Stevie Reid’s not available though. I probably would pick O’Shea ahead of Carr. Carr’s been muck for 3 or 4 years now. Don’t get me wrong I hate O’Shea too but reckon he’s slightly less dreadful than Carr.
I read on BBC that Stokes failed to link up with the U-21s and then blamed Keane saying that he should’ve informed U-21 management. I’m beginning to worry about young Stokes.
ClarkeyCat wrote:
Stevie Reid’s not available though. I probably would pick O’Shea ahead of Carr. Carr’s been muck for 3 or 4 years now. Don’t get me wrong I hate O’Shea too but reckon he’s slightly less dreadful than Carr.
Carr is probably the only player that has played worse than O’Shea for Ireland so agree he shouldn’t start ahead of him. I’d even consider playing Douglas in the centre and moving Kilbane back to left full.
ClarkeyCat wrote:
I read on BBC that Stokes failed to link up with the U-21s and then blamed Keane saying that he should’ve informed U-21 management. I’m beginning to worry about young Stokes.
Yeah we were discussing this yesterday on another thread. Worrying development. Not sure why you’d leave it to Keane to contact Givens - I can’t imagine they get on at all. Keane seemed to be blaming Stokes (and Yorke) for the defeat to Wigan the other day. He didn’t name names but he said there were guys who he knew had the wrong attitude but he played them anyway and he’s learned his lesson now. Sunderland supporters seem to think it’s Yorke and Stokes he was referring to.
If so it’s a poor development for Stokes. He was on fire in the SPL last season and looked a class act. But he didn’t conduct his transfer business particularly well - all sorts of public statements committing himself to various Charlton then Celtic before changing his mind again over money. Doesn’t bode well.
Encouraging match tonight. Some very good performances. Andy Reid played very well in his 45 minutes and should be a starter against Slovakia imo. McGeady was excellent. He set up two goals and looked like our most dangerous player. Shane Long looked very decent tonight and adds another option for us up front. Must caution how bad Denmark were though. I thought they were truely awful and simply didn’t appear to try on occassions. This was in contrast to Ireland who had players who had the right attitude from the start.
Excellent stuff by Ireland tonight but I agree with piper in that Denmark were inept and their lack of effort must be a concern for their supporters.
The encouraging thing about tonight was our players passing the ball around and retaining possession away from home. Having this ability is absolutely crucial in away qualifiers as it’s extremely difficult to hold out by defending for the full 90 minutes without trying to affect the game positively in any way (although we came mightily close away to Croatia under McCarthy when we went down 1-0 to a last minute goal).
Andy Reid was superb on the ball; a lovely threaded through ball for Keane’s first and a cracking ball swept out to McGeady on the right for the cross that led to the second. His range of passing and overall workrate was admirable over the 45 minutes and on this form he should play, which is unlucky for Ireland - the player, not the country.
Potter continued his progress from the two games over the summer. He looks like a really good prospect and is well capable of knocking the ball around in the centre of the park. I’m looking forward to seeing him continue his upward curve.
I am a huge Robbie Keane fan; always have been and always will be. Superb stuff from my captain.
Aiden put in a positive performance too and showed his class on numerous occasions, especially with the cross for the second and the skill and pass for the fourth. I think he should be ahead of Hunt now given his adaptability and the fact he can play anywhere across the midfield, along with the fact he’s a vastly superior player to the game Reading man.
Shane Long also showed a good attitude and finished well for both goals and all the young substitutes looked eager and showed up well.
We were solid at the back too and Stan kept that unit largely intact and Henderson was safe bar one early lapse.
Kudos to Stan - we are blessed to have him.
Only really saw the goals and not much else last night so hard for me to comment but Denmark did indeed look awful, particularly the goalkeeper who was poor for the first 3 goals anyway.
Positives seemed to be Andy Reid, the defensive unit, McGeady and the finishing of Keane and Long. Good for Long to come on and get goals because it gives us an option off the bench and he looked composed for the second goal in particular.
I just hope Stan saw enough positives in the performance to retain what worked well and he doesn’t just bring Kilbane back in straight away.
Get rid of Robbie Keane, hate the cnut.
Flano thats a ridiculous statement and I can’t stand this abuse that Robbie gets. I ws at the Czech match when I heard some of our own fans booing him when he was been taken off. Really cant understand it. Veering towards the attitude of English scummy fans imo. You were prob one of the boo boys that were jeering Roy Keane at the bohs sunderland match this summer. Idiots.
Anyway, regarding the team Ireland puts out against Slovakia and the Czechs. I think we all agree that sacrificing Doyle upfront to accomadate Ireland in midfield would be a mistake as Doyle holds the ball up superbly. Something that would be needed for the next 2 games and his not part of Keane’s game. I think this is the best side out of what is available at the mo:
Given
Finnan Dunne Mcshane Kilbane
Mcgeady Carsely Ireland Hunt
Doyle Kean
I believe that this is the best team on paper. However you have to decide if this is the best team for the next 2 games considering that they are both away. There is no doubt that we have to get a minimum of 4 points in these 2 games. The above team is a quite attacking team and it would be a gamble imo to play this for the 2 games as we would be just as likely to score as we are to concede.
An alternative would be to play kilbane at left wing and drop either Mcgeady or Hunt or play Kilbane in midfield for extra cover as previously posted.
Its very easy for us to say that he should play the best possible team but considering the circumstances, being away from home, he might be more inclined to play a defensive game and try and nab a goal on the counter.
On the other hand, it could be argued that it would be more beneficial to gamble and attack the oppositon, pressing them high up the pitch and really go for it. Its something that I have never really seen the irish team do away from home and it has worked for a number of average teams against good opposition away from home in this qualifying campaign.
I would be more inclined to take the gamble but I dont think Stan will be.
gerrardno1 wrote:
Flano thats a ridiculous statement and I can’t stand this abuse that Robbie gets. I ws at the Czech match when I heard some of our own fans booing him when he was been taken off. Really cant understand it. Veering towards the attitude of English scummy fans imo. You were prob one of the boo boys that were jeering Roy Keane at the bohs sunderland match this summer. Idiots.
Anyway, regarding the team Ireland puts out against Slovakia and the Czechs. I think we all agree that sacrificing Doyle upfront to accomadate Ireland in midfield would be a mistake as Doyle holds the ball up superbly. Something that would be needed for the next 2 games and his not part of Keane’s game. I think this is the best side out of what is available at the mo:
Given
Finnan Dunne Mcshane Kilbane
Mcgeady Carsely Ireland Hunt
Doyle Kean
I believe that this is the best team on paper. However you have to decide if this is the best team for the next 2 games considering that they are both away. There is no doubt that we have to get a minimum of 4 points in these 2 games. The above team is a quite attacking team and it would be a gamble imo to play this for the 2 games as we would be just as likely to score as we are to concede.
An alternative would be to play kilbane at left wing and drop either Mcgeady or Hunt or play Kilbane in midfield for extra cover as previously posted.
Its very easy for us to say that he should play the best possible team but considering the circumstances, being away from home, he might be more inclined to play a defensive game and try and nab a goal on the counter.
On the other hand, it could be argued that it would be more beneficial to gamble and attack the oppositon, pressing them high up the pitch and really go for it. Its something that I have never really seen the irish team do away from home and it has worked for a number of average teams against good opposition away from home in this qualifying campaign.
I would be more inclined to take the gamble but I dont think Stan will be.
Do you not think Reid deserves to start ahead of Ireland after his performance last night? He is a better all round player at the moment imo. I don’t think I would play Hunt. Sure he is game but he really is a head down sort of player who has absolutely no creativity. Similar sort of player to Kilbane in many ways though Kilbane can cover a number of positions now. I am going to be accused of bias I am sure but questioning who to drop Hunt or McGeady to make way for Kilbane is very harsh on McGeady. He is clearly better than either of those players as he proved again last night.
I’d agree with nearly all that Gerry.
One thing is I don’t think it’s a gamble to play an attacking formation. We need to win at least one of the games at an absolute minimum, possibly both of them. There’s absolutely nothing to be gained from a gallant defensive effort. That’s what Wales and Slovakia opted for in Dublin and it brought them nothing. We are more likely to win by attacking and we need to win so that should be the be all and end all for us.
I don’t think it should matter at all that the games are away from home. We’ve found ourselves behind in this group and need to catch up. The only way we’ll do that is by winning matches.
All that said I still have a suspicion he’ll play Kilbane instead of either Ireland or McGeady in the name of solidity.
Don’t get me started on Roy Keane. How many sets of fans cheer the mangers of opposing teams?
Robbie Keane is a clown, don’t like him regardless of how well he plays.
Flano wrote:
Robbie Keane is a clown, don’t like him regardless of how well he plays.
So no matter how well he plays he shouldn’t start?
I rather see good honest guys like Doyle and Long start. I think they deserve it more than Keane who pretty much seems to believe he is the team. I wouldnt be surprised if Keane was ever dropped he’d retire from International football. Plus he’s a scummy knacker.
Doyle and particularly Long are still not nearly as good a player as Keane. Keane has a fantastic record for Ireland, gives his all and is one of our best players. To say we should get rid of him is plain silly.
A scummy knacker who has scored 31 goals for Ireland.
Pied, I think you cant judge a player on one game. Yeah it was a positive game for Reid but I he has looked very good against poor teams in the past and then has disappeared when up against decent opposition.
Do you not think that Kilbane and Hunt on the left would be better than O’shea and Kilbane? If not can you name a better combination?
I agree that it shouldn’t make a difference that Ireland are away but the fact is, it does. Its a physcological thing that Ireland have been affected by for years, with numerous amount of poor away performances.(remember Israel, the beginning of Irelands most recent demise)
For this reason Stan will play a defensive style and we will lose any chance of qualification after these two games imo. I hope im proved wrong
Flano wrote:
I rather see good honest guys like Doyle and Long start. I think they deserve it more than Keane who pretty much seems to believe he is the team. I wouldnt be surprised if Keane was ever dropped he’d retire from International football. Plus he’s a scummy knacker.
Greatest load of scheidt I’ve ever read on here.
Robbie Keane isn’t dishonest and his attitude when playing for us has been excellent as his 31 international goals testifies.
I’m privileged to have him represent my country.
Robbie Keane = scumbag.
Its a fact I’m afraid, head to Springfield sometime and you’ll see his breathern joyridin’ and downing their flaggans while doin it.
I for one have no respect for the little bollox, vermin scum.
So with the match approaching has anyone changed their mind on their starting lineup:
I’d go with:
Given___
Finnan_____Dunne______McShane___O’Shea
McGeady___Carsley______Ireland______Hunt
Keane_______Doyle_
Reading Liam Brady at the weekend he was going for Kilbane and Hunt as the wingers ahead of McGeady (I think, I know he said he wouldn’t start Aiden, just can’t remember who he picked instead) and he went for Andy Reid ahead of Ireland. He then went on to say how there are some decent young players like Doyle, Long, McGeady, McShane but none of them are really good like Keane and Duff were and the only one that might possibly be top class is Stephen Ireland. Why not pick him then?
I think it would be grossly unfair to leave Ireland out or to move him to the wing because we wouldn’t have a prayer of qualifying without his contributions thus far. He may not be physically strong enough but yet Andy Reid isn’t fit enough to play a hassling role in the middle anyway so it’s not as though we’d be losing out defensively.
If he plays Kilbane and says one more time that he’s building for the fecking future I’ll take a real gun to Stan’s head.
I’d probably play Kilbane ahead of Hunt - I don’t think Hunt is very good and Kilbane is an Irish legend with 80 plus caps.