TFK Astro Season 2011/11

The new season starts on Thursday 7th April.

The squad is not yet finalised but so far I can confirm the following:

The Croppy today put pen to paper on a 6 month contract to wear the famous green and white. The Croppy brings a wealth of experience and a poor disciplinary record to the table but he has assured management that his rogue days are behind him now he’s a family man.

We are still actively scouring the transfer market for players. Stevie G’s contract won’t be renewed and a difficult decision was taken last week not to offer Fish an extension to his original 6 month contract. Both players gave their all for TFK when fit but the time had come to move on and we wish them both every good wish in the future.

More controversial is the decision not to offer Monkey Allen a new deal. We received a modest offer from some backward bogtrotters in the Sunny South East and while there may be a time when Monkey rediscovers his touch it wasn’t fair to the player or the club to persist with a relationship that wasn’t working out. Monkey knows his level, now he knows the level he must get to if he’s to wear the green and white again. The door isn’t locked forever but it’s firmly shut for the time being.

Finally there has been plenty of speculation around the possible signing of Fran. I can’t be too equivocal here but I can confirm that the club have not reached an agreement with the player and believe his wage demands to be excessive. We don’t discuss individual player contracts or the amounts involved but Fran was seeking wages on a par with what stalwarts like Ledge and Arshavin23 earned in the past. The two parties are a million miles apart and while we may come knocking again I can confirm he won’t be signed for next season unless something is worked out in the mid-summer transfer window.

I’d be interested to see how The Croppy and cesc4 get on.

:unsure:

It’s a real pity our respective representatives could come to an agreement on a deal. I thoroughly enjoyed my recent loan spell with TFK and while financial matters should not ideally create a stumbling block, the career of an Astro-league footballer is shortlived and I need to ensure a stable future for my family and agent. For the time being I will continue to ply my trade in Monday night 11-a-side Astro. I have to trust my agent and believe that I haven’t blown my chance at the big time.

Best of luck to TFK for the forthcoming season

The manager is putting himself under a lot of pressure here, dumping three members of the most succesful TFK team ever (21 wins out of 22) and then failing to secure one of the targetted replacements.

The TFK fans have not only become accustomed to winning but doing so in style. Therefore, if the team does not match the 63 points and goal average of 7.5 per game for this season, then Rocko’s gamble may lead to him losing his job and his place on the team (I doubt any other manager would pick him).

I realise there is concern over the composition of the squad for next season but rest assured I’m working hard on a marquee signing. To avoid later disappointment I should confirm now that the player I’m negotiating with is not Tinnion but he does have a history with TFK.

Meanwhile the chasm with Fran grew even wider today when we couldn’t even agree terms on a pre-season training camp we have scheduled for tomorrow. In the unlikely event of that training camp going well then we will be re-marketing it as a tournament.

We need to pull something out of the fire here.

After my storming US astro debut last week there’s some rumors going around that I’ll be coming back but I just want to go on the record and state that this is not the case.

Yes I will be training with the squad in early May but it’s merely to keep fit in during the break in US season and I’m grateful for Rocko allowing me to use the site’s facilities.

Sensational news. :clap: :clap: :clap:

I’d also like to thank you for extending the open invite to TFK players to train with you in New York also.

I regret to inform the forum that I’ll have to take disciplinary action against one of our players who didn’t show up for the pre-season training camp this evening. I’ll consult with Bandage before announcing a punishment but that snub tonight was the height of ignorance.

Tinnion emailed me earlier in the week to make me aware of his return to competitive astro.

‘Back playing astro. Couldn’t be happier or fitter!’

Well done mate.

Opposition for season 2011/11:

Sophis
IPSI
Vasco da Wood
WTS
Murexico
Sin Nombre
Farcenal FC
The Long Balls
The Van Bommels
Zizus Disciples
Kickin the Balls

Fixtures are below. Way more 8 o’clock fixtures for us this season. They look a little odd. We only play Vasco da Wood once and Zizus Disciples once and have two idle weeks. Pitch 1 for the 1900 game seems to be unavailable after week 2 but may be just a website error.

THU APR 7 19:00 YMCA1 The Long Balls Zizus disciples
THU APR 7 19:00 YMCA2 The Van Bommels SIN NOMBRE
THU APR 7 19:00 YMCA3 WTS Vasco da Wood
THU APR 7 20:00 YMCA1 IPSI FC thefreekick.com
THU APR 7 20:00 YMCA2 Murexico Kickin the balls
THU APR 7 20:00 YMCA3 Farcenal F.C. Sophis

THU APR 14 19:00 YMCA1 Murexico Vasco da Wood
THU APR 14 19:00 YMCA2 Farcenal F.C. thefreekick.com
THU APR 14 19:00 YMCA3 IPSI FC The Long Balls
THU APR 14 20:00 YMCA1 The Van Bommels Sophis
THU APR 14 20:00 YMCA2 WTS Zizus disciples
THU APR 14 20:00 YMCA3 Kickin the balls SIN NOMBRE

THU APR 21 19:00 YMCA2 Farcenal F.C. The Long Balls
THU APR 21 19:00 YMCA3 The Van Bommels thefreekick.com
THU APR 21 20:00 YMCA1 Kickin the balls Vasco da Wood
THU APR 21 20:00 YMCA2 Sophis SIN NOMBRE
THU APR 21 20:00 YMCA3 Murexico Zizus disciples

THU APR 28 19:00 YMCA2 Kickin the balls Zizus disciples
THU APR 28 19:00 YMCA3 Sophis thefreekick.com
THU APR 28 20:00 YMCA1 Farcenal F.C. WTS
THU APR 28 20:00 YMCA2 Vasco da Wood SIN NOMBRE
THU APR 28 20:00 YMCA3 The Van Bommels The Long Balls

THU MAY 5 19:00 YMCA2 Vasco da Wood Zizus disciples
THU MAY 5 19:00 YMCA3 thefreekick.com SIN NOMBRE
THU MAY 5 20:00 YMCA1 Murexico Farcenal F.C.
THU MAY 5 20:00 YMCA2 The Van Bommels WTS
THU MAY 5 20:00 YMCA3 Kickin the balls IPSI FC

THU MAY 12 19:00 YMCA2 Sophis WTS
THU MAY 12 19:00 YMCA3 Vasco da Wood IPSI FC
THU MAY 12 20:00 YMCA1 Zizus disciples SIN NOMBRE
THU MAY 12 20:00 YMCA2 Kickin the balls Farcenal F.C.
THU MAY 12 20:00 YMCA3 thefreekick.com The Long Balls

THU MAY 19 19:00 YMCA2 Sophis Murexico
THU MAY 19 19:00 YMCA3 Zizus disciples IPSI FC
THU MAY 19 20:00 YMCA1 The Long Balls SIN NOMBRE
THU MAY 19 20:00 YMCA2 Vasco da Wood Farcenal F.C.
THU MAY 19 20:00 YMCA3 thefreekick.com WTS

THU MAY 26 19:00 YMCA2 IPSI FC SIN NOMBRE
THU MAY 26 19:00 YMCA3 Sophis Kickin the balls
THU MAY 26 20:00 YMCA1 thefreekick.com Murexico
THU MAY 26 20:00 YMCA2 Vasco da Wood The Van Bommels
THU MAY 26 20:00 YMCA3 Zizus disciples Farcenal F.C.

THU JUN 2 19:00 YMCA2 The Long Balls Murexico
THU JUN 2 19:00 YMCA3 WTS SIN NOMBRE
THU JUN 2 20:00 YMCA1 Vasco da Wood Sophis
THU JUN 2 20:00 YMCA2 Zizus disciples The Van Bommels
THU JUN 2 20:00 YMCA3 thefreekick.com Kickin the balls

THU JUN 9 19:00 YMCA2 IPSI FC The Van Bommels
THU JUN 9 19:00 YMCA3 Zizus disciples Sophis
THU JUN 9 20:00 YMCA1 WTS Murexico
THU JUN 9 20:00 YMCA2 The Long Balls Kickin the balls
THU JUN 9 20:00 YMCA3 thefreekick.com Vasco da Wood

THU JUN 16 19:00 YMCA2 WTS Kickin the balls
THU JUN 16 19:00 YMCA3 Farcenal F.C. The Van Bommels
THU JUN 16 20:00 YMCA1 IPSI FC Sophis
THU JUN 16 20:00 YMCA2 Murexico SIN NOMBRE
THU JUN 16 20:00 YMCA3 The Long Balls Vasco da Wood

THU JUN 23 19:00 YMCA2 IPSI FC thefreekick.com
THU JUN 23 19:00 YMCA3 Murexico Kickin the balls
THU JUN 23 20:00 YMCA1 The Long Balls Zizus disciples
THU JUN 23 20:00 YMCA2 Farcenal F.C. Sophis
THU JUN 23 20:00 YMCA3 The Van Bommels SIN NOMBRE

THU JUN 30 19:00 YMCA2 Kickin the balls SIN NOMBRE
THU JUN 30 19:00 YMCA3 IPSI FC The Long Balls
THU JUN 30 20:00 YMCA1 The Van Bommels Sophis
THU JUN 30 20:00 YMCA2 Farcenal F.C. thefreekick.com
THU JUN 30 20:00 YMCA3 WTS Zizus disciples

THU JUL 7 19:00 YMCA2 Farcenal F.C. The Long Balls
THU JUL 7 19:00 YMCA3 Sophis SIN NOMBRE
THU JUL 7 20:00 YMCA1 Kickin the balls Vasco da Wood
THU JUL 7 20:00 YMCA2 Murexico Zizus disciples
THU JUL 7 20:00 YMCA3 The Van Bommels thefreekick.com

THU JUL 14 19:00 YMCA2 The Van Bommels The Long Balls
THU JUL 14 19:00 YMCA3 Vasco da Wood SIN NOMBRE
THU JUL 14 20:00 YMCA1 Sophis thefreekick.com
THU JUL 14 20:00 YMCA2 Kickin the balls Zizus disciples
THU JUL 14 20:00 YMCA3 Farcenal F.C. WTS

THU JUL 21 19:00 YMCA2 Vasco da Wood Zizus disciples
THU JUL 21 19:00 YMCA3 Murexico Farcenal F.C.
THU JUL 21 20:00 YMCA1 The Van Bommels WTS
THU JUL 21 20:00 YMCA2 thefreekick.com SIN NOMBRE
THU JUL 21 20:00 YMCA3 Kickin the balls IPSI FC

THU JUL 28 19:00 YMCA2 thefreekick.com The Long Balls
THU JUL 28 19:00 YMCA3 The Van Bommels Murexico
THU JUL 28 20:00 YMCA1 Vasco da Wood IPSI FC
THU JUL 28 20:00 YMCA2 Sophis WTS
THU JUL 28 20:00 YMCA3 Kickin the balls Farcenal F.C.

THU AUG 4 19:00 YMCA2 thefreekick.com WTS
THU AUG 4 19:00 YMCA3 Zizus disciples IPSI FC
THU AUG 4 20:00 YMCA1 The Long Balls SIN NOMBRE
THU AUG 4 20:00 YMCA2 Vasco da Wood Farcenal F.C.
THU AUG 4 20:00 YMCA3 Sophis Murexico

THU AUG 11 19:00 YMCA2 IPSI FC SIN NOMBRE
THU AUG 11 19:00 YMCA3 Sophis Kickin the balls
THU AUG 11 20:00 YMCA1 Zizus disciples Farcenal F.C.
THU AUG 11 20:00 YMCA2 thefreekick.com Murexico
THU AUG 11 20:00 YMCA3 Vasco da Wood The Van Bommels

THU AUG 18 19:00 YMCA2 IPSI FC Farcenal F.C.
THU AUG 18 19:00 YMCA3 WTS SIN NOMBRE
THU AUG 18 20:00 YMCA1 thefreekick.com Kickin the balls
THU AUG 18 20:00 YMCA2 The Long Balls Murexico
THU AUG 18 20:00 YMCA3 Zizus disciples The Van Bommels

THU AUG 25 19:00 YMCA2 IPSI FC The Van Bommels
THU AUG 25 19:00 YMCA3 Zizus disciples Sophis
THU AUG 25 20:00 YMCA1 WTS Murexico
THU AUG 25 20:00 YMCA2 The Long Balls Kickin the balls
THU AUG 25 20:00 YMCA3 Farcenal F.C. SIN NOMBRE

THU SEP 1 19:00 YMCA2 Zizus disciples thefreekick.com
THU SEP 1 19:00 YMCA3 The Long Balls Vasco da Wood
THU SEP 1 20:00 YMCA1 IPSI FC Sophis
THU SEP 1 20:00 YMCA2 Farcenal F.C. The Van Bommels
THU SEP 1 20:00 YMCA3 Murexico SIN NOMBRE

On the new opponents:

Vasco da Wood had a 5th place finish in Div 16 last season. They finished with 23 points from 21 games in a division won by Drumcairn Rovers (who we met in the CL) on 57. Drumcairn beat Vasco twice (12-2 and 10-1). We’ve crossed paths with a Vasco da Gary before who were good. Not sure if there’s any affiliation.

We have prior with Murexico who had a midtable finish in some other league last season.

Don’t know anything about Zizus or Kickin the Balls.

That’s pretty shit if we’re not getting a full programme of games. They should refund some of the cost price in that case though it could be a website error, as you say.

A quick check reveals Vasco Da Wood have 18 games up there while we have 20 so I’m guessing it is a website error alright.

Preferred the consistency of 7pm kickoffs but in this economic climate the league has to do everything to maximise tv revenue I suppose.

Does Marcel still hang around for games on a Thursday as well?

Sophis

Not a bad bunch of lads. Well organised and Andy upfront knows where the goal is. We hammered them 12-2 in the first match this season and only 1-0 in the second. A potential banana skin.

IPSI

Similar to Sophis in terms of being well organised but probably a better footballing team. Cian is a decent player and need to be watched. They generally have a few young lads in for the summer, one in particular in a Cork jersey who was pretty good when we played them last summer.

Vasco da Wood

Know nothing about them.

WTS

On the current bunch of players - nothing to worry about. Incredible that they came third - they are pretty poor truth be told.

Murexico

I can recall these lads being competent enough but shouldn’t cause us any problems.

Sin Nombre

Shite. One of the worst teams in the league last year but ended up mid table somehow.

Farcenal FC

Don’t like this crowd. They have a good striker, who is a moany prick, and who we have the measure of. The rest of the team is shite and shouldn’t cause us any problems. We beat them comfortably both times last season and don’t think we conceded.

The Long Balls

Shockingly bad. A dopey angry prick up front who was just trying to get into rows. I stood in for Jugs in one such altercation.

The Van Bommels

After Google, the best team we played in last year’s league by a distance. Both scorelines flattered us and we could have conceivably lost the second match. They have a very good lad who wore a Roma jersey with Totti on the back in the last game. They also have a lot more good players and incredible to think they finished below the likes of Sin Nombre last season. A definite threat.

Zizus Disciples

Don’t know.

Kickin the Balls

Don’t know.

Maybe it’s some sort handicap that the powers that be at Astro Towers have introduced to try and knock TFK off their perch. I’ve also heard rumours of the chiefs toying with the idea of making TFK play with only 5 players

I got a scathing assessment of the TFK astro team from one of its own players today

only one player got the slightest bit of credit

Bandage is two players mate.