Summer Transfer Window 2017

He put the ball in the back of the net more than every other player in the EPL last season even though he was playing for Everton. A proven goalscorer in the league as opposed to Morata who wasnā€™t a regular last season.

Heā€™s worth investing in even if current prices are completely nuts. Who do you think they should have gone for over him?

Morata is way better

Morata has shown he can do it in Italy and Spain with top European teams.

Lukaku has managed to bang in a load of goals playing for a glorified mid-table side who donā€™t have too many other lads capable of scoring much :joy:

I havenā€™t put much thought in it, mate ā€¦ As average as Everton are, they at least tried to play open football. Utd are a defensive team set up not to lose first, I donā€™t think he will flourish under that system unless they bring in some serious quality to allow them counter very quickly. How many goals did he score against top half teams last year? Think he banged them in against Sunderland and the likes but struggled against top 6 certainly.

Had a quick look and there were three goals in the games vs top six teams.

1, in two separate games, against Man City and one against Spurs.

Thatā€™s poor. 3 goals in probably 12 appearances

Really poor stats

Iā€™d score against city ā€¦ 17 of 24 against the bottom teams? 6 against just two relegated teams alone? -

Iā€™m not calling him average but iā€™m not sure heā€™s a top, top player and I donā€™t think he suits the way Utd currently play but he then again he will get goals against the dross I suppose and thatā€™s all Jose wants as he will play 10 behind the ball against the top 4/5 teams.

Iā€™d score 20 myself in that Real team.

Desperate. 1 in 4.

Similar to Drogba is a Jose Mourinho system.

Heā€™ll be grand (if the transfer goes through).

http://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/transfer-window/exclusive-everton-claim-they-have-not-agreed-75m-fee-with-manchester-united-for-romelu-lukaku-35901709.html

Think thatā€™s wrong there pal.

He got 4 vs Bournemouth who finished 9th, 1 vs Southampton who finished 8th, 1 against West Brom who finished 10th.

it was actually 4 against the top 6, I missed one from Arsenal.

So that makes it 10 out of 24 against sides in the top half of the table.

So just less than half against the top half.

Heā€™s nowhere near as good of a player as Drogba.

Bulls-fucking-eye.

Drogba at his peak was unmarkable. Some days you donā€™t know if Lukaku could be bothered. Drogba thrived on a tussle with a few bruiser centre halves.

He was a leader as well.

I recall (on one of many occasions) him destroying Liverpool in the Champions League quarter final. Rafa had called him a diver or something in the days previously and he more of less won the game by himself.

A cracking, cracking player.

I[quote=ā€œChocolateMice, post:288, topic:23907ā€]
Iā€™m not calling him average but iā€™m not sure heā€™s a top, top player
Well put Choco

Iā€™m not a big fan of Lukaku and I think Drogba was a brilliant player but Drogba went to Chelsea as a 25/26 year old with a record of 51 goals in 144 appearances in the French league. Lukaku is a year younger and has 118 senior club goals, 88 of which are in the EPL. Heā€™s a lazy fucker but his goalscoring stats are very impressive and, under the right manager, he has all the attributes to be a top player. Mourinho is not that manager though.

How many games has it taken Lukaku to score his 118 goals.

Didnā€™t Jose show lukaku the door at Chelsea after he missed that penalty in Monaco?