Scottish Cup and other Celtic stuff

All I heard is that they will be very limited (as few as 100 are being mentioned) and not available until mid-July.

I know people on Celtic Minded were investigating the possibility of finding an online French Nike store and buying from there as alcohol sponsorship is not permitted in any form in France. Not sure whether they’ve had any success yet.

My guess is that there will be more than the 100 sponsorless hoops anticipated but the last thing Celtic want to do is make the public aware of them now to detract from initial sales.

Cheers rocko.

Jiri Jarosik in the Scottish Sun sending pictures of himself sucking a banana to his bit on the side. What the fook:

[img width=500 height=681]http://i7.tinypic.com/52x30xe.jpg

Bandage - where are you watching the game today?

Saturday May 26, 2007
The Guardian

I’ll miss pulling on the jersey," says Neil Lennon. “Playing for Celtic was cool. It gave me real status.” The 35-year-old will lead out the Bhoys against Dunfermline today in his 304th and final game for the club he adores. After seven years he feels it is time to return to England, where he played in all four divisions over 14 years with Manchester City, Crewe, then Leicester City. “England is where I lived most of my adult life,” he says. But to many, himself included, he will be forever Celtic.

Lennon is not as grand a Celtic figure as Martin O’Neill or Henrik Larsson but he has become part of the club’s fabric. He has been essential to the power shift from Ibrox to Parkhead and to the reawakening of Celtic’s European ideal.
There have been five titles since he arrived from Leicester and 10 winners’ medals in all, yet in Scotland his name will always convey more than sustained achievement. His Irishness, his red-headedness, his character, have combined with media obsession to transform him into Scottish football’s pantomime demon. He will be afforded a hero’s send-off today from Celtic fans but the message from so many others will be good riddance.

“I would probably be the most instantly recognisable footballer in Scotland,” he says without pride. “In the last couple of years especially, since I’ve been Celtic captain, everything I’ve done has been front- or back-page news.”

His first game as captain was the unforgettable 5-0 defeat to Artmedia Bratislava. It was followed by a 4-4 draw at Motherwell. “Everyone was saying I was the worst since the captain of the Titanic.”

Then, as he says, "there was the sectarian issue. Other players before, such as Anton Rogan, had suffered from it but I was on a far bigger scale when you think of the Northern Ireland issue. I didn’t want to be used as a political pawn but I accept that people look upon me as a symbol of this club and its religious background. I’ve never made my religion public but you don’t need to be a scientist to work it out. But I’ve been here to play football. Other people have made me a celebrity - the media, columnists. I’ve never asked for it but you have to deal with it.

"I’m an aggressive player. I felt Rangers bullied Celtic for a long, long time. We turned it round, we bullied them and a lot of people didn’t like that. When we came in, Celtic had won one league in 11 seasons. Now we’ve five in seven and the two we lost were on the last day.

“I used to be called a thug but we’ve also played in the Champions League and the Uefa Cup final and in that time I’ve had three red cards. It’s not exactly Vinnie Jones. So you wonder where this reputation comes from. People said I was booed at every away ground because of my aggressive nature, but that was rubbish. I got booed as soon as I touched the ball, even before I’d made a tackle. To me that was sectarian, especially at places like Ibrox and Tynecastle. The press weren’t big enough to come out and admit that. People made excuses, said, ‘He’s a cocky, arrogant so-and-so.’ Well, I am and I make no apologies for that. That’s the way you have to present yourself on the pitch. I can’t let people get the better of me. I’m paid by this club to win games. I’m doing my job but I still get criticised for it.”

Lennon has also been attacked verbally, and physically, on the streets of Glasgow. The last time was a fortnight ago. “I was walking down Byers Road and a car went past: ‘Lennon, you fucking Fenian wanker.’ I’ve never done it before but I said that if the car stopped at the lights I’d go over. The lights turned red. I banged on the window and said, ‘You’re not at a football ground now. I’m walking through the town with my wee boy and my girlfriend. You don’t have the licence to say that to me and if you do it again I’ll batter ye.’ There was a pub on the corner with a beer garden and lots of people in it. They all just started clapping. The thing was, I was wearing a pink jumper. They may have been clapping the jumper. That was the first time I’ve done that. I’m leaving.”

For all that, Lennon will miss Glasgow. He could have gone after the Windsor Park death threat that ended his Northern Ireland career, on 39 caps, five years ago. That changed his life but not his residence.

“There are a lot of good things about playing up here. And I love the club, so why should I give it up? Just because of others? Celtic was like a refuge to me, coming into training every day. Sometimes I’d feel really uncomfortable in the car, people seeing you, making gestures, but as soon as I got here it was like a sanctuary, especially when it was all at fever pitch.”

The political change in Ireland will not be persuading him to return to the international fold. “It’s over.” So too, after today, is Celtic. “It’s been intense, very intense. I’m not saying I want a rest from the intensity, but it’s time for something else.”

Doumb starts, Miller starts up front. Gravesen not in the squad.

Delighted we could end the season well today. Not a great performance by any means but we did all that was needed. Doumbe had a very good game and the goal will help him confidence wise. Naylor too was impressive. Dunfermline will feel a little hard done by. They played good football, defended well particularly marking Jvoh and considering they were missing a few key players really will be a miss to the SPL next season. If they were in it i’d actually expect them to finish in the top five next season. A very good season for Celtic. Remains to be seen how badly we will miss Lennon next season but hopefully we will acquire well over the summer. Onwards and Upwords.

What a dick Nicholas is. His comments on Neil Lennon before the game were needless. He is begrudging in all his praise of Celtic. Of all the pundits he is my least favourite. Has changed his tune so much since Sky lost the rights to the SPL. Absolute muppet.

Random post, in an internet cafe opposite a pub full of fat, drunk Celtic losers belting out the Wolf Tones. Clowns, an embarrasing display of national “pride”. Bet most of the cooonts didn’t even vote on Thur.

I presume they were singing Celtic symphony, funnily enough a song about Celtic. And shame on them for singing it 20 minutes after their team won the Cup Final. Have they got no decorum?

So Celtic are the champions once more. How fitting with it being the 40th anniversary of the Lisbon Lions’ magnificent triumph that it was one of the full backs who brought the cup back to the East End of town. For Tommy Gemmell now read Jean-Joel Perrier Doumbe.

It was an excellent goal too. Doumbe was absolutely superb in both its creation and then the execution of the finish. The initial interception was good, as was the sharp exchange of passes with Naka. Then when he released The Beat down the inside right channel he showed great desire to continue on breaking forward diagonally in towards the goal. Beat did what he had to which was to fizz the ball across into the danger area and it was a cute, dinky little finish by Doumbe to react so quickly and poke the ball home.

In truth I had been getting nervous from the 70th minute onwards. The one main criticism I have of Celtic under Strachan is the fluency of passing at times. Sure we keep the ball and knock it around but on occasion the tempo is quite slow. That was the case yesterday and although Hunfermline didn’t really threaten Celtic were not tearing them apart either. As time pressed on and the goal had failed to materialise I began to fear a deflection, a header from a set piece or something that would shatter our dream.

That said we were always in control and did play some nice football at times. Jan should have buried the diving header in the first half after superb work from Miller down the right. Kenny himself should have done much better with the header from McGeady’s cross just after half time and The Beat was incredibly unlucky with the effort that brushed past the post after 80 odd minutes.

It was such a fitting conclusion to his career to see Neil Lennon lift the trophy at the end. It was also an excellent touch by him to hold aloft the banner out on the pitch during the celebrations thanking the Celtic support for their unwavering support over the past 7 years. Emotional scenes.

An excellent second season for Strachan’s Celtic with a domestic double and tangible progress in Europe. With a third round Champions League qualifier on the horizon in mid August it’s encouraging to see the plans for new signings coming to fruition well in advance of this. And with the likes of Kennedy, O’Dea, Gravesen and Jarosik not even making the 16 yesterday it shows the squad depth is there to compete on all fronts next season.

Ratings:
Boruc - 7: Safe handling, not called upon to make a save.
Doumbe - 8: Has surely done enough for Celtic to take up the option of extending his deal. Some excellent forays forward culminating in the goal and generally sound enough at the back.
Pressley - 4: Not Celtic class.
McManus - 6: Not as assured as usual and it’s noticeable he never is when partnered by Pressley.
Naylor - 7: Competent, as always, in both halves of the pitch.
Nakamura - 7: Influence increased as the game developed. Played some lovely stuff in the last 20 minutes in particular and he literally kept the ball for the last 10 after we scored to ensure they never threatened an equaliser.
Lennon - 6: First time in 7 years where Lenny didn’t bring his best form to a big game. Perhaps emphasising he was right to call time on his Celtic career. A legend and Celtic to the core.
Hartley - 7: Possibly his best game for Celtic which isn’t saying much considering how poor he’s been since signing but he contributed going forward and in defence. Very good last 30 minutes.
McGeady - 6: Not one of Aiden’s better games. Probably no coincidence that his performance level has fallen away since Maloney left. Needs to come back strongly next season and show us what he’s made of.
Miller - 7: Was playing well until going off injured. Could have scored from the header but his movement and link up play was better than usual.
Vennegoor of Hesselink - 7: Knows he should have scored in the first half. Other than that he led the line well and set up a number of shooting opportunites through neat lay offs and clever touches.

Subs:
Beattie - 7: Nearly scored with one excellent effort and then crossed for the goal. Had the desired impact.
Caldwell - 6: Slotted into the midfield for Lennon and added energy when we needed it.

Some photos from yesterday:

Pre-match Celtic Huddle:
[img width=500 height=376]http://file034a.bebo.com/3/large/2007/05/27/11/3250820221a4498604747b559196479l.jpg

Lenny Holding The Cup Aloft:
[img width=500 height=376]http://file034a.bebo.com/3/large/2007/05/27/11/3250820221a4498604805b781140659l.jpg

Farewell Neil Lennon:
[img width=376 height=500]http://file034a.bebo.com/3/large/2007/05/27/11/3250820221a4498604592b674083927l.jpg

No, A Nation Once Again folllowed by The Fields of Athenry, with a version of You’ll Never Walk Alone to round it off. This was swiftly followed by Shakira blasting out on the pub speakers.

In fairness you had dancingbaby so you can’t really complain.

That was Doumbe’s first ever goal as a professional footballer. Unbelievable stuff.

Are you going to defend yourself dancingbaby?