In fairness the Sex Pistols were a niche act in global terms and blew themselves out in just about 9 months but they have had massive and lasting cultural significance. You couldnât have had Oasis without the Sex Pistols
You have to crack America. Whether you like it or not, you have to.
Elton John sold 33 million records in the 1990s with one song alone.
Elton John is not a band. If you were to look at individuals Madonna was probably the most significant act of the 90s.
1990 was the last peak Madonna year. After that her career went into a tailspin.
Was there many other successful British bands made up of those kind of working class, football fan, building sites, punch up down the pub âladsâ like oasis were? As in not more arty working class chaps like pulp or the smiths or middle class fellas like blur.
The Verve?
Was there many other successful British bands made up of those kind of working class, football fan, building sites, punch up down the pub âladsâ like oasis were? As in not more arty working class chaps like pulp or the smiths or middle class fellas like blur.
Iâd have thought it would have been easier to identify which of the big British artists pre-Oasis werenât working class in origin. Mick Jagger wasnât. Joe Strummer wasnât.
Outside of punk the Happy Mondays were probably the only major band who embraced a sort of quasi-football hooligan persona similar to Oasis.
Slade and The Jam were identified as solid working class âbands of the peopleâ. Those two were big influences on Noel Gallagher.
Whether they are actual genuine football fans might be a more simpler rule of thumb. Id say that would be a fairly clear dividing line between your morrisseys and Liam Gallagher types.
Stone Roses?
The farm, lightening seeds, echo and the bunny men
Whether they are actual genuine football fans might be a more simpler rule of thumb. Id say that would be a fairly clear dividing line between your morrisseys and Liam Gallagher types.
Liam Gallagher isnât a genuine football fan in the real sense. Noel Gallagher is.
Mick Jagger is a football fan. Damon Albarn is.
Jim Kerr of Simple Minds is probably a bigger football fan than any of them.
Yer man from Def Leppard who lived in Ireland is a big Sheffield United fan.
Oasis played up their scalliness. In reality Burnage was a grand enough area.
Most of them are shite at football though. Are there any genuine dual stars in music?
Robert Smith from The Cure was handy enough i think
Most of them are shite at football though. Are there any genuine dual stars in music?
The singer from Glasvegas played 116 Scottish League games. Iâm sure I recall a Scottish football highlights programme on Sky which interviewed him when he was a footballer years before Glasvegas came to prominence.
They had a few class tunes. Never kicked on. I hope cowdenbeath had him back
The Verve were more a shoegaze band when they started. A real âprefer their earlier stuffâ band
Rod Stewart
ACđŠď¸DC are huge Rangers fans.