in all honesty what are rte doing with poor old jimmy magee commentating…it was so bad i had to put on itv…he is always around 10/15 seconds behind the play…
Bad and all as he is at the footie, when he was doing the Bernard Dunne fights he was as biased in his analysis and sickenin to listen too.
I get the impression he sports a semi every time he meets Bernard, poor old jimmy, a legend in his day though
Ah Jimmy is a legend. The commentry is entertainment in itself. Mutu had scored yesterday and was wheeling away in celebration before Jimmy noticed anything.
exactly…thats what boils my blood about him…for fuck sake its fair bad when a novice like kinsella has to usher him through the game, reminding him of players names etc and keeping up with the play…
That tool Paul “Bainisteoir” Collins has made 2 serious blunders over the last 2 mornings on Today FM. This morning he informed us all that Glorious Goodwood is starting this afternoon. For those of you not in the know about Horse Racing, it is actually the start of Royal Ascot today and this type of mix up is akin to confusing the Charity Shield with the FA Cup Final.
Yesterday morning Ian Dempsey asked him if the Czech Republic had any chance of qualifying now. Collins or “The Tool” as I will now call him replied saying that it wasn’t “mathematically improbable” but was highly unlikely and that we’d have to wait till their final round of games to see for sure.
How does this fella still have a sports job? He’s utter utter muck. Of course he’ll be all talk now about GAA until his beloved Tipp are sent packing out of Munster. I’d love to take a 34inch Albert Randall to that tools head.
[quote=“Mac”]That tool Paul “Bainisteoir” Collins has made 2 serious blunders over the last 2 mornings on Today FM. This morning he informed us all that Glorious Goodwood is starting this afternoon. For those of you not in the know about Horse Racing, it is actually the start of Royal Ascot today and this type of mix up is akin to confusing the Charity Shield with the FA Cup Final.
Yesterday morning Ian Dempsey asked him if the Czech Republic had any chance of qualifying now. Collins or “The Tool” as I will now call him replied saying that it wasn’t “mathematically improbable” but was highly unlikely and that we’d have to wait till their final round of games to see for sure.
How does this fella still have a sports job? He’s utter utter muck. Of course he’ll be all talk now about GAA until his beloved Tipp are sent packing out of Munster. I’d love to take a 34inch Albert Randall to that tools head.[/quote]
I thought Glorious Goodwood about vintage cars and dibdaw’s that like to dress up in 50’s gear. (open to correction btw)
So assuming I’m right, should someone in the news broadcast profession be allowed confuse horses with 60 year old cars? But what options do Today FM have in their news and sports dept? I get the very strong impression that PC is nothing more that a passenger in there anyway.
Anyway just to reassure the admin committee here; I know Paul Collins is very sensitive to criticism so if he gets on the warpath with ye over the above; I happy to edit it and apologise. (have a thing for Tipp lately)
Jimmy Magee has a lovely habit of telling you where the game is being played when someone scores an equaliser. He might say ‘goal by Ronaldo, and the sides are level in Moscow’.
It didn’t work as well when he commentated on the GAA a few years back…‘and the sides are level in Portleesha’ just didn’t have the same gravitas for me
[quote=“Mac”]That tool Paul “Bainisteoir” Collins has made 2 serious blunders over the last 2 mornings on Today FM. This morning he informed us all that Glorious Goodwood is starting this afternoon. For those of you not in the know about Horse Racing, it is actually the start of Royal Ascot today and this type of mix up is akin to confusing the Charity Shield with the FA Cup Final.
How does this fella still have a sports job? He’s utter utter muck. Of course he’ll be all talk now about GAA until his beloved Tipp are sent packing out of Munster. I’d love to take a 34inch Albert Randall to that tools head.[/quote]
One of the biggest gobshites in Ireland - a thundering disgrace…
Was it for this?
Imagine being a journalist, broadcaster or whatever and consciously choosing a career that involves putting your work out into the public domain but then taking a little hissy fit any time the public have a pop over a misinformed or incorrect article or comment. Simple solution: stop making stupid and incorrect public utterances and/or stop writing stupid and incorrect articles.
Jimmy Magee was as reliable as ever last night, apparently Michael Klose and and Thomas Frings were both playing for Germany.
RTE Quotes from Euro 2008
Souness - “Croatia were a little bit tippy tappy for me”.
Bill - “What do you think of Group B gentlemen?”
Souness - “Looks abit like World War II, Bill”.
Dunphy on Saturday “Real Madrid are offering ronaldo 250,000 a week after tax, he has a model girlfriend, he’s 23, he’s good looking, I hate him”
Dunphy - “Sergio Ramos is like Paul McShane on steroids”.
Quote by Jimmy Magee, just now in the Portugal v Czech game.
He was talking about the midfielder for Portugal who had just taken a shot at goal.
“He is clearly a privileged spectator as that is the first thing he has done all day”
Jimmy Magee again : and the ball is passed wide to Ricardo Ronaldo '…Kinsella was too polite to correct him then a min later he says…‘I just promoted the Portuguese goalkeeper to the wing’.
Jimmy Thegee again: “This must be the most attacks by an Italian team in an international match in the first 16 minutes than anyone can remember”
Dunphy - “Holland look good but they haven’t played a proper team yet”
Brady - “They beat Italy 3-0 and France 4-1, two WC finalists. What do you mean a proper team?”
Dunphy - “Sweden”
Mark Kinsella after 15 minutes of tonights match between Austria & Germany…
“I see what the Austrians are tryin to do here, they are tryin to stop the Germans playing football”
Mark Kinsella when the challenge was made on lahm (which resulted in ballacks stunning freekick)…talkin bout the austrian who brought lahm down “he really needed to make that tackle…doesnt matter bout the free kick lahm was on a good run”…ballack riffles one home…"ya see needless freekicks cost ya
Jimmy again: klasnic has socred for poland, they lead one nil" then it shows the replay and he realise it was a goal against poland and he says " of course that was Klanic of portugal who got the goal
BILL:
“Just one interesting point.Italy have now qualified for the quarter final with 4 points ,when last time they failed to qualify with 5 points.Whatever that means,i don’t know” Smile
Souness - “I agree with Liam…”
Dunphy - “Its Eamon”
Souness - “Sorry, whats your name…haha…good job Liams not here”
Rte quality last nite discussing Italys second goal
Souness: Henry didn’t want 2 know too concerned in covering his manhood that he turned his back on d ball
Dunphy: Tink it was a bit low to b worried about his manhood
Giles : Eamonn how do u know his manhood doesnt go down dat low
[quote=“Mac”]RTE Quotes from Euro 2008
Rte quality last nite discussing Italys second goal
Souness: Henry didn’t want 2 know too concerned in covering his manhood that he turned his back on d ball
Dunphy: Tink it was a bit low to b worried about his manhood
Giles : Eamonn how do u know his manhood doesnt go down dat low[/quote]
Did they start texting each other for this exchange?
I’m not sure - send Stephen Alkin or Ryle Nugent an email and they’ll clear it up for you.
Quality, quality stuff from the lads on RTE. These guys alone are worth the licence fee. (although I might be enforcing contra-charges for some of the other muck the serve up)
“It’s big balls time”
according to Souness, but
“It’s Squeeky bum time” ???
according to Peter Collins
Liam Hayes is some utter fookwit.
He is on TV3 there for the Wexford Laois game and said that Laois are bottlers because they haven’t taken advantage of the transition times of Meath and Dublin and won numerous Leinster titles and at least one All-Ireland. They even got beaten by Westmeath in a Leinster final apaarently.
Peter Canavan was asked his opinion and he said that basically Hayes was talking utter shite and that five Leinster finals in six years is hardly bottling it. But they will be disappointed that they have not won more Leinsters.
Of course Hayes was saying that this will not make me popular in Laois and that you may think it is personal but it is not - basically trying to uild it up into something its not so that he can be seen a controversial. This is far too common with GAA commentators.
David Brady the gobshite is utterly useless on the panel - possesses an inability to speak correctly…
Darragh Maloney tonight:
“Capdevilla, one of two Catalans in the Spanish team, Puyol being the other”
Wouldn’t normally give a shit about mistakes like that but why the need to show off that you know where Capdevilla was born (and you only know that because it’s on your media pack handed to you).
Anyway for what it’s worth Xavi’s a Catalunyan too.
Craig Foster. SBS football analyst. Said after Portugals first match:
“I really think this Portugese side can go all the way. They have lightnening pace up front but in Alex and Carvalhio they have probably the 2 best central defenders in the tournament.”
Craig Foster after the Germany match:
“See, we’ve been saying it all along. Portugals weak defense would let them down and it has!”
Holy mother:
“Those two defenders are known as the twin towers. And they were destroyed there”
Bill O’Herlihy during last nights Germany Turkey game
Was briefly flicking around the channels earlier and happened upon Soccer Saturday on Sky Sports.
They even have pundits in watching pre-season friendlies onscreen and reporting back what’s going on.
Lou Macari:"I said earlier that Rooney really needed to score for his confidence and finally he’s done it.’
An early July kickabout up in Aberdeen and Lou reckons Rooney’s confidence would have been affected had he not scored.
Clown.