Sport Journalists - Who Do You Rate and Hate?

You should update the Kilmallock history SLR.

Can you encourage Tom Ryan to fast-track his autobiography Henry, it would make good reading over the cold winter months…

I couldnt put in the effort physically or emotionally that is required to write the history of another club. The one I wrote was 600 pages A4 and in fairness it didnt write itself. A few clubs have been on to me casually about histories and I will gladly advise anyone with a heart and a half but I wont write one.

There was a sub-committee in place in Kilmallock to do that but it was stalled a couple of years ago but I think they have most of the work done. I received a phonecall during the summer asking my advice on it so I would say there are plans to resurrect it. Basically I said that if they wanted to ask me anything I would call back and meet them and any questions or any information they needed to know I would tell them.

It would be some book allright!!!

how did ye get 600 pages out of Galbally?

The film would be even better!

Good luck with the career move.

Read Unlimited Heartbreak and thought it was a right good read. Didn’t read your Mackey book - the broader theme of UL attracted me and I didn’t have the interest in Mackey as a topic in his own right. I guess his topic is more one for Limerick people or the type of general GAA lover (possibly of the older vintage?) who has that interest in the old stars from other counties.

Similarly, for example, I don’t think a 30 year-old Limerick person with no attention span (like, say, ChocolateMice) would have the interest in reading a Nickey Rackard book. It was just one of those things but fair play for completing the books in any case.

[quote=“balbec, post: 175047”]

The film would be even better![/quote]

Who would play Tom? I think Joe Pesci would be ideal

Basically I left nothing out. Every Limerick Leader match report and club note I found within reason went into the book. I think there were 450 photos and there were no dud photos in that either, every one was 100% relevant. Skyrne in Co Meath got two volumes of 800 pages each, 1600 in total so I guess we were entitled to our 600pages

Kilmallock could put hundreds of pages together if they wanted to. The last 10 years alone would fill 600 pages!!

Tony Soprano is a ringer

Has to be Ryan Phillippe.

Ya. You are 100% correct there. It would be the same with a Limerick person reading about Nicky Rackard or perhaps even a young Wexford person reading about him. People of a younger vintage wouldnt really put the Mackey book at the top of their list, though a few people reckoned to me that it was better than the first book, while acknowledging that they really only read if because they felt they kind of had to. One of them said that he had to force himself to open the front cover, but couldnt leave it down once he started into it.

In general I would say that of the younger Limerick population who read Unlimited Heartbreak, very few would have read Mackey

dan hedaya would be nailed on for the part…
http://www.google.es/url?source=imglanding&ct=img&q=http://images.nymag.com/images/2/daily/2008/12/20081211_danhedaya_250x375.jpg&sa=X&ei=4yGHUNnSMYWShgeVnoDQAw&ved=0CAsQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNE0VfrCBYlgDsqxiQNYu1_pyIk_Uw

http://www.google.es/url?source=imglanding&ct=img&q=http://www.tribute.ca/tribute_objects/images/stars/dan_hedaya.jpg&sa=X&ei=gSKHUPvsOMiRhQfakIGgBQ&ved=0CAsQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNHUe_NpuJGZe9CVwccYIoDDakElJQ

Mackey was a good book. As much as for the social context of newly independent Ireland as for the hurling part.

That is not everyones cup of tea though

Like - Kimmage, David Walsh, Damian Lawlor in the Sindo, Daniel McDonnell in the Indo, the GAA lad in the Cork Examiner (wears glasses). They all seem clued in and know what’s going on.

Dislike - Dion Fanning. Martin Breheny. Tony Ward. Neil Francis. Donal Lenihan. Hugh Farrelly.

Wouldn’t disagree with any of that except I think McDonnell follows agendas.

I think soccer writing in this country (and in most mainstream UK papers) is really poor to be honest. They haven’t moved on from reporting to analysis and are still writing reports for people who might be finding out results as they’re reading the paper. Few notable exceptions in the UK - and in the Guardian in particular: Wilson, Lowe, Hoenigsten.

Miguel Delaney must be the best Irish sportswriter around at the moment. A bit hyperactive on Twitter but his pieces are top class.

Eamonn Sweeney.

Phillip Quinn is supposedly responsible for Vinny Fitzpatrick so he warrants mention :clap:

Colm Byrne’s Caddie’s role is excellent aswell.

Who/What is Vinny Fitzpatrick, SD?

Miguel Delaney is an infuriating bluffer who seems to have fallen in with a crowd who respect him for some reason despite the fact his writing skills seem to extend only to collating lists from wikipedia.