I love it if your winning Liam or Sam, thats great craic.
Club wins are obviously the best, where you get to ruin the captain in front of his family and friends.:rolleyes:
And shur it doesnt even have to be his pint he’s drinking… :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
No, very true.
A very likeable guy.
Derry release a statement saying Bradley hasn’t actually walked out…
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Wouldn’t take it as that at all. There was a part of me that wouldn’t have minded loosing, as the back door isn’t a bad roote for this Cork team.
I like Limerick football, and i like it because in many ways its like Cork football. Looked down upon by massive parts of the sporting population, but loved and worked at by a very dedicated few. I myself underestimated Limerick football in the past, but when i met a few guys in college and saw thew odd local game it surprised me greatly. I’d say Limerick in reality is working off less footballing an area than any other county in Munster, Runt you may be able to tell me how far off i am there.
Cork are all about the All-Ireland, and in particular beating Kerry there. To be honest i didn’t stay for the rpesentation myself. I have very little value in the provincials anymore, but i can understand what it would mean to Limerick. Its something tangible for all the work. Even reaching an All-Ireland semi isn’t really something you’ll remember.
Sligo last year being a good example. They have a medal, a serious memory, a serious celebration with the people of their county. It means alot.[/QUOTE]
In terms of sqaure miles of footballing area you wouldn’t be too far wrong there (Waterford would obviously have less though).
There are 12 senior clubs in Limerick and the break down is as follows:
City: Claughan and Monaleen(with only the latter being competitive)
East: Pallasgreen
South: Ballylanders, Hospital (not competitive)
West: Adare, St Senans (Foynes), Fr Caseys (Abbeyfeale), St Kierans, Newcastle West, Ballysteen and Drom/Broadford
So the main concentration is on the west of the county which isn’t that big at all and is a relatively small pool of players. I must do up a proper post on where I think we are now after Sunday but don’t have the stomach for it just yet.
[quote=“The Runt”]In terms of sqaure miles of footballing area you wouldn’t be too far wrong there (Waterford would obviously have less though).
There are 12 senior clubs in Limerick and the break down is as follows:
City: Claughan and Monaleen(with only the latter being competitive)
East: Pallasgreen
South: Ballylanders, Hospital (not competitive)
West: Adare, St Senans (Foynes), Fr Caseys (Abbeyfeale), St Kierans, Newcastle West, Ballysteen and Drom/Broadford
So the main concentration is on the west of the county which isn’t that big at all and is a relatively small pool of players. I must do up a proper post on where I think we are now after Sunday but don’t have the stomach for it just yet.[/QUOTE]
Waterford would have a bigger area i’d say, most of the Mid and West is football, but pick wise ye may have more. I was thinking alright it was mainly the West where the players came from.
Saw NCW, Ballylanders, Fr. Caseys and Drom all play over the years, all had some very good players.
Heard just a while ago he was gone on Newstalk sport, and that John Joe Doherty was going in full forward, but was reportidly very disapointed with this decision.
Poor Cassidy, its all gone Pete Tong. That guy who punched Kielt should be banned from the county, he started all this.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Waterford would have a bigger area i’d say, most of the Mid and West is football, but pick wise ye may have more. I was thinking alright it was mainly the West where the players came from.
Saw NCW, Ballylanders, Fr. Caseys and Drom all play over the years, all had some very good players.[/QUOTE]
Ballylanders are an odd one in that despite being the 2nd ranked team for the past 4 or 5 years they never really seem to supply many players to the county squad. Johnny Murphy would have been the only starter in recent times and I never rated him much to be honest.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Heard just a while ago he was gone on Newstalk sport, and that John Joe Doherty was going in full forward, but was reportidly very disapointed with this decision.
Poor Cassidy, its all gone Pete Tong. That guy who punched Kielt should be banned from the county, he started all this.[/QUOTE]
Joe Diver I think kev, but yea thats the gist of it. Derry saying now Patrick will be back. If I were Paddy I’d be pished too, no joy for an artisan like him playing in the half forward line up North, you end up playing corner back.
Ah feck it ya, he’s the Donegal manager isn’t he. Propably some brain fart associated with the Diver that plays for Donegal.
Anyway is it about being played half forward? Did it ever cross his mind they wanted a scoring half forward, a rarity in not only Ulster, but in Gaelic Football almost these days? Bad form to be throwing the rattle out because of where you are being positioned. More Premadonna stuff from our county players. I wonder did he ring Dessie for advice.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ah feck it ya, he’s the Donegal manager isn’t he. Propably some brain fart associated with the Diver that plays for Donegal.
Anyway is it about being played half forward? Did it ever cross his mind they wanted a scoring half forward, a rarity in not only Ulster, but in Gaelic Football almost these days? Bad form to be throwing the rattle out because of where you are being positioned. More Premadonna stuff from our county players. I wonder did he ring Dessie for advice.[/QUOTE]
I’d imagine Paddy just doesnt want to move away from his FF spot. Smacks of desperation to me sticking a big fella in FF, but I guess they think it will counteract Monaghans ferocious defence. Diver can hardly stand up let alone score. I’d imagine Paddy just threw a hissyfit and will be back in the saddle on saturday. I wouldnt like to play half forward against Monaghan though.
Ronan McGarrity is a massive doubt for Mayo’s Connacht final clash with Galway after suffering a suspected broken jaw in a club match.
McGarrity picked up the injury while playing with Ballina Stephenites in a Mayo SFC clash against Crossmolina on Sunday afternoon.
The midfielder had to leave the pitch after an accidental collision left him with the injury that could ruin his chances of playing in he provincial decider. It is also feared that his season could be over.
He will have a scan on the injury on Monday afternoon before the full extent of the injury is known.
I see it says accidental there, it was reported yesterday as an off the ball altercation in the first minute, has the spin begun?
Anyone else wondering about this?
Rory O’Carroll has pulled out of the Dublin squad less than a week before the Leinster GAA Football Senior Championship final clash with Kildare.
O’Carroll, 19, has told Dubs boss Pat Gilroy that he will be unavailable for the remainder of the Championship season as he is going travelling.
The Kilmacud Crokes defender made his Championship debut for the Dubs in the Leinster semi-final rout of Westmeath on June 28. His competent performance suggested that he would retain his place ahead of Alan Hubbard, the previous incumbent in the number two jersey, for the hugely-anticipated provincial decider against the Lilywhites.
O’Carroll, a dual player who will line out for the Dubs in the Bord Gis Energy GAA Hurling All Leinster Under-21 Championship final against Kilkenny on Wednesday night, was a key member of the Crokes side that claimed the All Ireland club title back in March.
That is a very odd one. Why train all year and then piss off travelling just when things get interesting? Has to be more to that than meets the eye.
My sentiments exactly. I realise he’s had a busy year for a 19 yo, but why join the panel then? Also I imagine Giller didnt know anything about this, coudlnt see him starting the semi final if this was on the horizon.
It mentioned on some news report this morning that he was only going travelling for 6 weeks which is even odder again. Why throw away 6 months hard graft for 6 weeks in the sun?
Obviously a woman involved somewhere.
or more likely is tied into being a drug mule for some drug baron in the capital.
[quote=“myboyblue”]Obviously a woman involved somewhere.
or more likely is tied into being a drug mule for some drug baron in the capital.[/QUOTE]
It would be easier for him to deal with a drug barron than a forceful young woman.
You’d like to play for your county though wouldn’t you?