It is always terrible hearing of someone losing their life playing sport.
RIP.
It is always terrible hearing of someone losing their life playing sport.
RIP.
Horrible news and a tragedy for all concerned. Not much else you can say really. Just a horrible freak accident.
Awful news.
I have no interest or knowledge of Cricket lads, would a “bouncer” be a common thing?
Yes, pal, but primarily in test match cricket though. The 50 overs per side one day international games have limits on the amount of bouncers allowed to be bowled as the rules are set to favour the batsmen - big shots, high scores, perceived more entertainment.
But the real test is the 5-day game where bowlers can test the batsmen every which way. He might have a technical glitch/weakness that can be exposed by a certain type of delivery but, if the pitch itself is fast and/or hard and the bowler can bowl with pace, they can make it a physical battle too and a test of bravery.
90mph balls rearing up off the pitch and heading straight for your throat, head or whatever. Batsmen can be out trying to fend to ball away - simply spooning it up in the air with bat or glove to be caught close in - or they can actually take on the challenge and try to go for a big shot themselves - a big hook or pull shot usually where they connect as the ball is right in front of their head - and they often get boundaries or can be caught way out deep near the boundary.
Watching a great fast bowler in battle with a supreme batsman can be fantastic viewing. It’s a mixture of outright skill/talent, strategy, patience, determination, bravery etc. It’s one of the reasons why I scoff at tards who give it the “cricket is shit and boring and nothing happens” talk.
Phil Hughes was an aggressive batsman who could play shots all around the wicket but his weakness was dealing with the short pitched ball or “bouncer” as you called it that came up at his head. I was actually reading posts earlier from back on page 10 of this thread before the 2009 Ashes where we were discussing his struggles with the short ball. He went to play a big shot the other day, missed and took the full force of the ball in his head. It seems surreal that it killed him.
good post Bandage
the highlight of my life to date is watching a fearsome english batsman shitting himself as Mitchell Johnson is running up for a bouncer- its a joy to behold
Fuck off with your cricket shite clogging up the board.
this could have happened in hurling until thankfully that Nash lad was stopped with his penaltys
A shocking death but if they had have learned from jardine, larwood and bodyline then we mightnt be at this sad juncture
The West Indies took it to a new level though in the 70s and 80’s.
[QUOTE=“Colin Montgomerie, post: 1050339, member: 9”]Yes, pal, but primarily in test match cricket though. The 50 overs per side one day international games have limits on the amount of bouncers allowed to be bowled as the rules are set to favour the batsmen - big shots, high scores, perceived more entertainment.
But the real test is the 5-day game where bowlers can test the batsmen every which way. He might have a technical glitch/weakness that can be exposed by a certain type of delivery but, if the pitch itself is fast and/or hard and the bowler can bowl with pace, they can make it a physical battle too and a test of bravery.
90mph balls rearing up off the pitch and heading straight for your throat, head or whatever. Batsmen can be out trying to fend to ball away - simply spooning it up in the air with bat or glove to be caught close in - or they can actually take on the challenge and try to go for a big shot themselves - a big hook or pull shot usually where they connect as the ball is right in front of their head - and they often get boundaries or can be caught way out deep near the boundary.
Watching a great fast bowler in battle with a supreme batsman can be fantastic viewing. It’s a mixture of outright skill/talent, strategy, patience, determination, bravery etc. It’s one of the reasons why I scoff at tards who give it the “cricket is shit and boring and nothing happens” talk.
Phil Hughes was an aggressive batsman who could play shots all around the wicket but his weakness was dealing with the short pitched ball or “bouncer” as you called it that came up at his head. I was actually reading posts earlier from back on page 10 of this thread before the 2009 Ashes where we were discussing his struggles with the short ball. He went to play a big shot the other day, missed and took the full force of the ball in his head. It seems surreal that it killed him.[/QUOTE]
Great post. I really hope there isn’t a reaction to this in terms of trying to get rid of bouncers from the game. A great fast bowler going at a batsman in every way possible is one of my favourite things to watch in all of sport. Those Johnson spells in the last Ashes were incredible to watch. The times when a batsman wins the battle, like KP at Headingley against the Saffers, can be equally exhilarating.
I think Hughes had improved his technique against the short ball for what it’s worth. It cost him his place in the team in 2009, but I can’t remember him having a problem with it after he made his way back in. Second time around, he kept fishing outside off. Third time, he just couldn’t play spin in India last year. He was through the shot early in this most awful case, not pinned back by pace or anything.
A horrendous tragedy, may he rest in peace.
Its an awful tragedy. He’s probably been one of the most discussed cricketers on here over the years, the various technical glitches in his game. Terrible that the type of delivery that caused him problems over the years and lost him his wicket a few times lost him his life. He seemed like a decent fellow.
I haven’t seen the delivery from Sean Abbott that felled him and I don’t intend looking at it either. Speaking of the WIndies, can’t help thinking of Malcolm Marshall’s delivery to Andy Lloyd at Edgbaston in 1984, which ended Lloyd’s career on his test debut and could well have ended his life too. That one incident more than any other led the drive for full protective helmets and headgear.
From the SMH:
"Details were released yesterday about the exact cause of death for Hughes. Cricket Australia team doctor Peter Bruckner described Hughes’ death as a “freakish accident because it was an injury to the neck that caused a haemorrhage in the brain”.
The blow caused Hughes’ vertebral artery, one of the main arteries leading to the brain, to compress. That caused the artery to split and Hughes experienced a “massive bleed into his brain”.
“The condition is incredibly rare. It’s called vertebral artery dissection leading to subarachnoid haemorrhage, if you look in the literature there are only about 100 cases ever reported,” an emotional Dr Brukner said yesterday. SMH journalist Melanie Kembrey has more on the announcement "here.
It’s basically a completely freakish accident. The fact that it happened to a well known, immensely likeable, young player on the verge of a test recall has intensified the grief. I don’t think there is any appetite for a discussion on banning short pitched deliveries, not should there be.
The current round of shield games has been cancelled. Our U13’s will be wearing black armbands tomorrow morning. The first test next week at the Gabba is yet to be decided. Personally, I think it should be cancelled, but a decision will be made by authorities in the next few days once the players have gotten over the initial shock.
I must say, I have been very impressed with Michael Clarke this week.
An Israeli cricket umpire has died after being hit by a ball during a league match in the city of Ashdod, the Israel Cricket Association has announced.
Former national team captain Hillel Oscar was officiating in the game between Young Ashdod and Super Lions Lod when he was struck below the jaw by a ball hit by a batsman.
The incident comes just two days after the death of Australia Test player Phillip Hughes, who also suffered fatal injuries after being hit by a bouncer bowled during a Sheffield Shield match.
In a statement on Facebook, Israel Cricket Association said: "Today, another cricketing tragedy has taken the life of our very own Hillel Oscar, the former Israeli cricket captain.
“All of the Israel cricket family is in deep mourning at his passing. Our thoughts and prayers are with Hillel’s family.”
ICA chief executive Naor Gudker added: “The entire Israel Cricket Association and players bow their heads in his memory. He was a wonderful man, cricketer, and umpire.”
You’d have to be pissed off if you died like that in Israel.
Rescheduled first Test starting in Adelaide at midnight. Australia won the toss and will bat. Clarke’s voice still getting a bit emotional in the middle. Fairly clunky questions from Mark Nicholas I thought, at one point seeming to suggest that Australia had benefited from the delay in terms of getting players fit (true, but hardly the place to be saying it).
Mitch Marsh batting at six, otherwise the team that won the Ashes if I have it right. A lot will rest on Ishant’s shoulders for India’s attack, Bhuveneshwar out injured. Dhoni is out, so Kholi captaining. Could be a long couple of days for them if this is a typical Adelaide track (I know it’s a drop in now, but groundsman is promising a traditional Adelaide pitch). Hard to know if the Aussie batsmen will be ready/able to dig in for a long innings in the circumstances though I’d suppose.
Fuck it but those uncouth Aussie Rules cunts have ruined the Adelaide Oval.
Lot of unfamiliar names in that Indian line up. India have reverted to type last 3-4 years and have been utter muck outside of the sub-continent. Australia were humiliated in both tests by Pakistan but on home soil against such flaky opposition, they should win the series handily enough.
Yeah, hard to see otherwise. That Karn Sharma is a leggie apparently, always the possibility that anything can happen there.
I think that was handled well. A nice understated tribute read out by probably the biggest (living) legend of Australian cricket, followed by 63 seconds of applause.