The advanced gardening thread

Asbestos?

Yeah, sure where’s the harm?

In the Green Party.

Isn’t the harm in working it, continuous exposure etc? I’d half a notion of replacing it…I think digging a big hole and burying the sheets is the customary method of disposal

Ive heard that alright but I’d be wary of where the water is. Best bet is to damp it down and dump it some place the council will have to get involved. A cycle lane or a halting site maybe.

Savage farmland.

Herself is half Italian from a village called arpino in the mountains not too far from Rome. She takes the snappers there every autumn to help pick the olives from the family grove. They absolutely love it. I may go myself this year. If I do, I’ll report back on all things olive.

Is it not a bit risky planting blackthorn?
My place in Galway was absolutely riddled with it. I got about half of it cleared and left the other half.
There’s sloes as big and plentiful as ever you’d see.
Iirc it spreads underground.

3 hours put down pruning, raking dead leaves, a bit of composting and general tidying up debating now whether to fire up the lawnmower

It’ll be kept in order. But check back with me in 25 years or so…anything’s possible

How much of it would you need to earn a living off?

Vegetables 70ac, Dairy about 150ac, beef or grain about 300ac.

You’ll earn your crust here lads… So the gaff hadn’t had occupants in a number of years, totally over grown etc. The landlord vulture fund won’t be looking after the maintenance, just trimmed it down from the jungle to the below.

What’s the best way to revive this? I’m not gonna turn it over and start afresh, not when it ain’t my own… Would it be worth just spreading seed on it for now and seeing where that goes over the next couple of months?

Yea, wait until March and rake the seed in when rain is due. Then once the seedlings are established use weed and feed as directed.

Would you go at it with weed killer or anything first?

How much of it are you looking at?

Scarify after the start of growing season also.

Double that patch in the pic

If you’re any bit tall gathering Olives can be tough going …

Put holes around the place?