Stupid Commentator / Pundit Comments 2008 Calendar Year

Billo talking about Drogba’s diving before the game:

‘So is it a case of him being more sinned against than sinning himself like the trees in Mardyke as they say?’

What the fook? That’s a Cork reference I think.

George just after Chelsea went 1-0 up:

‘Liverpool knew they had to score tonight so their task is essentially the same except it’s different.’

George was at pains to tell us last night that the game was over after 28 mins of extra time, however the dosy fool had omitted to stop his watch at half time. And Ray, with possibly his most incisive piece of analysis ever, “eh George the stadium clock says there’s a minute left.”

Did Ray say that? Thats class, don’t know how I missed that. I was wondering what the fook Hamilton was on about. I remember he said something like “The clock situation has been clarified.”

We were laughing at George too. He was calling it one minute over after 28 and a bit minutes. I reckon he didn’t stop his watch at half time in extra time. What a clown!

[quote=“Bandage”]Billo talking about Drogba’s diving before the game:

‘So is it a case of him being more sinned against than sinning himself like the trees in Mardyke as they say?’

What the fook? That’s a Cork reference I think.

George just after Chelsea went 1-0 up:

‘Liverpool knew they had to score tonight so their task is essentially the same except it’s different.’[/quote]

That was a Cork referance Bandage. The Maradyke is an area in Cork City where UCC have their rugby/athletics/basketball/general leisure area. On the banks of the Lee, lovely spot. Great if you want to bring a girl for a dag in nature, so to speak.

In my opinion, Houghton is THE most annoying co-commentator/pundit ever.
Always gets things wrong and is so sure of his opinions. Even last night he was calling that a handball should have went against Terry. They showed the slow motion replay and we could clearly see it hit Terry in the chest and bounced away but Ray says-
“Yeah we can see it here-the ball comes off Terry’s chest and clearly strikes his hand. How the referee doesn’t see that is beyond me George”

And then when Hypia falls in Extra Time in the penalty area he berates the ref again:
“Look we can see there George that the Referee has a clear view of the incident and runs forward and brings his whistle up but doesn’t blow for the penalty. I don’t understand why George”

Cos it wasn’t a penalty Ray.

Loved him as a player-hate him as a pundit.

Got a text from a manu friend of mine last night during the match; reckons Houghton is stanch Liverpool. It read, and I quote, “Filthy scotch cunt!”. Classic

I posted this about Houghton on here before:

‘Every time someone shoots and doesn’t score it’s a case of ‘if he’d just got his head up there then he would have seen two unmarked players who were free right in the centre of the goal and it would have been an easy tap in.’ He says this at least 25 times in every game he commentates on and I genuinely think he expects the score to be something like 17-12 in each match.’

He’s an absolute ballbag and as Pikeman says he’s so sure and adamant that he’s right and all these players are wrong, many of whom are the best in the world. Pretty much every single decision a player makes on the park is the wrong one and it’s back to the ‘terrible play, if only he’d got his head up there’ tripe that he repeats from start to finish.

Then he calls things wrong, as Pikeman also said, but doesn’t use the conclusive evidence of the replay to alter his incorrect opinions and instead stubbornly and repeatedly makes the same incorrect point.

Last night he kept going on about the Hyppia penalty claim and how the referee walked towards the penalty box and had the whistle in his mouth. So fooking what if he did. He thought about it and concluded it wasn’t a pen. But Houghton kept it up as if this was unprecedented. Fooking idiot. Does he expect a pen every time a ref walks towards the penalty box.

I fooking detest the prick.

Well read Bandage.

im surprised that bandage/flano and the rest of the wrestling crew around here didnt pick up on eamonn dunphts gaff about the WWE when he referred to it as the WWWWF…the most heinous of crimes…

I see that RTE launched their coverage of this summer’s GAA during the week. Skippy Ruth and Davy Fitzgerald are the new hurling pundits and Coman Goggins has been added to their football roster. Ger Canning will still be there, along with Marty and Jim Carney so there’s plenty of scope for stupid comments anyway. Joanne Cantwell’s also going to be fronting the highlights show alongside Pat Spillane too apparently.

Cannot stand Joanne Cantwell.

What about that other burd that does it with the Irish name - tasty bit…

Evanne ni Chuillin. Tasty but hasn’t a clue. Actually emailed RTE a couple of times to get rid of her off the GAA.

I’d do both of them but don’t think either are that great. I read before that Cantwell played football for Dublin and Evanne plays camogie so they have a bit of knowledge. It’s just that because they’re women it’s very basic.

Yer man Jim Proudfoot on Setanta today at the start of the game:

‘And Motherwell manager Mark McGhee will be facing his former Celtic team-mate Gordon Strachan.’

Clown.

At 0-0 early in the second half he was on about goals being likely as ‘Celtic have scored in every away game they’ve played in the SPL this season.’

I’m trying to blank it from memory but I’m sure the huns beat us 1-0 at the shit pit in March.

Scott Booth was his usual ridiculous self. The guy’s one of the worst co-commentators ever.

It’s like a jamboree of stupid commentator comments in the Premier League Darts final tonight with Sid Waddell and Dave Lanigan. Superb stuff!

Lanigan: ‘Oh, that’s like the pineapple on the pizza - so tasty from Taylor.’

Lanigan: ‘And Wade is bouncing back like a kangaroo on a space hopper.’

Waddell: ‘Ooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhh, a total eclipse of the dart.’

Waddell: ‘Taylor’s one of the best sportsmen in history - he’s possibly rivalled only by Babe Ruth, Don Bradman and the great Jessie Owens.’

Lanigan: ‘Great comparisons Sid.’

Waddell: 'Ooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhh Taylor, the man who puts the ‘STUN’ into ‘TUNGSTEN’.

Waddell: ‘Dylan Thomas was Under Milk Wood but we’re in Cardiff watching CIA - CLASSIC INTERNATIONAL ARROWS.’

The two of them are fooking mental.

John Motson after Terry scored last night, ‘And what a difference 7 days makes.’

Yes, you idiot. Scoring in an end of season kickabout against the US obviously makes up for fooking up a chance to win the Champions League.

Hope you have loadsa room on the server for when Trevor Walsh starts his GAA commentating this weekend on TV3. Stupid comments galore I reckon for the season ahead.

That’s gas. I was going to set up a ‘TV3 GAA Coverage Gaffes’ thread earlier in advance but then I decided I’d just fire them in here as they arise. I’m expecting it to be comically bad.