no chance a runnin that on the green then,pity
Got it in 1. Good ould Patsy.
A smashing service offered by the bauld Patsy it must be said.
Is there no one to champion the cause of the 35x anymore?
is that walpole ?
used to work with one of his sons
That’s the man.
I’m most definitely a spender. One of the reasons I came to Sydney was to earn good money. And I do. But I just piss it against the wall. Had this image of returning to Ireland with the loan and credit card cleared and about 10 or 15k in my pocket. Good luck. Can barely save enough to get myself home. It’s weird, I was down to a pittance there until last week cos there was a problem setting me up on the payroll system and I managed to spend way less without a noticable decline in living standard. It’s just a case of, I have it, I spend it. In ways I blame an ex-girlfriend. When I was in college I used to earn a weekly wage in a part-time job and just spend on mostly necessities, the odd luxury (and beer obviously), and the rest would just sit in my current account. Would only be 100 or 200 but she’d just encourage me to spend it all. And I did.
Having said all that, I do like the way I don’t really concern myself too much about money and generally have enough to get me to where I want to go. You look at some scabby coonts, some of them mates, and think thank fook I’m not like that.
But you loo at your folks and see that they have a nice gaff, cars etc, life policieis, pensions, savings and have all they could want and you wonder, how the fook did they manage that?
I plan to get sensible at 30. 4.33 years approx.
[quote=“briantinnion”]I am without doubt the latter. It seems no matter what salary I earn my account is always at the overdraft limit by the 25th of the month (I get paid on the last working day of each month). As of today my account balance is -750 and I have 80.32 in cash to get me through to midnight Monday. (Additionally I manage the rent account for our house and I owe that 108, sorry Hen, sorry Ledge).
I started working a few years ago in a training contract and as is usual for this type of work my pay was pretty low, however, as you progress through your training contract the pay increases and by the time you qualify you are earning a reasonable salary for a young person whose only skill is the ability to produce spreadsheets that agree to other spreadsheets provided by the client.
Anyway, my take home pay has increased by about 220% since I started my contract and I still never have money at the end of the month. I always thought it was just that my pay was crap and that it would be fine once I had qualified and Id clear the loan and the credit card and be able to start saving but nothing has changed. This is despite that fact that I earn a reasonable salary and I dont have a kid, mortgage or bird at the moment. Im beginning to worry now that I might be the problem rather than my earning power.
Every time I get even remotely clear to having my credit card under control I go on a massive splurge. Take last January for example, I had my outstanding balance down to 100 and felt great, this didnt last long as I then felt I could afford four trips to the Emirates over the space of a month and here I am saddled with a big credit card debt.
The reason I write this is that I think I had a turning point today, I made 415 on my online spreadbetting account on a bet I placed a few days ago and instead frittering the winnings away on another bet I hit the withdraw button. I think today might be the day I turned things around.
Anyone out there got any advice for me? Do you save any portion of your salary? Am I normal or abnormal? Its getting a bit worrying now, Im in my mid to late twenties and presumably will have to buy a house and get a mortgage etc. and I cant see my earnings increasing in the near future.[/quote]
I’d be of the saver type but not really by design.
I’ve a setup like Dancarter’s where I have one account with mortgage and direct debit bills and direct debit credit card settlement. Then have another account that has my Laser and ATM cards and use that for spending. Keeps it handy enough and I have a couple of hundred float in the bills account just for emergencies.
Don’t try and save and don’t really accumulate cash in large quantities but I’d try and have more money in the spending account each month than the previous one. Then I use that money that I’ve built up on buying shit for the gaff or whatever.
Don’t have loads of money or anything but with the two incomes we currently have we’re alright for cashflow and can fund the trips to Glasgow or whatever.
For whoever was asking about how to save:
Anglo have the best rates at the moment. Northern Rock are pretty decent too and easy to manage online.
I’d be much more about spending in big chunks. Can live on fairly little if I need to but can easily wax three or four hundred in two days if I decide to do a bit of shopping/boozing. As long as I don’t have too many of those I get by alright. It’s a horrible, horrible feeling being skint from boozing too much. Know a load of lads living in Dublin so end up going on lash there almost as much as Galway. Statement is a horror show after those weekends.
I fully accept dan’s points about being clever and having different accounts, but the first thing you have to do surely, is to decide “I don’t want to spend 400 quid over the weekend”. Surely the actual whys and wherefores of saving look after themselves at that stage.
bigtime spender…
Major saver. I have a fear of debt.
I’d be of the same thinking there GSH. I like a piss up as much as the next man, but I wouldnt piss my savings against a wall. I see people getting money out off their credit card to go on the piss, this is just crazy shit to me.
[quote=“Pikeman”]Opened my first Savings account last November there. Just said feck it and do it.
When I moved up to dublin first 4 or 5 years ago, for the first couple of years I was on desperately shit money. So bad at the end of the month that I’d just live on bread for lunch and dinner for a week or two. Rent and bills used to kill me and drinking of course.
Not as bad now, the odd spending splurge (420 on 2 All-Ireland hurling final tickets the latest one!! ), not drinking as much as I used to do helps also. Should have a car soon enough I hope and all that goes with it, so that’ll pinch a bit.[/quote]
and that was a fair few bob back in 1996
You could have put a deposit on house with it
apart from mortgages iv never been in debt.
credit cards are a tool, use them and clear them instantly.
buy something if i have the cash only, cant live any other way.
Everyone of you fellas who dont have a mortgage should be a saver,someday your going to have to stop lining other fellas pockets and buy your own place and your going to need the 20k or so that you could easily have saved.I built my house by direct labour in 2002 and built a garage and an extension onto it last Year.Im a spender mainly because i put all my spare money into doing groundworks outside,patios etc,buying bits and pieces for the garden,it eats money,wouldnt be a huge spender on gadgets,clothes,Cars etc but i would enjoy a good few pints twice a Week or so.Never having much in the bank is a little depressing at times but id be happy eneogh that im striving to improve my main asset and have it in the order i want it in for myself and the family.
This’ll probably make me sound like a nerd but as soon as I started working I set up a Credit Union account, (and subsequently a second account in another Credit Union and a Rabodirect account) just to have when I wanted to start saving. Like farmer, I get paid expenses the odd time and could earn commission or bonuses or the likes - whenever I used get any of these I’d lodge half of it or more into one of those accounts. Just for savings or for a holiday or whatever. About 2 years ago I started a regular Direct Debit out of my bank account into the 2 Credit Union accounts. Meant when I went to buy an apartment last year I had a bit of money saved away for the deposit and kitting it out. Was lucky enough to be able to get a loan of the father to help me out as well.
Since buying an apartment saving has become non existent. Still send money to the Credit Union every week but that goes towards the fathers loan and 1 or 2 other small loans I owe. Moving jobs in the next couple of weeks and earning a bit more money so will probably increase the amount I take out every week and keep an extra few quid for myself. Am always in overdraft at the end of every month as well and have been since I started working. Think you’ll always live within your means but if you take the money out of your account to a place it can’t be seen then at least there’s something there for a decent holiday or car or deposit or whatever you want.
I’d be similar to Mac. I’ve always had a credit union account and any extra cash has always gone in there. I set up a direct debit to it for the SSIA, and have kept that going since. So it’s good to have a few bob building up in there and can dip into it for any major expenses.
Ill need to get a better job,the only saving we’re doing at home at the minute is the childrens allowance,ive two kids who bring in 5500 grand a Year,one of them will be over 5 1/2 soon and wont get the grand a Year anymore,any of you having kids hope for twins,they pay double,i.e 2 kids,4 grand a year plus 300 a month.
It’d probably be worth your while alright aiming for twins. If you were only planning on having 2 children anyways it would be ideal. It might be tough for the first few years but you get the whole lot out of the way in one go and you get get extra cash for doing it.