Lads I know Bandage is an accountant so maybe the rest of you are too.
Rent relief, how does this work, what is it worth, if I am paying 1600 a month rent what releif do I get? I cant figure it out on my own
Lads I know Bandage is an accountant so maybe the rest of you are too.
Rent relief, how does this work, what is it worth, if I am paying 1600 a month rent what releif do I get? I cant figure it out on my own
To be honest, I actually don’t know dan. I posted about this about a month back and mentioned how I was determined to set aside some time and fill out all the various forms but I haven’t bothered yet. I’m working in a non-accountant type role for the last while and I’m not up to date on what we’re entitled to any more.
I’m moving out of the nest soon so I’ll be looking into this. Or is it for culchies-only?
Surely you’re you not one of those freaks who’s still living at home?
what kind of rent relief is it dan? the only one I know of is where you have to get the landlords PPS number and you get €254 per year in relief. This can be backdated too, so can get a nice cheque if you have been renting for a while.
revenue.ie gents. Put rent into the search engine and see what comes up. And don’t mind if the Landlord says your not intitled because you are. You’ll get some nice wedge out of it.
You also used to be entitled to this if you were living at home and paid rent to your folks who don’t pay income tax on the rental income by availing of the rent a room scheme. I have a feeling that changed in the last budget but I’m not 100% sure on that. Also by backdating you should be able to get a few quid.
[quote=“dancarter”]Lads I know Bandage is an accountant so maybe the rest of you are too.
Rent relief, how does this work, what is it worth, if I am paying 1600 a month rent what releif do I get? I cant figure it out on my own[/quote]
The max relief for 2008 is 2000 x 20% = 400.
2007 was 1800 x 20% = 360
2006 was 1650 x 20% = 330.
In the tax years before then it was a flat 254 or 300 as I recall (provided you paid more than that amount in the tax year).
Think you reclaim it on Form Rent 1 or something like that.
Although it’s a bit trickier if your landlord is non-resident.
How far back can you back date if Gman?
Think it’s only 3 years. But wouldn’t swear to that.
4 years backdated rings a bell but not definite on that either.
Pretty sure it’s 4 years back you can go.
Also you can still claim back without knowing all your landlord’s details. If you state that you don’t know all the details they’ll still pay you.
[quote=“therock67”]Pretty sure it’s 4 years back you can go.
Also you can still claim back without knowing all your landlord’s details. If you state that you don’t know all the details they’ll still pay you.[/quote]
didnt realise that. I generally thought that the relief was brought in more so to catch dodgy landlords who werent putting their properties through rental tax. As 21 per month isnt a whole lot to be getting back on tax. I had one landlord who wouldnt give me his PPs number, so I said grand, as long as he dropped the rent by 50 per month for each of us we’d say nothing. I still have the tax relief on my income, but I think its still for the place I lived in Dublin, dont remember filling out the forms for the place I’m renting now.
[quote=“dancarter”]Lads I know Bandage is an accountant so maybe the rest of you are too.
Rent relief, how does this work, what is it worth, if I am paying 1600 a month rent what releif do I get? I cant figure it out on my own[/quote]
you’d need a fair bit of relief to make paying 1600 a month seem like good value (unless you happened to be paying rent for a wife and 4 kids aswell of course)
The missus is at the end of her maternity leave but is going to take a few months unpaid leave. Can I transfer over her tax credits?
If you are jointly assessed you can apply for something at the end of the year to get it balanced out. I can’t remember the name of the form.
P21 balancing statement would sort it.
Might be a P21 balancing statement
Actually it’s a P21 balancing statement
Just make sure ye are properly set up on the revenue site as married. You need to link your revenue account to hers. I always assumed I had done it but myself and wife got the guts of 8k back there recently as I hadn’t done it properly and it was backdated 4 years.