Swimmix

Achill Island swim today.

I’d say that’s an unreal house to live in for about 30 days of the year

No sign of Saoirse McHugh. Ming won’t be happy

Anyone still at this craic? I went yesterday and it was fucking freezing. Great waves and a good undertow but as cold as it’s been. We lasted 5 mins.

Prom in Galway is blocked off again.
Anyhow fiachra doesn’t really like it that cold.

Way too cold at the moment - no fun. Was at bull wall on NYD but parking it till temperatures increase a bit.

How long do people get in for at this time of year

You’d need two dryrobes on in this weather

Herself has been in the last four days, but same as that, said yesterday was baltic altogether

If you can stay in for three minutes you go numb and feel great. You can then stay in for about 15, but need to be careful as you get bone deep cold.
I can’t put my head in the water at all, so can’t swim properly.
It’s not for the faint hearted.

Minus 7 tonight, it will sort the men from the boys.

Somewhere in Ireland may get to -7 but more generally it’s more like -2 or -3.

A few Headers in today; fair fucks to them :cold_face:

Hardy fuckers. Was out on the bike this morning and it was baltic was thinking that only crazy fuckers would get in swimming in the sea today.

Fuckit lads. Someone has to check…

Sea temp isn’t really changed that much by cold weather imho. It’s actually nicer in some ways. The cold weather just takes away any desire you have to go in.

It wasnt as bad today alright. Actually quite a fine day out there now.

I was in for just over 5 mins lads. I changed standing on a hot water bottle. I went home with the hot water bottle inside my clothes. I came straight in and had 2 (two) bowls of lamb stew wearing my coat and hat and had my feet on a hot water bottle. I’m still freezing. Sitting at the kitchen table with my hood up drinking another cup of tea.
I presume it’s just cold Turkey from dry January setting in…

Or idiocy :grimacing:

Mrs. Fran was in today and said it was grand, I’d say you’re fucked