The Bandwagon

Is there a nation of people worse to jump on a bandwagon than the Irish. Whether it’s Katie Taylor, Conor McGregor, The rugby bandwagon or GAA teams all over the country, what is it about us Irish that sees us jump on every available bandwagon that roles past. Why do we crave it so much? Looking at twitter last night you’d swear UFC was the greatest sport there ever was and any negative comment on it was treated as a begrudging one. Why do we crave praise so much about being such “great supporters”. Do we still have an inferiority complex?

UFC is the new Heineken Cup, get used to it

for the whackers

UFC has been around 20 years now.

Not much happens here

This is the Wexford bandwagon right?

Signing in.

I believe that we will win.

Rugby has been around for about 100 years

Or a nation of begrudgers like you.

UFC always had a big following in Ireland, we have a ridiculously high amount if boxing and martial arts clubs compared to a lot of countries. It only follows that when we get a few lads up to scratch we’d follow them.
I’m not a fan if McGregor myself, but I am a fan of fighting, any fighting. More power to him, he does it his way.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 986724, member: 273”]Or a nation of begrudgers like you.

UFC always had a big following in Ireland, we have a ridiculously high amount if boxing and martial arts clubs compared to a lot of countries. It only follows that when we get a few lads up to scratch we’d follow them.
I’m not a fan if McGregor myself, but I am a fan of fighting, any fighting. More power to him, he does it his way.[/QUOTE]
Proving my point Exactly Kev.

A nation of cunts thats why. Look at the garth brookes bandwagon. 90% of the people going did not give a shit about him

Should do a poll on what has been the biggest bandwagon of recent times.

• Line dancing in the mid 90’s
  • Golf club memberships in the Celtic Tiger era
  • GAA bandwagons
  • Munster rugby football bandwagon
  • Property prices people forked out during the boom
  • Garth Brooks mania
  • Stags going from one night on the piss at a town down the road, to a weekend away in the UK, to a week long golfing holiday in Spain.

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 986818, member: 1552”]Should do a poll on what has been the biggest bandwagon of recent times.

• GAA bandwagons

• Garth Brooks mania

• Stags going from one night on the piss at a town down the road, to a weekend away in the UK, to a week long golfing holiday in Spain.[/QUOTE]

• Owning property abroad

• Xmas shopping in New York

Munster was a great one, the amount of roasters in North Clare that appeared overnight wearing the jersey and roaring in the pub watching games was unreal

[QUOTE=“Mac, post: 986822, member: 109”]- Owning property abroad

• Xmas shopping in New York[/QUOTE]

The Christmas shopping trip to New York (usually undertaken in October or November) is a huge, ongoing bandwagon alright.

The Munster Rugby bandwagon is definitely the biggest and most disgusting

Italia 90 bet all and was never equaled.

Garth Brookes was something else aswell, a few friends of mine that used to be mad into yolks in the 1990’s went apeshit trying to get tickets, and “I was thinking what the fuck is going on here” I mean these lads used to laugh at the cunt, this cunt brookes that has not been heard of in 20 years. all of a sudden every roaster in Ireland had to be at it, the place to be

I got invited to ‘Garth Brooks’ barbecue today…

FFS. I’m disgusted.

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 986818, member: 1552”]Should do a poll on what has been the biggest bandwagon of recent times.

• GAA bandwagons
  • Garth Brooks mania
  • Stags going from one night on the piss at a town down the road, to a weekend away in the UK, to a week long golfing holiday in Spain.[/QUOTE]

Man Utd???

What I find most bizarre about the franchise is how anti grassroots Munster Rugby is. Young lads get drafted into the academy are then not allowed to play club rugby let alone other sports from the age of 15. Makes no sense to me - thank fuck the cunts are bankrupt, that shite can’t last.