🏈 Super Bowl XLVIII- The Path to Meadowlands

The familiar sting of playoff defeat returns.

A fantastic first season by Mike McCoy, something real positive to build upon. Great to get a playoff win and show that we have the bones of a real good team. The secondary desperately needs to be addressed in the draft, as does the O-Line again and the pass rush. Next year could be a bit of the same from 2013, as the cap situation isn’t great so it’s key we get value and don’t go backwards. Malcolm Floyd and Danario Alexander will be healthy next year, going along with Allen, Gates and Green to give Philip plenty to work with. Weddle, Reyes, Liuget, Freeney, Te’o, Butler and Ingram is a great spine on D, depth and explosiveness is what is required. Still a few years from being a SB contender, but at least the future outlook isn’t as bad as it was after last season.

Congrats to @croppy_boy[/USER], the Broncos were far superior and deserved to win. Commiserations to @[USER=519]Watchyourtoes too, I would have much rather seen you get the payout than for us to get close but lose in the end.

[quote=“maroonandwhite, post: 886685, member: 1406”]I understand it but that strategy never really worked. Ye were desperately unlucky, should have been a pick to stop the first td, novak slipping, denvers fg dubious, matthews crocked and then a horrendously bad pass interference call when the ball was no where near catchable, then back ups blowing coverage. Hard luck pal, if its any consolation put Alexander and Clary back in there and ye will take stopping.

Can someone make contact with @Watchyourtoes the poor cunt[/quote]

The interference call was for earlier in the play. I think you’re getting confused, as I did, with the incidental trip at the end of the play. That was why they spotted it back on the 45 and not on the 33 where the ball flew way over Welker’s heard.

There was another interference call further back on the play as well and that one was decline.

Hardly unlucky.

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 886687, member: 306”]The interference call was for earlier in the play. I think you’re getting confused, as I did, with the incidental trip at the end of the play. That was why they spotted it back on the 45 and not on the 33 where the ball flew way over Welker’s heard.

There was another interference call further back on the play as well and that one was decline.

Hardly unlucky.[/quote]

No the other call was a holding call. The interference call was bogey as the ball was clearly uncatchable by the receiver it was called on

Either way the point remains that it was a penalty anyhow.

Yes but as it wasnt pass interference it was just illegal contact which made it a 5 yard penalty only, the same as if it was a holding penalty and would not have given the broncos a first down, it was third down and 7 remember so it changed the game completely.

You are seriously grasping at straws here, he was hindered earlier in the play and it affected his ability to make the play. That’s as clear as day.

:rolleyes: did i deny he was? You haven’t the first clue of the rules of the game so this is a fairly pointless debate, go back and read my last post ten times and it might eventually sink in. Just to clarify as you dont realise it, it wasn’t a catchable ball for him so it wasn’t pass interference. But you already admitted as much above and talked about the ‘other pass interference’ which was in fact a holding penalty.

Shocking by Manning and the Bronco’s, I fully expect the Patriots to beat them by 7. Seahawks will tear the over-rated 49ers a new one.

[quote=“Watchyourtoes, post: 886613, member: 519”]If Rivers wakes up and they abandon the run game this could turn sour very fast.[/quote] Gutted,could see it coming with that fuck up at HT,from there on everything from the onside kick to the huge gain on 4th and 5 for chargers to the final take a knee on the 30 yard line.Denver have cost me over 8 grand in total on 2 occasions being the last leg of an accum since halloween but that’s gambling,still hurts though!

But defensive holding or illegal contact are automatic first downs.

Around 4:15 - for future reference. The contact clearly inhibited Welker in his route running - great call by the umpires. http://www.nfl.com/videos/denver-broncos/0ap2000000312637/GameDay-Chargers-vs-Broncos-highlights

Look if your still calling the Broncos lucky after the season they’ve just had -and considering that they’ve lost Miller and Clady to injury - you’re clearly blind to actual footballing prowess.

[quote=“Bandage, post: 886649, member: 9”]I love Keenan Allen. :clap:

See Welker dropping a catch a while back that was a near replica of a crucial one he dropped in a Super Bowl. That guy’s a little bitch.[/quote]

If manning throws a pass and a receiver doesnt catch it, it’s underthrown. If Brady throws a pass and it’s not caught it’s “dropped”

Should be some good tv next weekend. Niners v. Seattle will be a battle…smash mouth football…

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 886709, member: 306”]Around 4:15 - for future reference. The contact clearly inhibited Welker in his route running - great call by the umpires. http://www.nfl.com/videos/denver-broncos/0ap2000000312637/GameDay-Chargers-vs-Broncos-highlights

Look if your still calling the Broncos lucky after the season they’ve just had -and considering that they’ve lost Miller and Clady to injury - you’re clearly blind to actual footballing prowess.[/quote]

The two of ye would want to cop on questioning@maroonandwhite.

What that man doesnt know about gridiron isnt worth knowing.

The patriots v 49ers for the Super Bowl?

No matter what pairing we get now the final should be a cracker,the four best teams all year have made it to the business end!

[quote=“briantinnion, post: 886583, member: 6”]Only seeing this now. Nice touch from a horrible organization:

http://m.nydailynews.com/life-style/health/boy-dies-captain-patriots-game-article-1.1576856[/quote]

yeah posted as much before the game on Saturday. the documentary and the video of him visiting with the Pats are both sad and inspiring really.

What a season, and what a team… Year after year the Patriots, with shite draft order, just keep getting it done where others have to take a few years out to use the draft, not wiley old Bill tho…

This season has to be his greatest- All top 6 receiving targets from last year gone (Tho Gronk was back for a spell), rookies filling the void ,losing defender after defender week on week- two of them defensive captains, our QB is now holding for field goals, our kicker punts, we have a 240lb RB returning punts- The same guy was shown the door at TB and Bill has made him a diamond… The last play win over the saints, the come back against Denver…

Bill and Tom, America’s dream team.

True, my bad, I got caught up in the fact it wasn’t pass interference

[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 886716, member: 348”]The two of ye would want to cop on questioning@maroonandwhite.

What that man doesnt know about gridiron isnt worth knowing.[/quote]

What you don’t pass off from twitter on here as your own opinion isn’t worth retweeting