But many gay people do suffer mental health issues as a result of their sexuality, which is a function of their sexuality not being fully accepted amongst a large section of society.
You appear to be disputing this based on nothing other than your own prejudice.
I’m not sure it’s a load of shite. I’d also be surprised if the Cusack brothers wouldn’t have more knowledge of the issues that face gay people in this country than you.
He goes off on the ran tan every so often on twitter alright serious scattergun stuff. Not sure there is much he can do about that though bar throw the phone in the bin.
Such matters are extremely emotive by nature, mate.
One can question whether it was the right decision to post such a message on social media, on the other hand it may very well be the case that the lack of acceptance on the part of the victim’s family for their son may indeed have been the cause of his suicide.
This type of thing clearly still happens in this country and personally I’d consider a family rejecting their son’s homosexuality to be far more callous, insensitive and despicable than anything Cusack has written.
His message as per what I’ve stated it to be in a previous post is generally on the money - people who have a problem with that message generally tend to be part of the problem.
Why do you keep insisting on going on with this bizarre “everyone” line?
If a teenager takes their own life over being continually bullied at school, does that imply every pupil in the class was bullying the child? Does it imply the school supported the bullying?
If somebody takes their own life over being continually bullied at work, does that imply every co-worker was bullying the person, and that management supported the bullying?
Or might it imply that the school/workplace management maybe didn’t do enough to stop it?
What’s that Edmund Burke quote about it only taking good people to do nothing in order for evil to flourish?
It is an outburst. He clearly insinuates that a Gaa club & the deceased family did not in some way help. It’s smacks of Cusack knowing a lot more of the situation than he lets on which probably means he should also be looking in the mirror.
If the Gaa club or family did in fact leave the deceased person down, then let the dust settle and have a little bit of cop on.
Can someone post up what was said by Cusack? How do lads know homophobia plays a part in mental health issues? And can someone post up the stats on mental health for gay v straight men. A lot of stuff being passed off as facts without evidence here.
Conor Cusack
2 hrs · Cloyne ·
A young GAA hurler killed himself last night for the simple reason he was gay. For fuck sake. We need more high profile GAA players and sportsmen giving visibility to their sexuality For fuck fuck sake. Killing yourself because your family and sports organisation didn’t support you for who you really are. We all, players and administrators, carry some shame and sadness in the GAA tonight. Will be a long night of tears…