The Electric Vehicle Thread- Im only driving one cause it cheaper then Diesel

They’ll be giving away 2024 2.8 Toyota Landcruisers any day now.
You’d knock 30 years out of one if you minded it….Just saying like…

Friend in his70s ( think 76)has an original Land Rover in pristine condition
Loves it
S 1

He’s lucky then because they’ve garnered a dreadful name for themselves.
While I’d accept a Range Rover or a Discovery if they were a prize draw or GAA raffle as sure as there’s shit in a goose I wouldn’t buy either.

He’s a new one aswell
From Mallow
Still working part time in UCC in the lab,
What’a man- daily dies - 6 days a week-
Does 45 m treadmill
40 bicycle
1500 metres in the pool
Daily in the mardyke arena ,
And cycles to and fro.
Don’t Jake them like they used to like Paddy.
And great feckin craic

If i was to pick anyone on this site that i didnt think would buy an ev or be a convert, you’d be top of the list! But the fact you have, and seem to like it and happy with the decision, shows that people can be open to it and realise its a mode of transport that makes sense and its only scaremongering that has people going against it. Fair play.

Thanks
And I was tbe biggest skeptic going tbh
Completely win over
Had hybrids years but never ever thought of full electric,
Hard to beat tbh

I’ve close friends who are completely against EVs
Won’t listen to common sense,
Citing the same rubbish I used spout concerning range and battery life etc.
Think the government need to make EVs more affordable for the common man,
The kids as usual will show the way

A long running discussion on here, but the more and more makes and models come out, the bigger the supply in the secondnhamd market, and once more affordable 7 seat options come out, the better it will be for more people. The charging network does need to keep improving, but generally, its not a major issue for the majority who have evs now.

Chargers everywhere thankfully
Even in parts of Kerry where you’d assume is still Diesel country
But EVs are making huge inroads,
I joined a uk based ev forum vv knowledgeable and interesting

The VRT exemption on certain EV’s from the 06 is an incentive as well.

Portly DĆ”il deputy Paul McAuliffe just informed the nation that he’d purchased a 2020 Nissan Leaf two years ago.

I had a vision of squeezing toothpaste back into the tube.

Tis a rickshaw and driver that fella needs
And a ban from all McDs&Kfc

L H D no good for him whomever he is
Baby elephant size

People generally only do stuff when it makes sense money wise.They would have a far bigger takeup in home improvement/retrofitting etc if the grant was available up front.

Weirdly though we are subsiding fossil fuels rather than doing stuff like up front grants

ā€œWeā€ ?

De oirish government

Like we give an exemption to airline fuel from being taxed for some.reason

Anyone any view or experience of a Skoda Enyaq

Was looking at one of them second hand 2023 60kw model with about 50,000kms on… would only be doing around 10k Kms a year max

Savage looking machine
Bit overkill ref your mileage though I’d say
Loads a choice second hand otw ref fleet car imports from the uk
Most really low mileage .