The Ask Niall Harbison Thread

Tyrone is in the UK. Probably from good strong plantation stock.

I have no recollection of this issue. Please expand on it.

Crowds of adults on their smartphones filming these kids diving into the water when I strolled by earlier.

Thanks for pointing out where Tyrone is, mate.

Pointing out where it is was only an appetiser to the main course of my contribution.

[QUOTE=“Bandage, post: 964743, member: 9”]I have no recollection of this issue. Please expand on it.

Crowds of adults on their smartphones filming these kids diving into the water when I strolled by earlier.[/QUOTE]

http://www.thefreekick.com/board/index.php?threads/buying-a-daycent-suit.11158/page-3#post-443286 #47

I recommend the twitter account @HarboWatch.

I would guess it’s an Old English name, the ones that came over after the Normans, becoming more Irish than the Irish themselves.

Nice photo on LovinDublin

Why was it we all decided Harbo was such a cunt again? I forget.

I sold a business a couple of years ago for a couple of million. It meant that the world was my oyster. The easy option was for me to go to Silicon Valley and raise 5-10 Million for a new business idea and become a billionaire. I know that sounds incredibly vain but I sat with Patrick Collison (Stripe which will ultimately become a 50 billion company) when he explained his idea in 2008 and I know Des and Eoghan Mccabe from way back (Intercom who will sell their business for a couple of billion within the next year or two) and I saw the same traits in myself. I made a very conscious choice to ignore that world and stay in Dublin. I’d imagine you are LOLing when you read that vanity but it is true. I stayed in Dublin because I love this city. I love the people here. The craic. To be brutally honest I don’t know what LovinDublin will become but I know it is big. We are tapping into a movement. A city full of people walking around with smartphones who love what they see and who want to share it. It isn’t a marketing campaign nor is it a brand telling people what to do. It is a movement of people who love their city and want to tell the world. I’m a business person and I want to make money from Lovindublin and that day will come but ultimately this is about making the place I live a better place. A better city. I always judge myself on the metric of “If I was to die tomorrow would I be happy with what I was doing today”. I am happy and the goal is an insane one and I know my ego can be out of control but making a billion dollars isn’t as important to me as making Dublin a better place is.

That’ll do it alright. But didn’t he have a particularly stupid/cuntish post or article that set us all off?

In his own words, “Niall’s been touted as one of the driving forces behind Ireland’s recovery"

He got some negative publicity for calling the kids who jump into the water at Grand Canal Dock during the warm summer weather “unwashed knackers”. Think he was reviewing an establishment in the area at the time and it was a case of…“if you can get past the unwashed…”

That might be it. Was it the same ones that were bullying you?

I think TFK wash largely with The Harb on that one.

Yeah, some lassie asked me how big my balls were as her clique laughed uproariously.

That must have been awful for you. Fair play to Harbs for sticking up for you.

Good man @Bandage, that’s my new favourite account on twitter

You know you’re doing well when you have two parody accounts on twitter @lovinbluffin