Stupid things mates have said or done

I can’t wait for this. Its gonna be a good freekick friday :grin:

Bandage wrote:

Don’t have time to respond to this in detail now but sometimes the crass stupidity of people astounds me - ClarkeyCat and Flano in this case. Incredible. I’ll be back on this later after what promises to be a very enjoyable conference call.

Bigot.

So do you accept you were working off a flawed definition of bigotry?

I’ve yet to have an enjoyable conference call, someone send on the dial-in details to Sledgehammer, I need something to keep me awake.

The people and fans of Barcelona loved the marauding huns, as they knocked the bollix out of the Guardia Civil duiring the dictatorship, which was always appreciated by those pesky Catalans.

I really don’t care if anyone is bigoted or not. The fact that some people on here are and claim to be not is what I have the problem with. Stop lying to yourselves lads it’ll help you move on with your life :grin:

That’s something the huns trade off but it’s not actually true - go to the Barcelona museum and see how they treat the final there. It’s talked about as the biggest disgrace in the history of the Nou Camp/Camp Nou - which was of course a gift from Franco’s government anyway. So it’s not as black and white as we’re lead to believe.

Our mate eddie came back to the house one day to report that there was Free…Range eggs down the road and we should go and stock up. Priceless!

Graham Hunter was talking about it recently and seemed to think the overwhelming mood is one of gratitute. AFAIK he isn’t a currant bun, but it’s obviously not beyond the bounds of possibility that he was sticking up for them. Have been to the museum a couple of times, a bit boring, but I must admit to disliking them as a club so I would say that.

I’d like to welcome nemesis aboard, although they have been a member for well over a year.

Classic post though.

And the following is the key point here:

‘The original definition suggests any intolerance of other beliefs is bigotry. So people who don’t tolerate nazis or racists are bigots? Nonsense.’

I really expected better from ClarkeyCat and the ridiculous nature and paucity of his argument is summed up by that response from Rocko.

To take the line Clarkey’s taking (and as I’ve argued quite a bit about on a GAA forum I frequent) he’d also therefore class somebody who rejected, and was absolutely disgusted by the Ku Klux Klan, as themselves being a bigot for not accepting or tolerating the KK’s obviously deranged beliefs.

It’s clearly and thoroughly ridiculous to say you’re a bigot if you refuse to tolerate the beliefs of others if those beliefs include fascism, sectarianism and racism and other disgusting forms of behaviour regularly displayed by huns any time they’re playing.
I think a lot of it stems from the fact people doesn’t understand the term ‘hun’. As mentioned above it was coined by the press after Rangers supporters destroyed the Nou Camp by ‘marauding around like huns’ rioting, smashing up the place and generally leaving a trail of violence and destruction behind them.

It’s to do with a mindset and behavioural traits and its use by Celtic supporters specifically does not relate to religion at all. ClarkeyCat and Flano possibly think it’s a derogatory term used against Protestants when it’s clearly and blatantly not. However, hun like behaviour can manifest itself in numerous ways, like I’ve said already, and sectarianism, along with fascism, racism and violence is part of this.

I go back to my point above about tolerating others’ beliefs and the KK example. For ClarkeyCat and Flano to accuse someone of being sectarian/bigoted for showing disdain and contempt for hun bastards who engage in that sort of stuff is patently ridiculous.

Fooking clowns. :-((

Sledgehammer wrote:

Graham Hunter was talking about it recently and seemed to think the overwhelming mood is one of gratitute. AFAIK he isn’t a currant bun, but it’s obviously not beyond the bounds of possibility that he was sticking up for them. Have been to the museum a couple of times, a bit boring, but I must admit to disliking them as a club so I would say that.

Graham Hunter is my least favourite media pundit ever. Prize tool. All his stories are based on guesswork. He knows nothing. I won’t accept anything he says. Ever.

nemesis wrote:

Our mate eddie came back to the house one day to report that there was Free…Range eggs down the road and we should go and stock up. Priceless!

Good man Eddie! :grin:

Is Bandage’s name on those eggs for the TFK halloween vandalism shindig!

A bit harsh. I like him, although I take immense enjoyment from picking apart a lot of his stuff. Some of his pro-Liverpool stuff in Village magazine a few years ago was disgraceful, and I regularly went to town on him on the letters page.

However, he was able to tell me last February that the German was going to get the Madrid job, and even the restaurant in Madrid where the deal was done, so he’s not totally useless.

Another Mouldy moment

In Coppers during the Copa America and the Argies were on live. The team were playing amazing stuff. I made a general comment on how good Messi has become. Mouldy concurred with me. Knowing he had probably made a mistake I said “What are you basing your comment on?” He said “From what I’ve seen” I then asked him had he seen him play for Barcelona in the previous season. He said no but Messi did “play well against Man Utd when he scored those two goals”. I scratched my head and said “Do you mean Kaka?” He looked at me with a blank expression and asked me is he not playing there. This is when I said “Kaka is fooking Brazilian now shut the fook up about stuff you dont have a clue about ya fooking gobshite”

therock67 wrote:

So do you accept you were working off a flawed definition of bigotry?

No, different but not flawed. And it shouldn’t detract from the fact that generalising people associated with Rangers as huns is bigoted.

Bandage wrote:

And the following is the key point here:

‘The original definition suggests any intolerance of other beliefs is bigotry. So people who don’t tolerate nazis or racists are bigots? Nonsense.’

I really expected better from ClarkeyCat and the ridiculous nature and paucity of his argument is summed up by that response from Rocko.

To take the line Clarkey’s taking (and as I’ve argued quite a bit about on a GAA forum I frequent) he’d also therefore class somebody who rejected, and was absolutely disgusted by the Ku Klux Klan, as themselves being a bigot for not accepting or tolerating the KK’s obviously deranged beliefs.

It’s clearly and thoroughly ridiculous to say you’re a bigot if you refuse to tolerate the beliefs of others if those beliefs include fascism, sectarianism and racism and other disgusting forms of behaviour regularly displayed by huns any time they’re playing.
I think a lot of it stems from the fact people doesn’t understand the term ‘hun’. As mentioned above it was coined by the press after Rangers supporters destroyed the Nou Camp by ‘marauding around like huns’ rioting, smashing up the place and generally leaving a trail of violence and destruction behind them.

It’s to do with a mindset and behavioural traits and its use by Celtic supporters specifically does not relate to religion at all. ClarkeyCat and Flano possibly think it’s a derogatory term used against Protestants when it’s clearly and blatantly not. However, hun like behaviour can manifest itself in numerous ways, like I’ve said already, and sectarianism, along with fascism, racism and violence is part of this.

I go back to my point above about tolerating others’ beliefs and the KK example. For ClarkeyCat and Flano to accuse someone of being sectarian/bigoted for showing disdain and contempt for hun bastards who engage in that sort of stuff is patently ridiculous.

The point is that you don’t show disdain and contempt for “hun bastards who engage in that sort of stuff”, you show disdain and contempt for the entire Rangers supporting and playing population. That’s what I have the problem with. Not that it bothers me, I just think it’s hypocritical.

a bit of revisionism by the huns & the gypo toes the unioinist line

ClarkeyCat wrote:

Bandage wrote:

[quote]And the following is the key point here:

The point is that you don’t show disdain and contempt for “hun bastards who engage in that sort of stuff”, you show disdain and contempt for the entire Rangers supporting and playing population. That’s what I have the problem with. Not that it bothers me, I just think it’s hypocritical.[/quote]

So it’s gone from bigoted to hypocritical. Make up your mind. I have no time whatsoever for a club that had a sectarian signing policy for over 100 years. I also see vast hordes of their supporters, and not by any means a minority at all, engaging in racist, fascist and thuggish behaviour on an ongoing, recurring basis. There’s pictures of them on this forum - the whole away end making nazi salutes to the home support while playing in Israel last season, scumbags rioting in Osasuna. Even on Saturday the entire section of the stand across from the tv cameras were doing that ‘bouncy’ thing they do after their goals ‘in celebration’ of the manner of the murder of Robert Hamill in Portadown. They’re rotten to the core and as such I detest them. I also have no time for footballers who don’t have a moral issue with playing for clubs like them, hence my contempt for them too. What’s hypocritical about that? Nothing, that’s what.

ClarkeyCat wrote:

therock67 wrote:

[quote]So do you accept you were working off a flawed definition of bigotry?

No, different but not flawed. And it shouldn’t detract from the fact that generalising people associated with Rangers as huns is bigoted.[/quote]

Non-sensical in the extreme.

Surely the fact you’re completely wrong here should automatically register with you once you’ve seen Flango agreeing with you?