The All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2012

Not sure thereā€™s any need for Corkā€™s carry on, seemed to start with Goulding giving it the big up to the crowd and has gone through the pitch now, even O Connor getting involved which would seem to be very out of character for him. Leaving a bad taste. These two sides are just too bloody familiar at this stage.

Carlow draw with Meath!

Carlow 1-12 Meath 1-12. A draw in Tullamore after last gasp goal from JJ Smith.

Thats Carlow, who had 2 men sent off, who only had London and Kilkenny below them in the NFL 4 this year :lol:

The two boys talking some shite here, terminal decline, are you kidding me? Overreact much?

What kind of crowd do ye reckon will be at the Munster football final ?

Cork vs Clare in the Gaelic Groundsā€¦lucky to get 10,000 Iā€™d say

Lovely finish by Aidan Forker :clap:

Armagh lead 1-1 to 0-2

This is a very entertaining game so far. Tyrone kicking lovely points but Armagh are looking very dangerous anytime they deliver direct ball to the full forward line.

This game has started at a great pace, incredibly open for an Ulster Cship clash.

[quote=ā€œthedancingbaby, post: 675250ā€]What kind of crowd do ye reckon will be at the Munster football final ?

Cork vs Clare in the Gaelic Groundsā€¦lucky to get 10,000 Iā€™d say[/quote]

If Cork beat Tipp in the hurling it wonā€™t be half that. Will be a very small Cork crowd regardless. Likewise if Clare get to the hurling final then they wonā€™t travel in huge numbers to the football.

Lucky enough to win that despite the scoreline, Kerry should have had three goals in the first half. Thought our half-backs got destroyed in the opening 35 minutes but we were a lot better in the second half. Winning whilst playing poorly, canā€™t complain.

FAO Totti

Armagh 1-05 Tyrone 0-11

FAO Wexicans

Wexford 1-4 Longford 0-8. Lā€™ford hit final 3 points to lead by one at the break.

Iā€™ve been able to catch some of this with the break in play in the tennis, I think weā€™re playing well but the wonderful Tyrone under the greatest GAA manager of all time are extremely organised defensively. Losing Aaron Kernan would be a big blow.

Very thoughtful analysis there Totti. Thereā€™s goals in Armagh, but Tyrone scoring points at will. More of the same again in the second and this game will struggle to be matched this season. Armagh are starting to develop some decent players but lack a bit still defensively. I think when McGeeney takes charge up there in the next year or so he will drive them on quite significantly.

What the hell is going on with the sound on RTE?

Full times

Tyrone 0-19 Armagh 1-13
Wexford 1-13 Longford 0-15

A very enjoyable game up North it has to be said

My thoughts on yesterdayā€™s game. Cork will be generally happy for following reasons;

• they beat Kerry, the last 2 times cork either should have won or under performed for long periods against mediocre Kerry performances. This was a mediocre to at times dreadful performance and cork should have won by more but probably best they didnā€™t.
  • Ciaran Sheehan and Daniel goulding returning and showing some firm, the Eire Og lads are massively important to cork.
  • form and fitness of Graham canty. Allied to good form from both half backs, although I still have my doubts about that line in croke park later in year.
  • shields and cadogan, footballers and warriors, they are superb back there. Cardigan should pack in the hurling when the time comes.
  • a very solid midfield
  • Kerrigan and donnacha in real form, Kerrigan is now a marque player.
  • barry o Driscoll getting game time, a real potential star.
  • nick Murphy causing real trouble around the square, I hope carrigaline donā€™t use him there next Saturday night against our lads at home. Also insuring Aidan Walsh is left develop as a centre fielder.

Minuses for Cork

• Colm o neill being hit and miss.
  • kick outs and breaking ball went to shit for 15 mins and and left Kerry back into it.
  • no goal
  • still a hint of a lack of killer instinct
  • ray Carey still getting roasted at times.

For Kerry the only positive is itā€™s still early enough in the year and they will improve and one would assume Bryan Sheehan will be back and add 2-3 points and deliver better ball into the forwards. Johnny Buckley and o donoghue showed very well and earned their shot at starting. I have massive time for Buckley and he will cause cork pain in the future. He is a ready made IC midfielder, made in cork ironically enough and honed by 2 corkmen. Another ucc man Crowley also showed well but also took a burning.

Negatives for Kerry.

• bar 15-20 mins max they were dominated by cork who were comfortable most of the time. A bit might be made of goal chances but I felt none of them were easy and were very well defended.
  • they trained harder than ever pre season this year apparently and targeted this game, thatā€™s very worrying for Kerry if true ( and I believe it is). They ate not at the same collective level of fitness as the other top teams, itā€™s painfully obvious now.
  • midfield is crap without Sheehan and that says it all. Maher is not up to it, at all. I still believe sheehans ease on the ee covers up alot of basic cracks in his armor. Buckley could and should sort a good chunk of this issue though.
  • when GAlvin is tagged like yesterday he is not as affective, itā€™s going to be every teams policy now.
  • Donaghy canā€™t beat canty and has regressed as a player. I wonder does less time spent playing basketball have anything to do with it.
  • ye heard it before but Iā€™ll say it again, Tomas looks great going forward but he doesnā€™t defend at all now, lives off loose ball. Looked in good nick alright but his legs are struggling.
  • Aidan o Mahoney
  • poor decision making of the forwards and the inability to make space for gooch who had to work very hard for what he got.

Overall an average game with plenty of room for improvement from both teams. From a cork point of view youā€™d have to be happy and a very strong squad with a slightly more rounded game seems to be evolving. I wonder though will a higher pressure game from the du s or Kildare cause them to revert to type a bit, that remains to be seen.

Good analysis with a few inaccuracies as usual! (they didnt train pre season)

Cork the better team yesterday and will improve as the returning players sharpen.

Kerry need a re haul playing wise. Matchs up did not work and are playing too defensively. We will see where the qualifiers take us.
If Kerry dont put ball into the forward line it makes it easier for the other teams defense. Kerry half forward line poor in a line that should have targeted for gains. It will be interesting to see how Kerrys half forward line Corks half back line evolve as the year goes on. Galvin well off it as is Donaghy not sure if they should be making the team from now on.

Kev
Johnny Buckley was made in Cork? Good one!
Am surprised you didnt comment on the current training arrangments!!

They openly admitted to training harder than ever and specifically mentioned winning munster, jack o Connor said this. The Kerry players were training pre pre-season, certainly in small groups.

Buckley has been honed into a better footballer by Billy Morgan and Kevin Murray at UCC, thatā€™s what I was referring to, itā€™s so easy to wind up Kerry lads the day after a loss, I got 5 years great training in school for that. ī—

They trained hard but they didnt train pre season! Besides its their current training I find noteworthy. They wanted to win Munster but that should be obvious: Clare or 3 qualifiers to get to a quarter final.

Your point re Buckley is clearer but he was a good footballer to begin with: Al u21 medal while still in school etc.

Iā€™d say you had 5 years great training considering the school you went to!

It will be interesting to see what happens if Kerry and Cork meet again.

Itā€™s more the time I went to school, Kerry were shit then, was great to go in after they lost.

Of course Buckley was already a very good footballer, but his development thru Sigerson has been significant.

Even Kerry canā€™t keep producing these amazing footballers for all the positions needed all the time. If you are to look at the list o players either gone in last 3 years or definitely past their best they are simply irreplaceable. I believe the natural losses would have been manageable (Daragh, mike Mac, Tom Sullivan etc) due to age but they are really being hurt by Tommy walshes loss to afl and david Moranā€™s bad luck and thus stunted development. Those 2 fit and healthy in Ireland and I wouldnā€™t be writing Kerry off. But I am, and if they meet this cork team again in Dublin the margin will be even wider, Iā€™d be pretty confident f that.

Anyone got thoughts on Tyrone ? Sounds like a good game And they beat a decent team after losing half a team if all stars in recent times, Iā€™m impressed with the result and the scoring, have not seen any of it though.

What about kerrys present training horse?

Weā€™ll see what happens if we meet in Croke Park. I cant really see Cork being troubled outside of Dublin or maybe Kerry. Kerry may not make it that far. I think Kerry would trouble Cork more than Donegal or Kildare etc. Cantys pace could be an issue depending on who they play. But Cork will have too much power for most teams.