Sport Books

Anything in it about the Protestant Catholic divide in Scotland?

I got the sense that his old lad in particular was very Protestant.

He got abuse in prison being called an Orange bastard etc.

The Queen (Lizzie 2) was a pigeon fancier

Yeah. His Dad was a mason and a Rangers supporter. His Dad tried to get Duncan to join the masons when he was 18 but he got black balled for battering lads in bar fights around Dundee.

Ferguson himself says he was a Rangers fan but never believed in the sectarian stuff. He talks about Trevor Stevens and Hately knowing the words of The Sash when he didn’t.

He mentioned something about a divide in the national team between Rangers and Celtic. He didn’t seem to have a problem with the Celtic folk though.

Yeah. The Celtic & Rangers fellas were polite to each other but would never socialise. A definite divide.

I was surprised he had no love whatsoever for Sevco.

Everton are his club. Loves them to a fault. They didn’t always reciprocate.

No they did not.

https://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/my-moral-compass-didnt-break-in-one-go.-it-just-kept-bending-how-ryan-caldwell-went-from-rugby-stardom-to-cocaine-addiction-and-two-stints-in-prison-before-recovery/a/160224795.html

https://archive.ph/lhpVa

Sounds like an interesting read. He was some lunatic on the pitch

This guy’s story seems fascinating. His book should be worth reading.

I’ve ordered it through the library service there, looking forward to it. Seen this interview yesterday, man’s been through the ringer!

Did you read the Pirlo book? Some funny stories about Gattuso in it.
Long time since i read it though

I never got around to it unfortunately. It’s on the list,

Defo do. I remember giggling away to myself a good bit when reading it

I’m a sucker for this type of thing, probably total shite and I’ve already read biographies of both but who knows

Is this one any good? Used populate the sports book shelves for years in my younger years.

Not for myself obviously.

I read that years ago and I’m pretty sure I thought it was OK
So if you like golf it’s probably great

Good read ya

Any reviews on Vincent Hogan’s book?