Ah here ? Rough ? I spent a lot of one of the lock downs drinking on tables outside there. I know six or seven lads renting in Johnstown.
Jobstown and Johnstown are two very different places
Heffernan’s Wexford town. Went in once 10 years ago just to say I was in there, absolute stink of piss. Couldn’t get draught pints, bottles only. The worst of down and outs and one of two pubs in the town that’ll allow traveller funerals in. Dive.
Honestly lads, there’s plenty of pubs in Manchester like the pub out of shameless.
The Seahawk was the roughest boozer I was in. On the ground floor of one of the tower blocks in Hulme. I went in one Christmas Eve with moss side nige, who assured me I’d be safe with him. Within 30 seconds, two lads were flaking pool cues off each other and we watching from behind the sketchy security of the bar. Fell out of the place Christmas morning early.
The Orion, the white lion (now a Sainsbury’s) in withington. I used live almost next door. Was closed down by the police about one Saturday in three. We were in one Saturday night and there was a lad cycling round the pub asking did anyone want to buy drugs.
What’s the other one?
The mayflower?
I misread. Sorry.
The rising sun is not a place you’d like to walk into on your own in brownstown.
Foggy Dew.
is Hassestts in moyross still going?
It’s more Thomondgate. On the road to, but a good bit from Moyross.
It closed a good few years ago but used open for rugby matches as it’s beside Thomond Park.
I avoid that area during rugby matches so can’t comment further.
No, long closed. Rough as fucking guts.
It opened up for a short while when Thomond Park was redeveloped but it coincided with the downturn which didn’t help.
Quilty’s pub in Thomondgate was/is a rough enough spot. Think it is called Fitzgerald’s these days.
It has a bit of a reputation back in it’s day alright.
I was in there one Sunday afternoon about 20 years ago I’d say, when a blind local man, 60 odd, walked in with a pretty young girl. We got talking to them. Turns out that every Sunday afternoon one of the local young girls in Ballynanty would take turns bringing him out for a few drinks. Making sure he got home ok. But a big part of it was just giving him a couple of hours company. I’m guessing you wouldn’t see it happen much these days.
Was the guy’s name Munchin, do you recall?
As in……
There was a local blind guy called Munchin, was wondering if him is all. Sin é.
Can’t remember and the guy I was with is in Saudi.
Small, thin, old, white stick and dark glasses. Smiled a lot.
Went into Powers for the first time ever yesterday. Grand spot all nust auld lads watching the horses. Not what i expecting like every other pub around. Would go again