Stephen Ireland to Return

He is a gas man alright…

Shite stadium, shite occasion.

It’s not just a football club it’s a movement

A fella at work just told me there that Ireland has announced his return the Irish set up. Can’t find anything on the news wires as of yet…

[quote=“Bandage”]I do indeed feel a far, far greater identity to Celtic than the Ireland football team.

Farmer, you mentioned on here before how you knew a ‘proper’ Celtic fan from Glasgow. That’s the thing, Celtic’s joint Irish/Scots identity doesn’t allow for a situation whereby Glaswegians are more Celtic than Irish people.

You’ll find in a vast amount of cases that their ancestors are Irish themselves so Celtic’s not like other clubs who command a large Irish following but whose local-based support often resent the ‘out of towners’.

Celtic’s a broad family but, again, most people are appreciative of the club’s history, recognise its roots and are like-minded. Celtic’s actually a symbol of the Irish diaspora for many people worlwide and if some people regard that devotion as being faux Irish or plastic then that’s their prerogative. But I have far more in common with these people than ‘Davy Keogh Says Hello’ and the Mexican Wave brigade at Croke Park.

So yeah, I do feel part of that and have a natural empathy with the support and the club. As I said before, it’s not just Celtic but other things like GAA, the Eurovision and Fair City that satisfy my nationalistic ideals. However, the feeling when Celtic won the league last season after being 7 points behind with 7 games to go meant incredibly more to me than any Ireland game.

It’s not that I don’t want the Ireland football team to do well, it’s just that other things mean more to me.[/quote]

Never read this thread before because Stephen Ireland is a cunt but having glanced through it today, I feel compelled to once again state that Bandage’s diehard allegiance to the hoops really only began around the time of meeting therock67.

Having been an acquaintance of the rotund one for the (ample) gut(s) of 15 years, I was amazed at his relatively recent devotion to the cause of Celtic. Previous to this transformation Bandage was a die hard city supporter, complete with pencil case and replica jersey. He used also boast about his jaunts to Maine Road with his da. Yet never mentioned a trip or an inclination to travel to Parkhead.

Bandage possibly had an interest in Glasgow Celtic as many of us did but his faux devotion is laughable.

Bandage you are a fraud.

[quote=“Appendage”]Never read this thread before because Stephen Ireland is a cunt but having glanced through it today, I feel compelled to once again state that Bandage’s diehard allegiance to the hoops really only began around the time of meeting therock67.

Having been an acquaintance of the rotund one for the (ample) gut(s) of 15 years, I was amazed at his relatively recent devotion to the cause of Celtic. Previous to this transformation Bandage was a die hard city supporter, complete with pencil case and replica jersey. He used also boast about his jaunts to Maine Road with his da. Yet never mentioned a trip or an inclination to travel to Parkhead.

Bandage possibly had an interest in Glasgow Celtic as many of us did but his faux devotion is laughable.

Bandage you are a fraud.[/quote]

:rolleyes::o:eek::eek:

[quote=“Appendage”]Never read this thread before because Stephen Ireland is a cunt but having glanced through it today, I feel compelled to once again state that Bandage’s diehard allegiance to the hoops really only began around the time of meeting therock67.

Bandage you are a fraud.[/quote]

The silence is deafening

Astonishing revelation, Bandages devotion to City had been touched upon in the past, but this recent reveal is indeed interesting.

With regards to Ireland, he’s some gobshite, but he’s our gobshite I suppose.

And a very good player.

No arguments here on that one farmer.

Can’t see him getting into the first XI. Baldy Cork cunt.

If he doesn’t then it is a disgrace.

I am not saying that not taking him back would be a disgrace but to take him back and not play him would be.

He is probably our most in form player at the moment.

Appendage, you’ve posted about my football favourites before and it seems to bother you. What’s this ‘Bandage possibly had an interest in Celtic as many of us did’ all about? I never knew you had an interest in Celtic. You might like to attend a game with me sometime? Fool.

Like many Irish youngsters, I liked an English team and Celtic growing up. I guess that was the effect of wall-to-wall coverage of English football in Ireland but I grew older and don’t like the game in England much anymore.

Things change Appendage, as well you know. For example, you were trying to bang a girl when you were 16 before you failed and moved onto another target. The latter is now your wife and the former is one of your wife’s best friends. As I said Appendage, things change.

Maybe if Wexford Youths FC were in existence when I was kid then I would have been big into them. As it is, I go to their games when I’m home. But I think LOI football is local and community based, or at least it should be, and I had no appetite to follow Waterford. I think if you grew up in Inchicore or Drogheda or Sligo or somewhere and liked football then there’s a fair chance you’d be well into your local team. But I don’t think Roscommon people en masse will follow their closest LOI club be it Longford Town or whoever and the same goes for other counties with no LOI presence.

People are naturally going to be impressionable as kids and take an English club fuelled by the media bombardment. Then some people grow out of it as they grow older whereas many others don’t. Of course, I’ve mentioned before about not having internet access growing up and no access to BBC Scotland and so access to Celtic was limited. I recall waiting for Ceefax to update for the result of the 1994 League Cup Final penalty shoot-out for example. These are things we didn’t talk about Appendage because I didn’t rely on you for football conversation in my formative years as you are/were a bogger with GAA as your main interest. And I was more sophisticated being from Wexford town, which hosts a world renowned opera festival.

I listened to that Martin O’Neill lecture on the RTE website over the weekend and I agree with his points about Celtic’s deep rooted Irishness and how supporting Celtic isn’t merely supporting Celtic but it’s also about being Irish. People can follow whoever they like but I copped that I didn’t have an affinity with Manchester or the people who who support them and it wasn’t for me. But I do have an affinity with Celtic, it’s history, it’s present and hopefully it’s future.

For me, you can enjoy films, music or whatever from anywhere in the world but to really support and enjoy and get the most out of following a team then you have to feel like you belong to it, understand their culture and be a living and breathing part of that. I get that with Celtic, AS Roma*, Wexford Youths, Philadelphia Eagles, India cricket team, Ireland cricket team, Wexford hurling and football teams, Faythe Harriers hurling club, Sarsfields GFC, and the European Mosconi Cup pool team.

So fook you Appendage.

• I started supporting AS Roma in late November 2008 and I’m now a poassionate advocate of theirs.

Question for Bandage. Would you be one of these people that go mental when people from mainly Munster and Ulster say that their Province winning in rugby means more than anything Ireland does? I have heard before from Irish Celtic fans with the same attitude as you (which i respect) giving out to me about putting Munster before Ireland.
But this is the way i look at it, everything starts at home. I put my GAA club first, then Cork, then Munster, then everything else after that.

Stephan Ireland would have to play if brought back, but i personally feel he should be made crawl through Cobh first begging his people for forgiveness for embarrassing them.
He’s one of the form players in the EPl at the moment though, and we don’t have many of them.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Question for Bandage. Would you be one of these people that go mental when people from mainly Munster and Ulster say that their Province winning in rugby means more than anything Ireland does? I have heard before from Irish Celtic fans with the same attitude as you (which i respect) giving out to me about putting Munster before Ireland.
But this is the way i look at it, everything starts at home. I put my GAA club first, then Cork, then Munster, then everything else after that.

Stephan Ireland would have to play if brought back, but i personally feel he should be made crawl through Cobh first begging his people for forgiveness for embarrassing them.
He’s one of the form players in the EPl at the moment though, and we don’t have many of them.[/quote]

munster is just a brand set up by heineken to sell beer - not sure why you would choose them over Ireland

[quote=“Bandage”]Appendage, you’ve posted about my football favourites before and it seems to bother you. What’s this ‘Bandage possibly had an interest in Celtic as many of us did’ all about? I never knew you had an interest in Celtic. You might like to attend a game with me sometime? Fool.

Like many Irish youngsters, I liked an English team and Celtic growing up. I guess that was the effect of wall-to-wall coverage of English football in Ireland but I grew older and don’t like the game in England much anymore.

Things change Appendage, as well you know. For example, you were trying to bang a girl when you were 16 before you failed and moved onto another target. The latter is now your wife and the former is one of your wife’s best friends. As I said Appendage, things change.

Maybe if Wexford Youths FC were in existence when I was kid then I would have been big into them. As it is, I go to their games when I’m home. But I think LOI football is local and community based, or at least it should be, and I had no appetite to follow Waterford. I think if you grew up in Inchicore or Drogheda or Sligo or somewhere and liked football then there’s a fair chance you’d be well into your local team. But I don’t think Roscommon people en masse will follow their closest LOI club be it Longford Town or whoever and the same goes for other counties with no LOI presence.

People are naturally going to be impressionable as kids and take an English club fuelled by the media bombardment. Then some people grow out of it as they grow older whereas many others don’t. Of course, I’ve mentioned before about not having internet access growing up and no access to BBC Scotland and so access to Celtic was limited. I recall waiting for Ceefax to update for the result of the 1994 League Cup Final penalty shoot-out for example. These are things we didn’t talk about Appendage because I didn’t rely on you for football conversation in my formative years as you are/were a bogger with GAA as your main interest. And I was more sophisticated being from Wexford town, which hosts a world renowned opera festival.

I listened to that Martin O’Neill lecture on the RTE website over the weekend and I agree with his points about Celtic’s deep rooted Irishness and how supporting Celtic isn’t merely supporting Celtic but it’s also about being Irish. People can follow whoever they like but I copped that I didn’t have an affinity with Manchester or the people who who support them and it wasn’t for me. But I do have an affinity with Celtic, it’s history, it’s present and hopefully it’s future.

For me, you can enjoy films, music or whatever from anywhere in the world but to really support and enjoy and get the most out of following a team then you have to feel like you belong to it, understand their culture and be a living and breathing part of that. I get that with Celtic, AS Roma*, Wexford Youths, Philadelphia Eagles, India cricket team, Ireland cricket team, Wexford hurling and football teams, Faythe Harriers hurling club, Sarsfields GFC, and the European Mosconi Cup pool team.

So fook you Appendage.

• I started supporting AS Roma in late November 2008 and I’m now a poassionate advocate of theirs.[/quote]

Good stuff about Roma - once you get the bug its quite a high

Heineken saw a good thing didn’t they.:rolleyes:

saw a few gullible muldoons more like

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Question for Bandage. Would you be one of these people that go mental when people from mainly Munster and Ulster say that their Province winning in rugby means more than anything Ireland does? I have heard before from Irish Celtic fans with the same attitude as you (which i respect) giving out to me about putting Munster before Ireland.

He’s one of the form players in the EPl at the moment though, and we don’t have many of them.[/quote]

I am going to butt in here.

I don’t understand provincial loyalty. I don’t see how two people, one from Clare and the other from Waterford, would get together and have some sort of rapport over the province that their county has been put into.

It could just be me but I don’t understand it.

Imagine me and a Rossie standing arm and arm over a Connacht victory? It will never happen. Provinces mean nothing.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]I am going to butt in here.

I don’t understand provincial loyalty. I don’t see how two people, one from Clare and the other from Waterford, would get together and have some sort of rapport over the province that their county has been put into.

It could just be me but I don’t understand it.

Imagine me and a Rossie standing arm and arm over a Connacht victory? It will never happen. Provinces mean nothing.[/quote]

Bollix.

Could just as easily counter argue that while 2 club teams might hate each other in the county championship, but their players/supporters can get on when watching the county team.