Six Nations

Two disappointing games yesterday both decided overwhelmingly in favour of the stronger team but neither France nor England were particularly convincing.

All the hype of course will now be about England and Jonny. On the second point Wilkinson had an excellent game - he’s a superb player - but he didn’t really get the back line moving and he’ll certainly need to do that a hell of a lot better against different opposition. England only managed to move the ball across the backs about twice in the game - once for Robinson’s try where they only succeeded because Wilkinson recovered the flow of passing after a horrible pass from Tindall.

It was a very limited display by England in many respects - they turned the clock back a couple of years to these “pods” where they had Tindall or Farrell take the ball up guarded by forwards either side to recycle and move on. Farrell played much of the match at out half which further limited their ability to pass the ball wide and this is certainly something they will try against Ireland to get the big men running at O’Gara.

The Scottish defence was simply appalling. Wilkinson’s try was never a try but he shouldn’t have been allowed get close - there was plenty of time to hit him into touch. For Robinson’s first try Dougie Hall was handed off horribly - his defence was pathetic all day - and for his second try Lamont made an absolute mess of it. The worst example of Scottish defending though was probably for Lund’s try where Ellis passed the ball blind to Lund on his own. There were 3 Scottish defenders guarding the short side but none of them bothered to move even a couple of yards wide to stop Lund. It will be much harder against better defences.

A final comment - what a pathetic decision by Donal Courtenay. What’s the point of a video referee if he gets it so badly wrong. Embarrassing.

James Standley - BBC Sports Journalist

Twickenham - It can be very hard not to use hyperbole when writing about Jonny Wilkinson at the best of times, and having just watched his display against Scotland Im not even going to try.
So, which word plucked from the gushing end of the semantic spectrum shall we use to describe the return of the perfect 10 (sorry Dan, but Wilko was here first).
Remarkable? Not even close.
Incredible? Getting there I suppose.
Astonishing? Ball-park I guess, but somehow still too, well, limp really.
How about miraculous?
I dont think he can walk on water, but after Saturdays display in Englands win at Twickenham Im thinking of seeing what the bookies will offer me on that.

COMPLETE COCK

Full article - http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/sixnations/2007/02/the_wonder_of_wilko.shtml

I don’t watch as much rugby as some of you but here are my ratings for Ireland’s performance today:

Horan: 3
Best: 3.5
Hayes: 6
O’Callaghan: 3 (how many stupid penalties can this guy give away each game?)
O’Connell: 3.5 (an extra 2.5 for the line out steal near the end)
Easterby: 5
Wallace: 6
Leamy: 7.5
Stringer: 3
O’Gara: 3.5 (-3.5 for the first half and 7 for the second half)
Hickie: 7
D’Arcy: 9
O’Driscoll: 7.5
Trimble: 6
Dempsey: 5.5

The problems are clear. There are two many slow, one-dimensional, Munster players in the team. Those players might be alright grinding away against Perpignan or the Ospreys. But not at this level. Get them out and lets play some proper expansive rugby.

A reasonable performance from Ireland toaday - didn’t really play all that well but managed to cross for three tries while our line wasn’t breached. D’Arcy was superb.

Ratings

Dempsey - 6 did reasonably well but Murphy showed extra class when he was on
Trimble - 6 looked tentative kicking. Sound defensively but not much of an attacking threat
Hickie - 7 unlucky not to create a try first half. Ran well in defence and got the better of both wingers he marked
O’Driscoll - 8 quiet enough game but a class finish for his try, he created the first try, and he defended superbly. His injury is a big worry
D’Arcy - 8.5 excellent in both defence and attack.
O’Gara - 7 awful first half but he pulled it together
Stringer - 6 passing was inconsistent and put O’Gara under pressure. Decision making wasn’t brilliant sometimes either but his kicking was decent

Horan - 6 very quiet around the park but scrummaged well
Best - 6.5 throwing-in was only average. Good pickup for first try and scrummaged well
Hayes - 7 some big hits from Hayes and he stood up well in the scrum
O’Callaghan - 7 never conceded a penalty unless he felt he had to. Nothing rash on our ball for example.
O’Connell - 6.5 quiet game but a couple of decent hits at rucks
Easterby - 7.5 good all-action display. Great presence in the lineout and put in a lot of work.
Wallace - 7.5 defence was excellent, carried well in close contact and easily got the better of Williams in tighter play
Leamy - 8 another superb performance from Leamy. Kept running all day. Plenty of catches, turnovers, big hits. Excellent stuff.

O’Callaghan 7!!!

He should have spent at least 20 minutes in the sin bin. Awful performance.

Anyone read Neil Francis in the Tribune yesterday? What a smug, condescending prick.

Anyway, my team for next week:

1. Popplewell
  2. Best
  3. Corrigan
  4. Cullen
  5. O’Kelly
  6. Easterby
  7. Gleeson
  8. Leamy
  9. Boss
  10. Wallace
  11. Hickie
  12. D’Arcy
  13. O’Driscoll
  14. Trimble
  15. Murphy

I can’t stand Francis - his writing his so xenophobic it’s unreal. Czekja has a foreign-sounding name so he calls him Borat. Brilliant Neil.

Heaslip for Leamy no?

No, Leamy’s the one Munster player who deserves his place. The guy’s world class.

Not a vintage performance by Ireland yesterday. O Gara had a stinker with his kicks for touch, really looked out of shape. Best was very unsure with the lineouts. Hopefully Flannery starts against the frogs. Thought Leamy was brilliant and obviously Darcy picked up where he left off with Leinster. Worryin about O Driscoll. With a hamstring injury he must be a serious doubt for Sunday. They were saying today Darcy should be ok. Hard to judge how good the french were as Italy were absolutely brutal. Place kicks were laughable and on more than one occasion they had a 3 to 1 overlap and failed to capitalise.

Great to see Jonny back for England. He’s had a rough three years and its great to see a talent like that back on the world stage. As with France its difficult to assess England due to the Scots being muck.

Just a word on the Tribune. I have stopped buying it as it is full of wankers. The last straw was the 24 page pull out on that stupid schools competition last Sunday.

You’ll be happy to hear they had another couple of pages yesterday in the main paper letting us know that the big 6 safely got through the first round.

One thing typified what a stupid game rugby is yesterday. O’Gara was having an absolute nightmare with his kicking, both from hand and his placed kicks, in the 1st half. Anyway, he launches a bomb downfield that’s about 20 yards infield of his intended targe, touch in the corner.

It was a poor, sliced kick and typical of his first 30 minutes. Then because they play with a fooking PEANUT it takes a ridiculous bounce and scutters out of touch going at right angles. No skill, pure luck and then Drico scored from the next phase of play. What was funnier was all the muppets in the pub cheering the kick like maniacs.

A slightly stereotypical article from The Guardian today. I’m expecting more of these over the next week and a half from all the English papers:

Croke is made to put lumps in rugby throats

There couldn’t be a finer venue than Croke Park to host Ireland’s rugby matches, but the founders of Gaelic football would beg to differ.

Frank KeatingFebruary 6, 2007 12:10 AM

Early in this inordinate span of mine here in the back basement of the toy department I would waste, enchanted, no end of time inhaling the aura (and the whiff of liniment) in that sweaty emporium of wham-bam, snort and shuffle down London’s Old Kent Road, namely the Thomas Becket gymnasium where such decent flat-nosed prizefighters as Henry Cooper and Joe Lucy would sock it, in turn, to the heavy bag and brother pros. It was the first sporting haunt I frequented named after an archbishop. Second time was more than a quarter of a century ago when I watched a European football qualifier in Cyprus at Nicosia’s low-slung sun-baked Archbishop Makarios Stadium.

Third and most auspicious occasion at a sports centre dedicated to a Right Rev ecclesiastical Eminence was in 1984 when I was detailed to Dublin to report on the Gaelic football All-Ireland final - the very centenary match of the sport itself, no less - contested by the classic them-and-us rivals Dublin and Kerry. The Dubs v The Kingdom. Even then it was vast, roomy, sheer-faced Croke Park which most took the breath away, used as I had been to watching rugby across town at rickety, rackety, run-down old Lansdowne Road. Ireland should play its rugby here, I remember saying - a sacrilege met with freezy silence; and you don’t get many of those over there.

But so it has come to pass: Ireland v France this Sunday; and glory be, in even more of a primeval convulsion, Ireland v England two Saturdays later. Yer man, that eminently good soul in heaven, I fancy, won’t be tickled over-pink about it - ie the Rt Rev Dr Tom Croke, the late Archbishop of Cashel, onlie begetter and fidei defensor himself of the two great games of the Gaels.

The Gaelic Athletic Association was born out of the lamentable British colonial philosophy which banned indigenous sports in conquered lands on the assumption they were cover for freedom fighters’ training. In 1884 two Fenian patriots, the champion Tipperary athlete Maurice Davin and political firebrand from Clare, Michael Cusack, called a clandestine meeting in Thurles, Tipperary, to demand restoration of native Irish sports. Only five turned up, including two local journalists, and when the Archbish read their reports he preached an ardent sermon of support.

Propelled by such passion from the pontifical pulpit, the fledgling GAA at once gathered an ever larger and bonny following all over. By 1913 it had bought the freehold of the north Dublin field where All-Ireland finals had been staged since 1895. Obviously it christened the field after its late holy father inspiration Archbishop Tom.

History will pervade every pore of Croke on Sunday. Can there possibly be a more clamorously dramatic lifting of “The Ban”? We shall read in all the public prints this week how a GAA battalion fought shoulder to shoulder with rebel-poet Patrick Pearse at the Dublin GPO over Easter 1916; how rubble from that fight built Croke’s northern terrace (sacred Hill 16); and how, five Novembers later on Bloody Sunday, vengeful Black and Tans machine-gunned a dozen innocents in the crowd (including the visiting captain Mick Hogan) when the Dubs played Tipperary. The Hogan Stand is still a shrine at Croke; there’s another, too, named for 1884’s founding father Cusack.

A century later, on the eve of my first Croke experience, Dublin’s latest famed poet and sport, Ulick O’Connor, took me to a select party at Scruffy Murphy’s upstairs bar just off Mount Street. Simply everyone was there, my dears, all up for the match: JP Donleavy, Con Houlihan, Norman Rodway, Cyril Cusack, green-eyed Abbey actresses, the captains and the kings and two past and future Taoiseachs, too: Jack Lynch, a true-great Gael of the 1940s (five All-Irelands, four of them for hurling), and raffish Charlie Haughey, who claimed he’d been a dual demon at UCD.

It was one of the best parties I can ever (just about) remember. Out of the blue Lynch softly asked me: “Frank, are you by any chance related to ‘Babs’ Keating?” (Tipperary’s “Babs”, I later learned, was a dual-Gael luminary with three All-Ireland hurling medals in the 1960s, then a football one in 1972). “Most assuredly I am, sir,” I blatantly lied in my convivial cups.

Ever since, down the years whenever I met O’Connor, Houlihan or Rodway, they’d reproachingly address me, to my shame, as “Babs.” No one else knew why. Ah, no worries, to be sure, and I’ll be proud to answer to “Babs” on either of these coming weekends.

It’s not that bad an article actually - more of a colour piece. It could be a lot worse and I imagine most of them will be.

I’ve been thinking about Croke Park over the last week or so. Initially I was in favour of opening it up for three main reasons: 1) the money made from renting it out to the IRFU/FAI can be ploughed back into our games to make them stronger; 2) I wanted Irish teams with their Wexford born players to play their home games in this country and not in Cardiff or London or wherever and 3) the awe-inspiring sight of Croke Park televised around the world might prompt more foreign interest in our indigenous games.

As the day’s got closer I began to have more mixed feelings about the whole thing. Why should fooks with no appreciation of gaelic culture get the opportunity to play in our great arena? This stadium was built by the GAA and their members. All Gaels dream of playing in Croke Park but most will never get the chance to step out on its sacred turf. It struck me that many of those playing and attending games there will have no idea of the historical significance of Croke Park and the emotions it stirs up in Irish people. This bothers me slightly.

In that respect I was delighted by last Saturday when the GAA got in ahead of the Six Nations and soccer qualifiers and made a statement with the extravanganza the took place before my eyes. This will always be our stadium and these will always be our great games no matter what fooks set foot out there over the next few months.

I have no problem with visiting national anthems being played in Croke Park. Every country deserves the opportunity to have their anthem played before a sporting event and it’s hardly Jonny Wilkinson’s fault that British forces of terror killed 13 innocent people in Croke Park in 1921. But what I fooking will not accept is ‘Ireland’s Call’ being played in Croke Park. We have one national anthem. That should be played. If anyone has a problem with this then they should fook right off.

I was wondering when this stupid argument would kick off again. Get over yourself. Plenty of taxpayers money went into building Croke Park so it was not only built by “the GAA and their members”. And on Irelands call being played i cant believe this is being dragged up again.

I have to say that Bandage represents an element of Irishness, that is slowly and thankfully dying away. A man who probably reluctant to admit the fact that even in West Belfast,things are looking up; a man unsuccessfully trying to cling to the last straws of his “struggle” through sport and doing his bloodiest to inter-link sport, politics and “terror”.
It is a highly immature and flowery arguement interspersed by cliched lines of romantic Irish ideals that i haven’t read since the leaving cert.
Take this apalling and embarrassing line " All Gaels dream of playing in Croke Park but most will never get the chance to step out on its sacred turf". Does this man dream of being back in wexford in 1798?

Croke park has been opened up to “foreign sports” for a temporary timeframe. The GAA are indeed profiting very handsomely from this little “gesture” and so i feel that the monetary return alone should have quelled any bleatings from these hurt and wounded Gaels. A failure to offer up the stadium (during a genuine time of need…ie. literally no stadium) and taking the profits would have been one of most sectarian instances since the recent bomb attack in Sadr City. Especially since a multitude of acts and sports have been played there. So stop looking for further gratitude that “the Gaels” have opened up this great stadium to 2 of the largest sports in the world.

Great stadium it is…but please refrain from using “awe inspiring” as if the pharos built it with their bare hands. There are many stadiums like this in the world, and with the money in Ireland now, should we settle for second best? Be proud of your stadium, sure, but remember who built it. It wasn’t the lads from Kilmacud Crokes or St. Enda’s- it was the Poles, Czechs and Chinese with bucketfulls of taxpayers money.

Croke Park does indeed have a historical significance, however, almost a century on, can these episodes not be forgiven? Most English people are not aware of what happened there, however they will be when they finally make it to Croke Park. So, rather than hoping for more foreign interest in Gaelic games, at least hope that the English/French will leave Croke park with a better appreciation for Irish culture and history that they are probably now ignorant of.

And, finally, “Extravaganza” is a very strong word for a game played under lights.

Plenty of taxpayer’s money went to the rugby and football bodies too.

The GAA and their members set about making Croke Park the fantastic place it is today long before they ever got a government grant (much like the grants countless sporting bodies around the country get). It’s an Irish Independent mindset that the GAA should feel guilty about it. Get over it.

Not surprised by your Ireland’s Call comment. It was you who claimed British troops were the force of good in Ireland through the ages.

DWTM, when rugby exclusive schools start promoting, or heaven forbid, allowing their pupils to play Gaelic Games you can comeback and talk to me about the GAA and exclusion/sectarianism.

As for ‘literally no stadium’ I’m forever hearing about this almost mythical Thomond Park place. Why couldn’t they play there? Or Ravenhill?

Maybe because they wanted to play in, I repeat, an ‘awe-inspiring’ arena like Croke Park. I make no apologies for calling it that. When you consider that people like Ring, Rackard, Mackey, O’Connell, Ali and the Chicago Bears team of the mid 1990s have played there and left memories and inspirational tales that drive people to repeat their great deeds decades on, people who never saw these legends play but people who want to follow in their great footsteps, then I contend that the Croke Park turf is sacred.

I am not looking for gratitude either. Rather I applaud the GAA for the great advances in recent times by allowing the Cumann namBunscoil kids to play on the pitch at half time in big games, their promoting the games in weaker counties by having the Ring and Rackard Cup finals played in Croker. What a supreme feeling it must have been for the hurlers of Donegal to play in Croke Park last season. They know their history, they will have felt the pride.

Were it that we could say similar about some of those who will play there over the next few months.

If that comment regarding British troops being the force of good in Ireland was aimed at me i would like you to point out exactly when i said that. Typical tactic of trying to muddy the waters in a debate.

I assume then, given your stance, you will not be attending this Sunday?

You said it in Kehoe’s before Christmas. I withdrew from the debate such was my astonishment but there was countless other tfk’ers there.

No, I will not be attending on Sunday. I was already at the biggest game to be played in Croke Park this spring.