T
they signed some Suarez like chap who was a lazy stereotype for cheating Johnny Foreigner. Much like Suarez himself in fact. They put manners on him though
T
they signed some Suarez like chap who was a lazy stereotype for cheating Johnny Foreigner. Much like Suarez himself in fact. They put manners on him though
‘It’s not Kevin Radnor we want! Why it’s the playmaker himself - Andy Steele!’
I had a good conversation with @Monkey Allen couple of months back on Roy of the Rovers. He recalled a story from the 80s where the team went to the Middle East or Africa and became involved in a coup to overthrown the government. Half the team were killed.
They don’t make them like that anymore.
I played in haunted boots. The boots haunted Brother Prunty.
[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 1028214, member: 24”]‘It’s not Kevin Radnor we want! Why it’s the playmaker himself - Andy Steele!’
I had a good conversation with @Monkey Allen couple of months back on Roy of the Rovers. He recalled a story from the 80s where the team went to the Middle East or Africa and became involved in a coup to overthrown the government. Half the team were killed.
They don’t make them like that anymore.[/QUOTE]
I recall a story that saw them end up in Siberia (could have been Ukraine, I was young at the time) and the bus going off the road leaving our heroes fighting the elements and local renegades to make their way home for the weekends league game. Think they lost the driver and a kit man in that, but I am open to correction.
Good times.
Who was the better goalkeeper?
Gordon Stewart or his son, Rick?
[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 1028219, member: 363”]Who was the better goalkeeper?
Gordon Stewart or his son, Rick?[/QUOTE]
Did Rick ever graduate beyond the youth team?
Tommy’s Troubles had some great names in it. Ginger Collins, Nutter Norman, Skinny Lane. Think there may have been a Tubby as well?
There was some fat blondy young fella.
I remember I used to think he was a girl.
I don’t recall Roy of the Rovers being in colour. Not all of it anyway, except maybe the cover.
Everpool were a great side.
[QUOTE=“balbec, post: 1028246, member: 193”]I don’t recall Roy of the Rovers being in colour. Not all of it anyway, except maybe the cover.
Everpool were a great side.[/QUOTE]
The Roy of the Rovers story was in colour for as long as I can remember (and I can remember before I can remember on this one, having inherited my brothers’ old editions). The full thing went colour for a little while before it went bust I think, around the early 90’s.
‘Get in there!’
[QUOTE=“Piles Hussain, post: 1028219, member: 363”]Who was the better goalkeeper?
Every week till the end I got Roy of the Rovers. From John Brennan’s shop. Remember the bombing of the bus and then the week after naming the 8 lads who passed away. Sad times. Rovers had a young keeper that Roy helped through troubled times to start on the first team. He bit some shrapnel and died. The season before the bomb a few celebs were parachuted in, Crazy Horse Hughes, the two lads from Spandau Ballet (ffs) and the former arsenal keeper who was on the telly in the 80’s but of course they were unavailable for the tour due to prior commitments. Should have seen the tragedy coming…
To answer your question @Piles Hussain, Gordon hands down. True to his Scottish routes. Rick was some soup taker playing from England.
Actually, Goalkeeper had two artists, ever other story line they were used. One shite, one class. Anyone notice that?
A man of champagne talent but lemonade ego
Was that hot shot Hamish or sumtin? Thought tha was fairly shit roy &. Billy all the way. Wasn’t Billy’s boots a mag of its own 1st & after a while was in the Roy mag? Or am I dreaming?? Gud times tho…
Racey’s Rocket?
More like a damp squib.
[QUOTE=“balbec, post: 1028246, member: 193”]I don’t recall Roy of the Rovers being in colour. Not all of it anyway, except maybe the cover.
Everpool were a great side.[/QUOTE]
Tottenham Coldspurs as well.
Remember the annuals? Used to have interviews with real players. Name two things you hate. Smoking and hooliganism.
[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 1028272, member: 24”]Tottenham Coldspurs as well.
Remember the annuals? Used to have interviews with real players. Name two things you hate. Smoking and hooliganism.[/QUOTE]
Fave music: Luther vandross
Fave food: steak and chips
Who would you bring to a desert island: I better say the wife