Between the 6 or 7 of them they would need 5 or 6 thousand subscribers to provide a decent income.
Daily podcasts will surely just dilute the quality of the existing twice weekly free ones, no?
Even at that, with sound engineers, unsound engineers, paying for guests etc. you’d struggle. I suppose you could sell adds and get sponsors as well? Do they have adds on the podcast at the minute?
I stumbled across their sports annual book over Christmas . It looked awful. Do they regret leaving NT ???
Don’t listen to it no idea.
They have a side business organising corporate gigs assume they make a few quid from that as well.
That’s what each of them took out of the company last year, not too bad for Irish radio outside of RTÉ. I think the Phoenix said before McDevitt left he was on 60k at Newstalk who pay dirt. Wouldn’t say the Irish Times paid them much to appear on the site.
I’d say their biggest issue now is not being on television anymore, Second Captains Live hasn’t been on in ages. TV is where the money is at.
Would they need sound engineers anyway? I would have thought that’s what the two more background ones would do. They have pretty crap guests these days I think and I don’t listen to them much at all.
Rabo sponsored them for ages but seems like they dropped them.
It’s a bit of a circle jerk with them retweeting praise of this new initiative from their repeat guests and cabal of hangers on like David O’Doherty, Una Mullally, Richie Sadlier and so on.
I’m surprised Mullally isn’t having a go at them for a lack of diversity.
Don’t they go out of their way to be inclusive though?Seems quite calculating and box ticking in nature but I’ve often seen them tweeting podcast details for chats with Irish women’s rugby football players and also female minority sport competitors.
I suppose they do have Derval O’Rourke quite a bit. They’ll probably launch some women’s sports podcast now on their network or some other bollix.
They’d never admit it but they must regret chucking in the OTB gig.
McDevitt is much better than Joe Molloy. But Molloy has the radio show, his piece in the Indo, gets plenty of tv time on TV3 during big tournaments etc.
Seen McDevitt, Earley and a few more of them (perhaps that Murph cunt?) out in Poznan at the Euros in 2012. They had attracted quite the entourage.
Going by the accounts I posted above I doubt it. Each taking out 90k+.
Newstalk pays fuck all and they had to work evenings. They are their own bosses now.
They also all have side gigs.
Sure it’s risky going out by yourself but you won’t make the big bucks staying working evenings in radio.
Earley must be doing OK from writing his feature articles for the paper of record along with his second captains earnings
That’s decent. And pulling in few quid each from other sources too like early column with IT etc
SC live just off season I’d say
When was the last time it was on?
From memory, they generally had an autumn series and a spring series from the start of the show in September 2013 up to about a year ago when I think there was a spring series (?) But I’m pretty sure there was no series last autumn.
No harm it was shite TV.
They have 40k regular listeners on sound cloud alone. 10% subscription would net them 240k. Not beyond the realms.
Fair play to them. They’re all living our dream to be fair. Imagine talking about sport and getting paid for it…
Like a lot of lads on here