absolutely.
aren’t nearly as good as they seem to think they are
sums them all up quite nicely tbh.
absolutely.
aren’t nearly as good as they seem to think they are
sums them all up quite nicely tbh.
there was a show a few years back, a decent one ironically enough for RTE, a type of your a star to find a TV presenter for RTE. Caroline Morahan won it. She’d get it too.
Anyway I dont think there was ever a second series. I wonder was the reason that they could find someone off the street that put their highly paid stars to shame? They could get rid of a load of them now and have these shows to find candidates to replace them.
I’m all for decent public service broadcasting but RTE serves a population of 4m people. Any comparison salary wise to the BBC is absurd. RTE should be paying less salaries than TV3 etc. Lets see Pat Kenny jump ship to C4 and see what wages he gets.
Does RTE even with this huge funding deliver decent public service do others feel? Their sports department is actually embarrassing.
As others have said, there is some disgusting about a society that pays the likes of Pat Kenny 900k and cuts the minimum wage by a euro an hour. How much do the likes of Hector, Seoige and O’Shea even Pat Spillane etc get from the taxpayer for the outstanding talent they display?
TG4 with a fraction of the money do a far better job with sports and even a show I used to like to watch Paisean Fashion - that probably cost fuck all to make but it was actually decent. If RTE were delivered a nice sharp shock in terms of funding maybe they would be forced to be innovative aswell.
I seriously doubt that would happen. In all probability we’d just get more repeats. TG4’s innovativeness comes in part from the fact that they primarily deal with small production companies external to the organisation. I was at a seminar a couple of years ago where their ceo was speaking and I was badly hungover so I can’t remember all the details. Interestingly, the presenter of that Paisean Faisean show was a religious nutter who refused to film shows which featured gay people.
she was really good though. yeah jehovahs witness or something.
you watched paisean fashion & find a star
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Ok the salaries are one issue but there are routine wastes of money as well. Flying Ryle Nugent to NZ to watch a match on a monitor and miss the biggest moment of the World Cup, when Hugh Cahill, already a much better commentator is out there.
Richard Curran flying to Japan just because he has a 30 second slot in his programme about Japan. Wow this must be serious! This guy really is in Japan and they’ve had a property crash too!
Charlie Bird being sent to any war zone to cower under his bed the first time someone let’s off a firecracker when they could just as easy take a BBC feed.
Having a US correspondent.
The list is endless. These people squander money for fun.
The thing that really grates me is the “chatshows” they have will normally have at least 1 “guest” who’s already on the RTE payroll. And it’ll usually coincide with this “guest” releasing a book or launching some RTE produced show. Get some proper guests on ffs.
They should have left Charlie Bird in Antarctica.
Paisean Faisean was top notch Monday night viewing circa 2005.
Proper guests would cost more money though surely? Jaysus when you said Jodie Marsh was on TLLS couple of weeks back that was the nadir for me.
How do ye think the guest thing works? Chatshows are about people selling stuff and having to endure these public appearances to do so. Ireland is a four million strong market, smaller than Yorkshire. They’re always going to struggle to consistently get ‘high quality’ guests, whatever they might be.
2 magnificent reasons to back this up: *
*MBB can probably source a better pic from his dungeon of voyeurism.
It is, indeed, a joke. I remember they had that lank haired cunt in Trinidad for a couple of weeks reporting for 5 mins per day on the U-17 girls World Cup too. I mean, nice story and all but who gives a fuck really. They could have given one of the girls a hand-held camera and €200 and she’d probably have been capable of filing back the same report for the duration.
I work in the public service and a fella who has a bit of a hunch took delivery of a specialised €850 office chair yesterday. It’d make you fucking sick.
RTE needs a total clear-out and a new controller. Stick to what they’re good at. And they do they make a lot of good stuff. Mooney gets 60 grand a year more than Sean O’Rourke. Unreal. Michael Ryan should be getting 6 million a year if Mooney makes €200k, ffs.
:o
Ah the lovely Aoife.
Good big arse on her, made me want her all the more.
There are two words that justify every single penny that RTE have spent down the years
FAIR CITY
great stuff thraw- i never realised that you had a vocation to serve the people too- i have even more respect for you now
Thraw
The sense of entitlement from these RTE cunts is staggering. It’s so good, even George Lee found being a cosy politician shit in comparison. When Charlie Bird went to America he found he couldn’t even use a computer. Anyone I know who left RTE to go somewhere else was shocked at how the real world worked.
Thanks TASE. My ambition is to rise up the ranks until I’m in a position to raise holy hell about the ridiculous wastes of public money I see on a daily basis.
One of these days Thrawneen, you’ll walk into work at 10. Go for lunch and a few pints from 12.30 to 2.30. And find yourself heading home at 4 bollixed tired from your hard days work. It is at this point you will realise you are institutionalised.
Did exactly that the day after the football All-Ireland final. God bless flexitime.