Mickey Pearce
RIP
![]()
![]()
He was fucking class at Aikido.
RIP
You need to watch that Pearcey Rodney - he’d rob his own grandmother.
Don’t be silly Grandad…… That was never proved.
The lawnmowers himself and Rodney bought when they went out on their own… A great character
Mickey’s hat worn at a jaunty angle was iconic.
https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/1002/1536567-manchan-magan/
Lovely and interesting guy
Shit. I’m really sad to hear this. I’ve met Manchan a few times and he was an absolutely independent mind, a true gent… saoi, aoi, fear uasal den chéad scoth, laoch na teanga. Níor mhaith liom do thrioblóid…
Ah that’s very sad. I enjoyed him. I had thought by the way he was talking on his most recent show he was over the cancer. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.
55 is no age at all
Certainly not, considering I’m 62. Get your bloods done twice a year lads…
He always came across as a thoroughly alright sort. Ken o Halloran the photographer posted this this morning. Taken at Manchan’s home in Lough Lene Co Westmeath
Ah, that’s terrible news. I knew he was unwell but didn’t think he would die that quickly.
We enjoyed his series on travelling around Europe without flying, I must watch it again.
100% agree on that. Always enjoyed when he popped up on the radio.
Shocked with this. Heard a small in his BOC interview recently but never heard he was terminally ill
He was a great grand nephew of The O’Rahilly who died during the 1916 Rising.
Was Manchan approaching national treasure status, there might be a TFK thread for that?
Or slightly under the radar, not well known enough?
Not well known enough for national treasure unfortunately.
Hyacinth gone to join daddy in the sky
There’s a big plaque to the O’Rahilly on his home house which is smack bang in the middle of Ballylongford. Rather ingloriously over a chipper now.
Himself and Brendan Kennellys families both owned pubs in Ballylongford. You could kick a ball between the two pubs. Either side of the crossroads in Ballylongford.
Lord Kitchener of WW1 fame was also born in Ballylongford, though I don’t believe either side crowed about that too much.
Definitely more than anyone needs to know about Ballylongford, but how and ever.