Yeah, I had no idea either. I was hoping it wasn’t just me. I think Marcus needs some more “Marcus time”
I have no earthly idea. My best guess is he has convinced himself that Daft is too bloated with the level of properties in there and that he can create a more pinpointed system of highlighting good NAMA related property deals but he made an utter mess of getting his point across in a thoroughly laughable way.
Only immigrants, vagrants and people who are trying to kill time at 5:30am in the morning waiting for the first bus after a night on the booze go to internet cafes these days.
no it’s not…
I doubt he was being serious. I know the lad who set up daft. He created it with his brother for a transition year project. Minted now, so he is. I doubt he’s too worried about Marcus and his ingenious schemes.
You have to love the likes of this ridiculous cunt.
They see themselves as entrepreneurs, like they have some serial talent for creating money. When will the penny finally drop for these cunts that it was piss easy to make it look like you were a successful business man from 1995 to 2005. All you needed was a hard neck, a pin stripe suit, an inflated ego and a helpful bank manager.
It hasn’t occurred to this fella that the rules have changed and its only smart well informed folk that will now prevail. Has it occurred to this fella that he might actually have to go out and get a job rather than coming up with junior cert project ideas like namavalueproperty.com.
Dust off that CV Marcus, like a good lad.
“In a way I was Ireland’s first high-profile casualty when my business went into receivership.”
You were in your fuck
Another fine contribution from the lovely Brendan O’Connor:
An extract:
Of course this probably wasn’t the first time a guy like Cowen had felt in the shadow of someone like Lenihan. When you are from the country, and you have the darkness in you, and your face and your facial expression doesn’t conform to people’s idea of what a happy cheerful face should look like, and then you are confronted with better looking, more confident and more upbeat Dublin lads with a better way about them, you can often start to resent these golden boys. And for all we know Cowen could have been surrounded by golden boys all his life, those guys who were never as smart as Cowen or as deserving as Cowen but guys whom, somehow, the light just shone through in a way it didn’t through Cowen. And here was Lenihan again. Cowen was the leader and Lenihan was the one in charge of the economy, which was tanking. But somehow the people loved Lenihan and not Cowen. It must have seemed unfair to Cowen and maybe this unfairness was familiar to Cowen and brought him back to more primitive, immature reactions.
Christ almighty.
Jesus harold christ that is one of the most disgusting pieces of writing I’ve ever seen…
Time to start a related thread methinks.
Amazing that he never got a nomination for COTY 2010.
You can nearly imagine the wheels turning in his head its like the Kanye episode of Southpark.
Nama=Property=Voice of a Generation=Gayfish
Once things like DAFT get in its very hard to dislodge them. I wouldn’t bother looking anywhere other than DAFT now. Unless he thinks he can sign an exclusive deal with NAMA or something, the question of course is why wouldn’t NAMA just setup their own website? I don’t think he’s put very much thought into this.
On the rare occasions when i spend any time in front of a TV camera I am a broken man for the rest of the day, as if something has been physically taken out of me. Whenever Brendan O’Connor sits on that seat on The Saturday Night Show, he looks like he belongs on the screen, like it was meant to be. To me this is obvious and I really don’t think I would feel otherwise if he happened to work for, say, PricewaterhouseCoopers in real life.
- Declan Lynch, Sunday Independent
Lynch is clearly back on the sauce.
I admit I was a Sindo buyer until about 2 weeks ago, but the article above quoted by WTB, pushed me over the edge. It was O’Connor’s second assasination of Cowen in as many weeks. The previous one dealt with the issue of the Taoiseach’s waistline when visible on the golf course in whatever people wear when on the golf course. I’m all for pointing out the man’s short comings as a politician, but the personal stuff makes me sick.
I feel better about myself now. There’s no need to hide it under the Sunday Times any more, plus it’ll save me over €130 a year.
Does anyone else agree that the sports section in it is fairly shit too? Lots of people ‘buy it for the sport’ but I got it last week and bar an article about Barcelona that they took from the observer it was desperate. Yer man Sweeney has some good opinion pieces but he’s very hit and miss, while the likes of Dion Fanning and that complete bluffer Tommy Conlon are nothing ill researched manure. Damien Lawlor, while a nice fella and all that, isn’t really a great writer either and is a bit too ‘nice’ for a journalist.
Would love to hear from the fans of it like TASE et al why they actually like it?
Class is permanent, the man has a gift
Eoghan Harris: Moby Dick prefers those Celtic Tories to Celtic Trots
Sunday February 06 2011
Last Tuesday, La Feile Bride, St Brigid’s Day. The day a decent politician like Brian Cowen bowed out. The day decent local politicians, who had done no wrong, braced themselves for three weeks of abuse. The day Eamon Dunphy and the spoofers of Democracy Now were found out.
As I have done in every General Election since 1989, I am going to vote for the Old Guard. For the best candidates I can find in the two centrist parties of Fine Gael and Fianna Fail. After that – and because I think any Taoiseach takes on a heavy burden – I will give critical support to Enda Kenny in his coming battle with the recession, just as I did to John Bruton and Bertie Ahern in their battle for peace.
In sum, I am going to support the status quo. That is not because I am a fat cat. Until my short stint in the Seanad, I never earned in excess of €50,000 per annum after tax. Like most in the private sector I do not have a plum pension. I will have to go on working until I drop.
But like most of my Sixties generation, I never wanted to be wealthy. All I wanted was to change the world. So I signed up for socialism. Like all Platonic projects for a perfect society, it ended in tears. Today, I am still wary of those who want to change the world.
All the horrors of the past hundred years, two World Wars and the Holocaust, were caused by men who wanted to change the world. Those who just wanted to cultivate their gardens gave little grief. But they still paid the price for the political fantasies of fascists and communists.
True, I want a little more from society than gardening or golf. But I do not believe I will get it from Eamon Gilmore. The Irish Labour Party is largely a party of middle-class luvvies in protected employment. It is not likely to look after the million workers of the private sector whose labours can alone lift us to the light.
Although I would make an exception for Ruairi Quinn and Sean Sherlock, I believe the Labour Party lacks the true grit to act with good authority. I believe it cannot be relied on as a part of a stable Rainbow. I believe it will cut and run when the second phase of austerity arrives and it is required to act with good authority.
The Labour Party is no longer led by political giants like Frank Cluskey, Michael O’Leary or Conor Cruise O’Brien. It is led by luvvies who failed to act with good authority during the crisis in socialism in the Eighties. And I speak from experience.
Back in 1988 I wrote a pamphlet called the Necessity of Social Democracy, which correctly predicted the permanent demise of soviet style socialism. The Workers Party suppressed it for a year. When Eamon Smullen finally published the pamphlet he was forced out of the party, by those I called the Student Princes, who are now prominent in the Labour Party.
This episode opened my eyes to the essential flaw in socialism. A refusal to act with good authority by telling your supporters their sacred cow is just bull. This moral flabbiness is marked by middle-class socialists who subscribe to the soft-option stream in socialism called Trotskyism.
Trotskyites refuse responsibility. This trait goes back to Leon Trotsky and the early days of the Bolshevik struggle. In 1918, the infant Bolshevik Republic badly needed breathing space. Lenin sent Trotsky to Brest-Litovsk to sign a peace treaty with the Germans, trading territory for time.
Rather than act with good authority, Trotsky returned to Moscow with a new slogan which made him madly popular: “Neither Peace Nor War.” Lenin coldly pointed out he wanted a peace, not a slogan, and sent him back to sign the Treaty of Brest Litovsk on March 3, 1918.
That slogan, “neither peace nor war”, sums up the Trotskyite legacy of trying to have it both ways. It lurks in the left of every Labour party. But as the Northern peace process proves, you can only serve the common good by slaying the sacred cows of your own supporters. As in amending Articles 2 and 3.
Last Tuesday when Gilmore trotted (sorry) out the charge of “Celtic Toryism” I felt a dull weariness numb my bones. Given a choice between Celtic Tories and Celtic Trots I will choose the Blueshirts without a blink. That’s the great blessing of no longer being a liberal leftie. I don’t have to subscribe to shibboleths of any sort.
So I did not share the studenty delusion that well-paid pontificators like Fintan O’Toole and Eamon Dunphy were likely to give up their cushy numbers (more than €300,000 in Dunphy’s case) and take the dogs abuse that is the daily lot of decent politicians who bear no responsibility for this recession, and who canvass with cold courage.
People who pontificate about what’s wrong, but fade away when asked to fix it, are a pain in the ass. Or in my terms, there is a touch of the Trot in them. This was particularly true of Fintan O’Toole and Eamon Dunphy’s stillborn Spoofers Party, aka Democracy Now, aka Gone Baby Gone.
Last weekend, Fintan O’Toole, who increasingly has followers rather than readers, told his Irish Times flock why he was reluctantly refusing the poisoned chalice of politics. The almost innocent vanity, and not so innocent social signalling, of his apologia is caught perfectly by the opening paragraph.
“Just after New Year, I was sitting outside the dressing room in Marks & Spencer in Dublin while my son was trying on some clothes from the sale. It is not a conspicuous spot, yet, over the course of a few minutes, three different people – nice, sensible people at that – approached me, asked me to run for the Dail, and promised me their support.”
Like you, I noted Fintan letting us note he buys clothes “from the sale”. Like you I was struck by the symmetry of him being accosted by three people, not two or four. He was lucky he didn’t encounter Eamon Dunphy in his three disguises: careless driver, careful coker, sublime spoofer.
Dr Elaine Byrne called Dunphy and O’Toole to account on The Eleventh Hour. In passing I noted that Keelin Shanley, its sharp and attractive presenter, would be a perfect moderator for the general election debates in two years’ time. That’s after Labour has cut and run and Fine Gael and Fianna Fail are forced to do a deal for the sake of the country.
Take my advice. Put No 1 firmly beside the names of those who enlisted under Enda Kenny, and who showed true grit. Give a second preference to the brave politicians of Micheal Martin’s Fianna Fail. They may not be able to spoof like Dunphy and O’Toole, but at least, as Johnny Cash says, they walk the line.
The implication here being that he ended the cold war
He must be some useless cunt in salary negotiations if he never earned more than 50k per annum. I’d say Damien Lawlor or any of the common or garden sports lads is on at least that.
I’d say it’s more likely he’s lying.