The Celebrity Spotting Thread Part Twee (or help Flatty identify the celeb he just spotted) (Part 1)

You gobshite. I’ve enviable track record on posting eloquent, evocative and artistic accounts of relevant encounters. If fagan had given me the nod I’d have risen to the occasion.

Safe assumption that they weren’t working.

Thank you, but i suppose i have to defer to the thread commandant

Who. Ardal O Hanlon
Famous for. Being Father Dougal.
Where. Outside the “Farm Shop” at Bloom.
When. Yesterday.
Wearing. A combination of clothes that were black and grey.
Other notes. Ardal was accompanied by a more glamorous blonde lady.

Spot

A fucking cracker too may I add

He was on Baggot St today being introduced to a flower vendor by an acquaintance.

I suspect he was working…the blonde being his co presenter and the theme being flours …or floors as they say in tyrone

Up in the Showboat of a Sunday evening and then get the bingo bus home after a feed from the chipper beside the forum

Yes the Showboat or Downes’s for me.

Oofft. Serious question marks have been rasied about the spot here. We’ll need another adjudication it seems

Eurovision star Christy Doran worked in The Showboat when we used to be in there.

Would go into Sully’s the odd time too but there’d be plenty of undesirables in there so hard to play in comfort

I hated to be the one to step forward here but everyone* must be uncomfortable with the favouritism fagan has shown towards fagan…not least fagan himself
(*Apart from harry)

Produce the conclusive evidence bro

Im just saying fagan was too eager. There are justifiable grounds for caution

Okay….

The snooker table (tables? Only seem to remember one) in Downes was terrible, but what a place to spend an evening, a brilliant place.

I used get in off the bus from Dublin and play a frame with the same three lads most Fridays, Chuck, Powery and Lowsie. The table was terrible but it was only a medium for banter. Superb pub and it hasn’t changed at all.

Memory could be playing tricks on me, wasn’t there a pub in Waterford City with a squash court at the back of it?

Shefflin’s auld lad had a squash court at the back of the pub in Ballyhale in kk. If memory serves me right.

My parents played a little bit of squash in Waterford in late 70s/ early 80s. I remember my dad pointing out the place when we were down for a match years later and it did seem to be near to a pub.