The Scream by Edvard Munch sold for 119 million dollars at auction last night.
119 million dollars.
The Scream by Edvard Munch sold for 119 million dollars at auction last night.
119 million dollars.
There are 3 other versions of the Scream painted by Munch in galleries in Oslo.
One was stolen a few years ago wasnât it?
Itâs a sad day for Norway that theyâre selling off their iconic paintings for bricks and mortar, even though they do have other versions of it. Saw them all in Oslo a few years ago and I didnât think there was anything wrong with the gallery they were in, it was quite adequate. Surely there were other ways of raising funds? Slightly different but Iâd be disgusted if we sold off our Vermeer to fix the roof in the National Gallery.
I loathe that painting, 119 million squids, FFS.
A Francis Bacon once went for $86 mil, one of his triptychs, couldnât believe that. Picasso goes well:
Rothkoâs âOrange, Red, Yellowâ sold for a record $86.9 million dollars last night.
http://www.angel-art-house.com/upload/ProductImg/RTK67 Orange, Red, Yellow 1956.jpeg
Art critics are retards. Artists spend there time getting blotto and laughing at th critics. âRight lads who can paint the biggest pile of shite possible and talk these simpletons into thinking itâs megaâ.
Great value. I love Rothkoâs work. I especially like No.10
I believe there was something on Today FM news this morning about a child being the next big thing of the art world. Time to get those young unâs earning their keep rint.
Have since found this.
This is the 5 year old in question and her work http://www.aelitaandreart.com/aelitaandreart.com/Home.html
That is fucking ridiculous in the extreme. The Art world is a fucking joke.
You just donât get it RTT.
Youâre right Fagan, the sad thing is though I probably âget itâ as much as the collecter who will shell out thousands for the work.
I doubt that RTT but whatever.
Explain how anyone can âgetâ what a 4year old is trying to convey through abstract art. If you can explain that. I will agree with you.
I didnât read the thing about the 4 yr old. I thought you were on About art in general
Art is a fool
Rint cleaning house here
You were giving out about art critics before any one mentioned the 4 year old, by the way. Iâd say you just dont get art but the four year old is a handy kind of a fog leaf Iâll grant you.