The Celebrity Spotting Thread Part Twee (or help Flatty identify the celeb he just spotted) (Part 1)

@Big_Dan_Campbell 1. Jesus 0

Who: ā€˜Comedianā€™ and former RTƉ presenter Karl Spain

Where: Tesco, Coonagh, Limerick

When: 20.19 tonight

With: Alone

Demeanour: Appeared jovial exchanging pleasantries with the checkout woman. He was wearing a loose baggy check shirt hanging down over very faded blue jeans.

Purpose of my visit was to check the whiskey selection, which is normally cheaper than Dunnes, as I misjudged my future consumption when purchasing on the last bank holiday. Karl had just left the checkout with his full trolley by the time I arrived. There was a strong smell of body odour in the area but I was unable to determine if it belonged to Karl or the checkout woman.

Not a spot.

I hesitated posting it, I wonā€™t be appealing.

Fair play to you. Very strict adjudication. Some lads would dig in. Surely a fella who had a tv show called after himself would be a celebrity @Fagan_ODowd ?

Having a movie made about you starring Ewan McGregor doesnā€™t qualify you so a few weeks on RTE doesnā€™t cut it.

Iā€™m loathe to backseat adjudicate but this might be a case of celeb status expiring. Some people just fall away into relative obscurity after being relatively famous.

Iā€™m loathe to start giving reasons for my adjudications but this is a correct summary of my logic.

Didnā€™t Spain also take the Saudi Kinahan blood dollar?

I know very little about the chap. Barely heard of him.

How do you mean?

He means the person, not the country.

I know that, but what does he mean.

I saw Karl Spain as a curtain raise/warm up act (A Tailteann Cup, if you will) to Kevin Bridges once. Much like the Tailteann Cup game before a proper match, there was a noticeable gulf in quality between the two

2 back to back live spots so hear me out.
Uimhir a haon: RTE heavyweight but physical lightweight Ryan Tubridy (big hopes for this spot)
Where: Molesworth Street.
Demeanour: Classic shirt/chino combination and a pair of very expensive looking sunglasses befitting a man at ease with collecting half a million euros a year for 10 hours work every week.
Other observations: quite tall but lacking in frame. A few months with the Limerick S and C guys would do wonders.
Uimhir a dĆ³: Solicitor to the famous and infamous alike Gerald Keane (Not expecting this to be a spot)
Where: Heading into BTs on Grafton Street
Demeanour: Gerald had the healthy glow of a man who was just back from 2 weeks all inclusive in Lanzarote Iā€™d say. He must however have been baking in an expensive looking but gaudy purple pinstripe suit.

Both spots.

Ah jaysus I talked myself out of a spot by refusing to submit Gerald Kean :frowning:

Who: LeBron James
Where outside some oriental food mealy assortment center in madrid - Yatai
When about 3 hrs ago
Sent the young fella to take heā€™s picture but wasnā€™t quick enough
Demeanor: ducking down abit to hide heā€™s hight in a pinkish golf shirt
Other observations, some cunt here will post heā€™s in baton rouge or some dump and fuck ye I saw what I saw

Was he in a yellow reg Land Rover by any chance?