Gardiner would be in the hapenny place to Noel Hickey
And they had Timmy Kelleher the previous decade
Utter bullshit.
Thatās a lazy comment. Hickey was one of the toughest hurlers that ever played the game, a few lads got more than their egos bruised trying to mark him but sneaky and dirty are words that anyone that knows anything about Noel Hickey wouldnāt use
The context here is the blackening the name of John Gardiner ,If ye want to shit all over JG then dont be so thin skinned when its pointed out NH was any thing but an angel on the field of play.
The context here is a cork man blackening Limerick hurling. Donāt be so thin skinned
Ah ye had plenty hard manly hurlers in the years gone by. Thatās gone now though replaced by more āsubtle stuffā
āin the hapenny placeā or āno angelā? You are getting notably confused. Then again, dizziness goes with ridiculousness.
If you actually knew any hurlers who played against NH, they would tell you he was one of the cleanest backs out there at the time. He made a calculated non vicious intervention on Mike Fitzgerald in 2007 AIF, as is well documented, but there was no malice in the belt, which is why NH was not red carded. Care to specify any other incidents?
JG was a cur. Plenty of his own club would say the same.
Hickey chopped down on his calf that day. Visible from the Cusack Stand.
A cunts cunt.
Iād agree that Limerick are not dirty at all but they are being ( have been ) instructed to tackle in a manner which is illegal.
To say other is bizarre.
They are not alone in the tactic, many teams do likewise which doesnāt make it correct I might add.
The high press Limerick use isnāt anywhere as effective without being able to bottle up & turn over the opposition in contact.
Ah stop.
Gardiner wanted to play the dark arts only one way, heād swipe & dig to his hearts content.
But, God forbid someone gave him a dose of his own medicine heād be rolling around like a clown on the ground.
Loads of examples of that carry on.
He flaked Eoin Brislane (irony alert I know) in the 2003 league final.
He did what? Poor Eoinā¦
I know, I know poor Eoin had a broken hand after it.
The bone mended faster than his pride Iād imagine.
The knee injury to Philip Maher being the much more catastrophic injury from a Tipperary perspective, never fully recovered from it.
You said it.
Eoin Brislaneā¦ Would you stop.
A good coach, though, I believe.
Mike Fitzgerald in 2007 AIF, as is well documented, but there was no malice in the belt, which is why NH was not red carded
Ah here. Whatever about the incident on question, the lack of a red card bears zero testament to whether it was filthy, especially 15 years ago.
A cunts cunt.
Iād agree that Limerick are not dirty at all but they are being ( have been ) instructed to tackle in a manner which is illegal.
To say other is bizarre.
They are not alone in the tactic, many teams do likewise which doesnāt make it correct I might add.
The high press Limerick use isnāt anywhere as effective without being able to bottle up & turn over the opposition in contact.
Yes, you are right, as is also well documented. There is a clear ssue about Limerickās tackling and rate of foul concession. Same time, you could not call them dirty, as we agree.
If a team can break out of Limerickās middle third saturation, given how Limerick are set up, goal chances accrue. Item: first half of 2020 AIF. Declan Hannon is not your standard middle-holding centre back. So there is tactical fouling to keep ball in middle third.
Limerick are dirty. Kk have dropped a place on the daisy chain as weāve discussed before. They are to Limerick what Michael Duignan is to kk.