be unsafe, it just seems to attract an element that would would have spent some considerable time in the old and new Garda stations, and old and new court houses, in Wexford town.
The Cosy Inn
cc @CallanClique
You’re right. That’s what my father in law calls it.
never been in, loks a kip.
The missus was on once on a 12 pubs…
Think youd be grand in there so long as you werent being a cunt.
Tangent:
Noctors on Sherriff street would be a tough spot
North Star looks a proper rough spot,
It’s not that rough at all actually. Working class but not really a scumbag bar. Whatever Quilty’s is called these days, that one was rough.
Pal I had a business with in Oz is from there. He was back on Xmas about 5 years back. That was his local. Go in for a pint. Some auld scorpey looking fucker comes.over
“Alri Git (cos that was his name), hear.youre.doing well out dare in Austraaaalia?”
“Not bad Tommy, tipping away, yourself , what you at?”
“Retired now Git, just breeding the dogs these days, bit of dog fighting”
I heard it was up for sale recently and the building and opportunity be worth a fortune. Bidding war way over asking lead the owners to think they were rushing into the sale of it and pulled it from the market.
Roughest I was in in was some pub on the walk back into town after the 2018 win in Croker. In the door and some fella sitting there in his own piss and puke. Bird walks in and starts trying to sell whatever shed robbed from the nearby Tesco including box of cornflakes!
Any pub where you can buy stuff at a “discount” as it has been recently liberated/ or can be liberated is a rough spot
I got offered ham and cheese and a discount in The Auld Triangle on Dorset Street one Monday night
Known hotspot for brie and camambert around there
We had a junior B game up in Callan 7 or 8 years ago one Sunday morning.
A few of us stopped into the Cosy afterwards and the place was hopping.
Rebel songs, pool competition, darts competition in full flow and it was only around 12.30 or 1pm.
We fell out of it about 6 that evening.
Sounds like Judg[quote=“LionelRitchie, post:68, topic:35456, full:true”]
North Star looks a proper rough spot,
Roughest I was in in was some pub on the walk back into town after the 2018 win in Croker. In the door and some fella sitting there in his own piss and puke. Bird walks in and starts trying to sell whatever shed robbed from the nearby Tesco including box of cornflakes!
Sounds like the Deers Head aka Judges on Parnell St
Would have been somewhere along there anyway. Fucking kip of a place.
I hope you at least said “hello” to @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy if not wishing, under the circumstances, to shake his hand and congratulate him.
The hum off him, you wouldn’t share the back seat of a Micra with him.
Sounds like the Deers Head aka Judges on Parnell St
Bernard Judges pub as it was in the old days. Or Judgers as we knew it. Judger played full forward for us. Had a right owl session there one night after winning the Miller Shield. Came out onto Parnell Street after and there was a group of women bating the living shite out of each other. Another grand spot up on the next corner the Avondale was also owned by one of ours. It’s an off licence now.
The Jobstown Inn, close the thread
Newmount House there at Darndale is a fair detail as well.
It does bemuse us country yokels to see the offies in that part of town operate like bank cashier’s.
The one up the road from the Hogan stand is very handy mind you on a big day.