@Sidney might have put a lot of work into it but this is a gig where you earn your money from the neck up.
If there is ever a need for a gimp to dig a hole from here to Australia then maybe give Sidney a call but he made a fuck out of this from beginning to end.
Easy from the cheap seats mate
I can’t wait to see all the lads volunteering to run this next year
You cannot doubt Steven Gerrard, I mean me.
I expect better from you.
You like to defend scum like O’Brien I’ve noticed. You’re a clown.
Thats disgusting. Please report that post
My ruling = No harm, no foul.
Missed all this. What happened in the end.
@rocko shat himself over being sued by DOB so rigged the poll result to make it look like John Bruton won COTY. A few lads got very upset over the whole thing.
The site is still up, no sign of a DDOB attack yet?
Whilst that argument may have been true for that particular British Government, Bruton’s larger point was that the IPP had been kingmakers before. The only reason Home Rule was voted through the Commons before was because previous Liberal Governments needed their support. The size of the Irish nationalist contingent in Parliament meant that there was going to be on quite a few occasions the chance for them to decide who the PM would be.
The War of Independence in Ireland immediately moved the nationalist cause from being a primarily Parliamentary one to an arms based one. It allowed the Unionists to play politics in Westminister whilst there was few Nationionalist voices there. Earlier in the decade the Unionists were the more likely aggressors. Once guns came into it, there was going to be a natural furthering of divisions on the island.
You can argue these things many ways, including the folly of thinking the Unionists would have rolled over and not resorted to violence in 1914, but it’s always worthy of debate, rather than just squeals of “revisionist” and “how dare he”.
You should read a few oul books instead spouting the same tired ould shite Tim. We should have hung around until we got a liberal government ? There hasn’t been a liberal government since 1914. Or do you think the Conservative and Unionist party would have done the trick?
My opinions are far from the status quo. Seeing all you lads who were brought up blindly indoctrinated about 1916 scramble when it’s even questioned is gas.
The years between 1916-1921, accelerated the divisions in Ireland and brought about partition. It brought blood shed and ensured Catholics up north were left to rot under a more hostile government than before. That was inevitable once the gun was picked up.
The majority of voters did not support this violence and it’s cause.
And your alternative was we should have sat around in servility and postponed our freedom until we got another liberal government
When the last liberal government had already jibbed on Home Rule
Freedom? You mean the 26 counties which still had a British head of state, Brits controlling our ports and the Catholic Church given an even more prominent role in Irish life? This wasn’t palatable to Republicans at the time and they went against democracy over it. No one was happy with the result.
It was democracy and diplomacy which ultimately rid Ireland of the British from the ports and the monarch. The Statute of Westminister, negotiated around a table.
The IPP achieved a great deal for Ireland from the late 19th century into the 20th. They began to realign the economic power from being solely in the north east and the data shows the lives of Irish people improved. Bruton believes that isn’t recognised enough and that 1,500 people who had no popular support are given too much. It is a reasonable opinion.
You do know that the IPP were hand in glove with the Church don’t you?
Ah come one. This is absolute nonsense. Control over every political, social, and economic institution in the country can reasonably be described as ‘freedom’ in the context of a war of national independence.
If you were only around in 1921/22 to make that point to Dev and his boys