Six Nations 2011

There is a negative, they were so much better than England on the day that they should have outscored 4+ tries to 1 and a margin of at least 25 points.

Super display yesterday and gives us gloss on six nations anyway. England are a poor side but still we played very well and were well worthy of our victory. Only poor performer was Court who scrummaged poorly. Not progressing as much as I’d like. Word of caution though would be that there is a million miles to beating England at home and doing it against a SH team in NZ.

From yesterday’s performance I would have singled out Bowe, Sexton, Heaslip, Wallace and O’Callaghan as top performers, with the nod going to either Sexton or Wallace as MOTM. I agree with Kev’s assessment of Healy being excellent in the loose bur despite one great scrum at the start I thought a few scrubs were actually turned on his side during the match and for that reason wouldn’t have him MOTM.

I’ll defer to the props on the board like larryduff but Ireland were utterly dominant at scrum time yesterday surely. Both driving through and turning scrums are signs of overpowering the opposition scrum, are they not?

They were turned by the English a few times yesterday though.

What did you make of the general display of pushing, pulling lifting and pushing Bandage?

No, i’m 90% sure they weren’t. Maybe once i felt England did well on his side, but the ref gave us a penalty, so they were obviously cheating in some way.

I don’t think anyone is carried away Larry, England were shite yesterday. I actually think they will improve, but they have to get rid of the likes of Banahan.

We need more strength in depth, and that remains a concern. But games like yesterday can do alot for young players, and we actually have plenty young players. I think sometimes it just seems alot of them are very old. The 2nd rows have plenty left in the tank and they are the oldest position. BOD is still going well, but we certainly need to be looking at centres for the future. Everywhere else we are young.

Scrum was strong enough yesterday, never really under pressure, we wheeled when a squeeze came on us and we put them under savage pressure a few times as well, fair play to them for developing the scrum. For me one of the big differences is the role of Heaslip in the scrum, he’s binding and not meerkating at the back. He may also be leading them into the scrum as opposed to the props. A key difference
Sexton was for me the standout bearing in mind he was “dropped” a few weeks back. He’s a nice cocky fucker- Kidney needs to make sure that he starts from now on, he is our 10 and there’s no need for experimenting.
Tought SO’B had another great game, he is a savage, beast of a man but he is our savage beast.
POC and DOC spent a little too much time for my liking loitering in the backline, slowing the ball and getting in the way, DOC nearly butchered BODs try in the second half. POC still hasn’t really learned how to take ball into contact or how to draw the defenders and pop to a runner on his shoulder.
Reddan proved how valuable it is to have a scrumhalf that can pass the ball away from the breakdown quickly- we had plenty of time to take decisions in the backline as a result.
Pity that they couldn’t have brought that controlled fury to all their games- if they had we’d have another slam today.

Couple of front-page contributions:

1. Statistical review:

http://www.thefreekick.com/blog/2011/03/1898/

1. Brief lessons learned:

http://www.thefreekick.com/blog/2011/03/irish-lessons-learned/

Are people not getting a bit carried away by winning a deadrubber game. England did win the competition after all and had it pretty much wrapped before the game.

No, i don’t see anyone getting carried away, thats you wishing we got carried away. It was a once off type of performance and game. But it showed our fellas can cut the mustard when its really required, lets hope they add consistency.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 553779”]
No, i don’t see anyone getting carried away, thats you wishing we got carried away. It was a once off type of performance and game. But it showed our fellas can cut the mustard when its really required, lets hope they add consistency.[/quote]

Considering it was a deadrubber game though it wasnt really required. when the competition was there to be won they didnt deliver. Always good to finish on a high note I suppose but thats about it.

nonsense.
there may have been a feeling of not being under pressure in the irish camp, but a quick look at the number of english penalties and errors gives lie to the notion that this was a dead rubber.

Team of the Championship from Guardian and Observer writers below. BOD is an evepresent with O’Brien and Bowe (twice each) the only other Irish to feature. Ian Malin’s selections can be utterly dismissed due to his choice of Hartley at hooker which is just bizarre.

Think it’s fair to say it was a tournament short on individual greatness though.

Robert Kitson
Ben Foden Eng; Tommy Bowe Ire, Brian O’Driscoll Ire, Jonathan Davies Wal, Max Evans Sco; James Hook Wal, Ben Youngs Eng;
Thomas Domingo Fra, William Servat Fra, Martín Castrogiovanni Ita, Richie Gray Sco, Tom Palmer Eng, Sean O’Brien Ire, Imanol Harinordoquy Fra, Sergio Parisse Ita

Richard Williams
Chris Paterson Sco; Chris Ashton Eng, Brian O’Driscoll Ire, Joe Ansbro Sco, Max Evans Wal; François Trinh-Duc Fra, Fabio Semenzato Ita;
Thomas Domingo Fra, William Servat Fra, Nicolas Mas Fra, Louis Deacon Eng, Richie Gray Sco, Imanol Harinordoquy Fra, David Wallace Ire, Sergio Parisse Ita

Ian Malin
Andrea Masi Ita; Chris Ashton Eng, Brian O’Driscoll Ire, Jonathan Davies Wal, Maxime Médard Fra; Toby Flood Eng, Mike Phillips Wal;
Thomas Domingo Fra, Dylan Hartley Eng, Dan Cole Eng, Richie Gray Sco, Tom Palmer Eng, Sean O’Brien Ire, Sam Warburton Wal, Sergio Parisse Ita

Mike Averis
Ben Foden Eng; Chris Ashton Eng, Brian O’Driscoll Ire, James Hook Wal, Maxime Médard Fra; François Trinh-Duc Fra, Morgan Parra Fra;
Thomas Domingo Fra, William Servat Fra, Martín Castrogiovanni Ita, Richie Gray Sco, Tom Palmer Eng, Thierry Dusautoir Fra, Sam Warburton Wal, Sergio Parisse Ita

Michael Aylwin
James Hook Wal; Chris Ashton Eng, Brian O’Driscoll Ire, Sean Lamont Sco, Tommy Bowe Ire; Toby Flood Eng, Fabio Semenzato Ita;
Thomas Domingo Fra, William Servat Fra, Dan Cole Eng, Louis Deacon Eng, Richie Gray Sco, Imanol Harinordoquy Fra, Sam Warburton Wal, Sergio Parisse Ita

When was the last decent 6N? Been decidedly average for a while now, cant honestly recall myself at this point, Wales’ last Slam perhaps?

Shaun Edwards was suspended for an altercation with Fergus Connolly over an Irish folk song that Edwards ‘objected’ to Connolly singing in the aftermath of the Irish Welsh game on the team bus.

Dont think Heaslip has played up to his exceptionally high standards this 6N. Still very good but wasnt at his peak, no harm in that either as good to have a bit left in the tank.

Im no prop Farmer but thought Healy was well in control, would be awful shenanigans going on in the front row with fellas taking a step back on one side to allow their other pro get a wheel on etc. Defo Healys best game of the competition. I would have has Sexton as MOTM, controlled the game very well, kicked well, cant ask anymore of your 10. NO question but that starting with his club partner was a massive thing. Assume this will be the 1st choice partnership now.

Dont anyone think anything other than the fact that England were shit though, absolutely fucking muck. Perfromance has to be judged against that. Still better to win rather than lose.

Overall I’m bitterly disappointed with the performances. Was a grand slam there for the taking big time. Played outstanding rugby for about 100 mins across the championship. First 15 against France, first 10 against Wales, first 15 against Scotland and an hour on Saturday. Seriously good precision stuff, executed at pace. Unfortunately did not sustain it for long enough to win all the matches.

Positives
Sexton, Healy, Ross now no 1 TH, resurgence of O’Callaghan and Wallace, form of SOB, defense, adequate cover across most positions. massive improvement in set pieces as competition went on.

Negatives
Poor execution letting us down, discipline, lack of adaption to refereeing styles, inability to maintain performance levels over 80 mins, lack of continuity in game plan across all 5 games, poor use of bench.

Finally a word about Brian O’Driscoll, a modest man and a living legend. Was an absolute pleasure to see a performance reel with all 25 tries being shown at the weekend. I was there for his first in that famous era defining game against Scotland in 00, I saw his hat trick live in Stade de France a few weeks later and I was hooked. He hasnt let anyone down since. Through thick and thin his performances have defined every team he was involved in. Despite myself I cheered for Leinster because I could never begrudge him any success. I was thrilled when he made his breakthrough for the Lions and gutted when his first stab at the captaincy ended in tears, to come back a third time and play the part he did was astounding. The only Irish player of this generation who is recognized as being in the top tier every where in the world. His greatest moment, the grand slam I think, scoring in each of the games simply magnifying the effect of his performances. A man who despite having as much skill as any player in the world never ever shunned the dirty work, a real players player who would be the first to stick his head in where others wouldnt. Brian it has been my absolute pleasure to watch you over the years and fingers crossed the WC will cement your reputation at the very very top of the world game.

An ignorant cunt of a man. His views on music stopped counting when he knocked up Heather Small.

[quote=“dancarter, post: 553786”]
Dont think Heaslip has played up to his exceptionally high standards this 6N. Still very good but wasnt at his peak, no harm in that either as good to have a bit left in the tank.

Im no prop Farmer but thought Healy was well in control, would be awful shenanigans going on in the front row with fellas taking a step back on one side to allow their other pro get a wheel on etc. Defo Healys best game of the competition. I would have has Sexton as MOTM, controlled the game very well, kicked well, cant ask anymore of your 10. NO question but that starting with his club partner was a massive thing. Assume this will be the 1st choice partnership now.

Dont anyone think anything other than the fact that England were shit though, absolutely fucking muck. Perfromance has to be judged against that. Still better to win rather than lose.

Overall I’m bitterly disappointed with the performances. Was a grand slam there for the taking big time. Played outstanding rugby for about 100 mins across the championship. First 15 against France, first 10 against Wales, first 15 against Scotland and an hour on Saturday. Seriously good precision stuff, executed at pace. Unfortunately did not sustain it for long enough to win all the matches.

Positives
Sexton, Healy, Ross now no 1 TH, resurgence of O’Callaghan and Wallace, form of SOB, defense, adequate cover across most positions. massive improvement in set pieces as competition went on.

Negatives
Poor execution letting us down, discipline, lack of adaption to refereeing styles, inability to maintain performance levels over 80 mins, lack of continuity in game plan across all 5 games, poor use of bench.

Finally a word about Brian O’Driscoll, a modest man and a living legend. Was an absolute pleasure to see a performance reel with all 25 tries being shown at the weekend. I was there for his first in that famous era defining game against Scotland in 00, I saw his hat trick live in Stade de France a few weeks later and I was hooked. He hasnt let anyone down since. Through thick and thin his performances have defined every team he was involved in. Despite myself I cheered for Leinster because I could never begrudge him any success. I was thrilled when he made his breakthrough for the Lions and gutted when his first stab at the captaincy ended in tears, to come back a third time and play the part he did was astounding. The only Irish player of this generation who is recognized as being in the top tier every where in the world. His greatest moment, the grand slam I think, scoring in each of the games simply magnifying the effect of his performances. A man who despite having as much skill as any player in the world never ever shunned the dirty work, a real players player who would be the first to stick his head in where others wouldnt. Brian it has been my absolute pleasure to watch you over the years and fingers crossed the WC will cement your reputation at the very very top of the world game.[/quote]

A good tribute to an utter genius. hopefully a heiniken cup win and a great world cup with see him named world player of the year at last. he deserves it more than any other.