Itās a nawful affliction
A touch of the Wolf Ducieās about his looks.
His nose is more a bluey red in real life.
The Katy French story was some period on the irish internet. I think boards.ie were banning 4/5 lads a day on it.
With the cows dried off earlier this week i pointed the car towards our Capital city yesterday and ye wonāt believe this lads but i was actually in that great cathedral of porter John Keohes last night circa 5pm - 8pm.
An absolute whoās who from the journalist world following their day out in the Mansion House across the road. Roy was in his element in the corner surrounded by friends congratulating him on his well deserved award. His award was being passed around and there was great humility about him as he fobbed people away looking for pictures. I wanted to get my picture taken with the great man but it just wasnt possible given the crowds and packed nature of the venue. Anyway heād be way too embarrassed.
I had a great chat with David McWilliams and bought the man a pint. I told him Iād buy him a pint but wouldnāt be paying for his Patreon podcast, something he knocked great craic out of and reached out for a good old fashioned fist bump.
I got talking to Nicola Tallant of the Sunday World at one stage and tried to get some insight into the Gerry Hutch trial but she was unforthcoming.
Others in attendance that i recognised were Mark Paul, Fionnan Sheehan, your one Alison who does be on Virgin sometimes and yer man Kevin something from the Indo.
They were all knocking back the pints and Iād imagine thereāll be fuck all journalism done today.
Will be hard top that post. Great Gatsby-esque.
The sort of posting you only really get when a lad is a little vulnerable the morning after a feed of pints and takes the emotional handbrake off.
A beautiful genre of the game. Free flowing hurling.
Some smell of shite there.
What did McWilliams make of the split season?
Iād love it if McWilliams did an impassioned monologue against the split season like the one he did on PrimeTime about the Irish property market being built on sand back in 2003.
We didnāt get that far.
He had a right pop at me for drinking Bulmers in a sea of Creamy Pints of Guinness.
Gone are the days when hacks would hold court in pubs looking for a storyā¦
Iām assuming as Roy left the catherdal the patrons sang him home with a stirring rendition of āDublin in the rare auld timesā
Word reaches me directly from the great man that on a hangover scale between 1 and 10, heās presently nursing an 838
Thatās a remarkable post.
Roy is on the paper review on Newstalk with Tommy from Donegal.