Roundy sports fans

Agreed, although i tried to like it as i stay in alot of friday nights and it can be the only thing on. Although a good few of my rugby mates do like it alot.

The super league is shite alright but I remember a few of the lads on here raving about the Aussie version…The majority of the best players play in it and it is a much better spectacle…

Never really like rugby league myself

[quote=“The Puke”]The super league is shite alright but I remember a few of the lads on here raving about the Aussie version…The majority of the best players play in it and it is a much better spectacle…

Never really like rugby league myself[/quote]

I went to a few games in Oz. It was alright as an event but I think the skill levels are minimal. Meathead picks ball and runs 5 yards, gets wrestled to the grounf, Meathead 2 picks ball and runs 5 yards, gets wrestled to the ground, repeat ad nauseam.

That said I did go a State of Origion game and that was very good. Joey Johns was playing and he was unreal. The only rugby league player I had time for.

NSW scored a try where he kicked through from about 30 meters out, the ball bounced of the post and straight back to the inrushing nsw player. Lucky break you might say, but in the paper the next day they had a copy a “Skills School” section Johns had done in the paper a few weeks previous where he said that when he kicks towards the line from that distance he aims for the post to give the incoming player every chance of picking up the rebound. Class.

Yeah a lot of lads have transferred over from League to Union with huge reptations and have struggled…

Iestyn Harris looked a different class for the Leeds Rhino’s but was nothing more than an average union player…Same can be said for Matt Rodgers, Henry Paul and Andy Farrell(although he made the switch when he was passed his best)

Presume that Jason Robinson and Loti Tuquiri would be seen as the most succesful converts

i couldnt get into baseball at all while in the states in pub i worked in over summer often we’d have yankees on one tv and mets on the other but couldnt watch it… the basketball playoffs were great to watch though

Sport Matters on Setanta Ireland now discussing the old chestnut of why Irish soccer fans follow english clubs more than LOI.
It’s been done to death, especially on internet forums, but it’s always a subject that interests me I have to say.
Yer man Daire O Briain is presenting and he had Fitzmaurice from the Herald and some other league of Ireland fan on there talking about it.
He was poopoohing the two boys a small bit I thought.

Another thing I used to watch religiously was the Formula One but would have absolute no interest in it these days…All these rule changes and bollocksology fucke it IMO…

Hakkenin v Schumacher was a superb duel…Mika was a legend

Damon Hill V Michael Schumacher when the crafy kraut deliberately took Hill out of the race on the last day of the season to clinch the championship for himself. Epic viewing.

This guy is one of the better sports presenters for me.

I really liked the feud between Juan Pablo Montoya and Jacques Villeneuve. There was once they had a fight after crashing each other out of a race. Montoya then said, “Say that again and I’ll put you in that fucking wall!”

Jacques’ reply? “Say that again and I’ll put you in that fucking tree!”

Go easy

i would agree with that.

Good topic.

I would be in the same boat as you Gola, would watch anything bar horse racing on the telly. Hurling first, rugby, soccer, golf, Gaa football, NFL, Darts and then the rest. Was like Puke, big into F1 years ago, I mean way back. Was watching it when Jordan cars came 2nd and 3rd in Canada behind a Ferrari drove by a Frenchman, name escapes me now, for their first podium finish. The were sponsored by B&H then the season after that but lost interest after I moved to the states. Funny enough it was Jordans best season.

But getting back to it, Hurling is the best game to watch. Probably Rugby 2nd as soccer can be a bit boring due to the lack of scoring. GAA football, I find it hard to watch. Wexford v Offaly was on the same day as a KK v Wexford game a couple of years back and I did my best to watch it but went back to the bar instead (premium tickets, lah di dah). Laois v Mayo is another corker of a game that was on one day of a KK match. Same tickets, same reaction from me.

Golf I could watch all night, love it.

Baseball is a great game, both to watch and play. Well, when I say play I played softball. Said nothing about my hurling heritage and the yanks couldn’t get over how I could hit the ball.

would be similar to Runt in the sports regard.

GAA man first and foremost. Playing, and following the county teams around the country. Championship hurling on the Thurles sod beats all.

I didnt play rugby past U16, but always followed it, go the odd AIL game, and get to about half a dozen munster magners league mathes. Have been to 3 heineken cup games this year and have been to 4 in the past. Have been at all the home international.

I played soccer growing up, and was a big arsenal fan. Still support the gooners, but not too bothered really, its a fair bit down the list. Used to have a waterford united season ticket when i was in school, my interest in them now only really extends to checking their results. I have been to an handful of soccer interationals over the years but whilst I would always try to watch them on the TV, I wouldnt be bothered attending. Been to Highbury twice, was at the Emirates for the Man U game before christmas, been in Anfield and Loftus road in the past, and been to Celtic Park once while in college.

I play golf, but not as much as I would like. I played to a pretty high standard when I was younger and my resolution of to get back into it this year. I would watch golf on TV a fair bit, and have been to a few Irish Opens and was at every day of the Ryder Cup.

A sport that is getting close to GAA on my list the last few years is Greyhound Racing and Coursing. I have 3 coursing dogs at the minute and shares in 2 more track dogs, but that numbe is due to grow rapidly in the coming months. Clonmel on finals day for the coursing comes close to munster final day in Thurles for me.

I have an interest in horse racing to the tune that I own a share in a horse. I would get to between 10 and 15 days racing a year, mainly national hunt.

I would watch most sports, and when i was working in america i got into all of their sports. I have been to see the Philadephia Eagles, New York Yankees, New York Mets, Phialdelphia 76ers, Ottowa Senators all play at home and enjoyed each experience.

I am sports fan. Some more than others though.

[quote=“The Runt”] Meathead picks ball and runs 5 yards, gets wrestled to the grounf, Meathead 2 picks ball and runs 5 yards, gets wrestled to the ground, repeat ad nauseam.

Over this side of the world that is described as “superb control from Munster”