Paddy Bradley has left the Derry panel.
Big blow for the Oak Leafers
Paddy Bradley has left the Derry panel.
Big blow for the Oak Leafers
[quote=“thedancingbaby”]Paddy Bradley has left the Derry panel.
Big blow for the Oak Leafers[/QUOTE]
Poor Eoin wont know what to do with himself now…
[quote=“thedancingbaby”]Paddy Bradley has left the Derry panel.
Big blow for the Oak Leafers[/QUOTE]
Expect his bro to follow. Things gone very messy in Derry this year.
That will soften the cough of that prick brolly. Even still you couldn’t be that sure monaghan will beat them. Ulster has been very poor this year. Think I mentioned that earlier in the year and some mong tried to shout me down…
Wouldn’t take it as that at all. There was a part of me that wouldn’t have minded loosing, as the back door isn’t a bad roote for this Cork team.
I like Limerick football, and i like it because in many ways its like Cork football. Looked down upon by massive parts of the sporting population, but loved and worked at by a very dedicated few. I myself underestimated Limerick football in the past, but when i met a few guys in college and saw thew odd local game it surprised me greatly. I’d say Limerick in reality is working off less footballing an area than any other county in Munster, Runt you may be able to tell me how far off i am there.
Cork are all about the All-Ireland, and in particular beating Kerry there. To be honest i didn’t stay for the rpesentation myself. I have very little value in the provincials anymore, but i can understand what it would mean to Limerick. Its something tangible for all the work. Even reaching an All-Ireland semi isn’t really something you’ll remember.
Sligo last year being a good example. They have a medal, a serious memory, a serious celebration with the people of their county. It means alot.
Bit more on Bradley walking
Derry football has been rocked by the news that ace marksman Paddy Bradley has quit the panel ahead of Saturday’s qualifier against Monaghan.
Bradley made his decision known to the Oak Leaf supremo, Damien Cassidy after a practice match on Sunday.
It is still not known why the player has walked away, but it may have something to do with the county’s failure to make an impact in this year’s Ulster championship. Despite getting to the Division 1 League final against Kerry, Derry made a disappointing provincial exit at the hands of Tyrone on 21 June.
In an interview last January, Bradley said that he was expecting Derry to ‘achieve big things this year’ under new manager Cassidy.
Yet another shambolic Gaelic Football set up, our numbers are growing.
Did anyone read the interview with Eoin Bradley in The Tribune a while back? He refers to his brother as ‘Patrick’ - the journalist asked him about it, thought it seemed quite formal and what not and he replied that Patrick made it known that he prefers to be known as Patrick and he was respecting his brother’s wishes.
I was always king :rolleyes:
Sure every All Ireland winner in history Kev has had no doubt about themselves. Every All Ireland winner in history has had 100% self belief and confidence in themselves, right? Skill, ability, teamplay, tactics are only an after thought obviously You know what it takes to win one ya? Conor Counihan does, James Master doesn’t.
Kerrigan and Masters are obviously talented footballers, forwards with ability to score and create scores. None of them are the finished article and as they have said publicly they lack self belief. Its hard to have self belief when the manager has no faith in you, id say a lot of lads on here have been the same - no matter how well you play you have doubters and if things are going wrong you are one of the first off. Its the same in every team in every sport. Trappatoni with Andy Reid, O’Neill with Shorey, Justin McCarthy with Dave Bennett, Cyril Lyons with John Reddan etc . I’m not writing off Kerrigan, he has great potential, but on form he isn’t producing like Paul O’ Flynn or Fiacra Lynch, i presume you know who they are seeing as you know Cork football so well.;)Well known Kerrigan is a very poor kicker/scorer for the amount of ball he gets, your shown up here again. Masters is 28, he should be the finished article by now. I agree he’s talented, i just don’t think he’s the most talented in Cork, simple as that.
That was the case with Masters against Kerry the first day. It was one of the worst tactical changes I had ever seen. Sure he wasnt exactly burning it up but bringing on the big lad changed Cork’s tactical approach and let Kerry back into the game. Cussen was absolutely useless in that game and there was no way Masters would have been worse, Id say he would have played himself into the game and scored a couple of points that would have killed Kerry off actually.Masters is a confidence player, he was beaten easily for first few balls, too many coaches in the past gave him too much time to settle. The fact that Cussen didn’t get any decent service isn’t Counihans, Masters or Cussens fault on the day.
Its obvious you have an inferiority complex against Nemo, them being the best club side in Cork for donkeys years. Its been revealed now at least.Thats why i have gone to watch them train in the past, to see if i can pick up anything, that really shows inferiority alright, trying to learn from the best.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I was always king
Sure every All Ireland winner in history Kev has had no doubt about themselves. Every All Ireland winner in history has had 100% self belief and confidence in themselves, right? Skill, ability, teamplay, tactics are only an after thought obviously :rolleyes:You know what it takes to win one ya? Conor Counihan does, James Master doesn’t.
Your the one who set the criteria Kev. Im just saying that in the history of the GAA perhaps some players won All Irelands that didnt have supreme belief in themselves. Is that possible? Are there other factors?
Kerrigan and Masters are obviously talented footballers, forwards with ability to score and create scores. None of them are the finished article and as they have said publicly they lack self belief. Its hard to have self belief when the manager has no faith in you, id say a lot of lads on here have been the same - no matter how well you play you have doubters and if things are going wrong you are one of the first off. Its the same in every team in every sport. Trappatoni with Andy Reid, O’Neill with Shorey, Justin McCarthy with Dave Bennett, Cyril Lyons with John Reddan etc . I’m not writing off Kerrigan, he has great potential, but on form he isn’t producing like Paul O’ Flynn or Fiacra Lynch, i presume you know who they are seeing as you know Cork football so well.;)Well known Kerrigan is a very poor kicker/scorer for the amount of ball he gets, your shown up here again. Masters is 28, he should be the finished article by now. I agree he’s talented, i just don’t think he’s the most talented in Cork, simple as that.
Saw Kerrigan play u-21 for Cork he impressed me as a creative forward. Well thats fair enough about Masters though I suspect you have more against him than that.
That was the case with Masters against Kerry the first day. It was one of the worst tactical changes I had ever seen. Sure he wasnt exactly burning it up but bringing on the big lad changed Cork’s tactical approach and let Kerry back into the game. Cussen was absolutely useless in that game and there was no way Masters would have been worse, Id say he would have played himself into the game and scored a couple of points that would have killed Kerry off actually.Masters is a confidence player, he was beaten easily for first few balls, too many coaches in the past gave him too much time to settle. The fact that Cussen didn’t get any decent service isn’t Counihans, Masters or Cussens fault on the day.
Cussen got high balls, low balls every kind of ball but was beaten up a stick. He was useless. Masters couldnt have been any worse.
Its obvious you have an inferiority complex against Nemo, them being the best club side in Cork for donkeys years. Its been revealed now at least.Thats why i have gone to watch them train in the past, to see if i can pick up anything, that really shows inferiority alright, trying to learn from the best.[/QUOTE]
True Kev, your quite the enlightened one alright :rolleyes: No agendas or chips on shoulders with you alright
What is the story with Cussen, is he injured?
He’s out of form, and i think they are playing a different game. Your more likely to see him midfield than anywhere else.
Well debated.:rolleyes:
I saw him at full forward against Kerry. He was shite. Probably the worst player on the park.
Some man to get his round in is Cussen…
My comments are in the quoted bit.
Would he go hurling next year?
He got no ball, came out to midfield and won a bit of ball. He’s been out of form since.
Could be this year Puke. He’s behind Lynch and O’ Neill to come on in forwards, and possibly Hayes and McCarthy as well. But Aisake seems to be sorting for ball winning in the full forward line. Cussen couldn’t play half forward IC.
I would like to see him give the hurling a bash though, maybe in the corner. He’s pretty effective with every ball he wins, his scoring ratio is good.
Aisake with his strength and pace would do just as well at 11(with a few more intercounty games under his belt), with Cussen a target man at 14, breaking ball for Horgan and Naughtan…
I didn’t stay for, and rarely ever do stay for, the presentation - who gives a fuck? Its boring.
He likes a bit of craic alright. He regulary turns up at my mates bar looking for a few late ones. Being a Gard and a Cork footballer more or less assures a positive result every time.:rolleyes: