The Dodger is in Mountjoy

No mention at all of the chalet in the Swiss Alps… Didn’t we have the global warming shite and all the snow round it melted or something like that . Was only an oul timber framed gaff after the snow vanis. They must have crossed the fairies somewhere along the line if it wasn’t for bad luck they’d have no luck at all.

Takes some doing to burn through 50m and have nothing left in this day and age. They must have got greedy at precisely the wrong time.

What were a couple with no children doing buying multiple houses on golf courses a little over an hour apart? The selling agent must have seen them a mile off

All the lads with 100 mill in the bank in 2000 are billionaires now. VladTV told me that.

They had loads of money at a time when the whole country was pouring money in the property ponzi scheme.

Must’ve been so cool going around closing deals.

With the kind of history he’s had you couldn’t trust Carey to buy a turkey Christmas week.

The stupid prick would most likely come home with a boned and rolled swan. @balbec .

I hope DJ smacked that Lohan clown :clown_face: ive no time for him either

There’s a real uncle tom Dempsey off this fella

Any Celtic Tiger big noise worthy of the name had a house in the K Club. Ladycastle in the K Club was a very fashionable address. Almost all of them ended up in NAMA.
There was a great exchange in the Irish Times back in the day about the K Club. Kathy Sheridan, in the lead up to the Ryder Cup, paid a visit and wrote a sarcastic article where she noted that almost every car at the K Club was either a Mercedes or a BMW. Matt Doyle ( the former tennis international and a K Club member) wrote back a Letter to the Editor in which he wrote that Sheridan must have visited on Ladies Day, because when the men played it was all Aston Martins and Bentleys.

The author of a new book on disgraced hurler DJ Carey has claimed the convicted fraudster “probably doesn’t even know how much he took” — and believes the real total could be close to €2 million.

Eimear Ní Bhraonáin, whose book The Dodger was released this week, says there are “more victims beyond those mentioned in court” and that many are still coming forward.

“I know these people,” she said. “The total figure in court was around €400,000, but that’s only what was proven. He made small efforts to pay some of that back, but the true figure is higher.

“I would say DJ Carey probably does not even know how much he took. I would say €2 million is not wide off the mark.”

Ní Bhraonáin said that since the publication of her book, new people have contacted her admitting they also gave money to the former Kilkenny star, who falsely claimed to be terminally ill.

“Every time I spoke to someone who had their reasons for not going public about their donations, I asked them, ‘How much did you give him? Show me.’ And every figure I got, I added up,” she said.