The Fine Gael - A Sovereign Nation Once Again

Fianna Fail claiming they abstained in the national interest so as not to put the public through a general election before Christmas

There is a lot of anger directed towards FF over that decision. I think Meehole has shot himself in the foot there.

This time I will challenge any FF or FG cunt that comes to my door *

• will you give us the vote.
  • I will
  • thanks
  • no bother

They are all a shower of money grabbing cunts and they are all the same no matter what party. The SF MLAs in NI are still being paid £35k for being members of an assembly that hasn’t sat since Jan 2017.

1. The printer is a problem in Irish politics and the public sector as a whole. Poor planning maybe, but the fact that there are people looking for pay rises to operate them is a disgrace. One of the big failures of the first Coalition government was failing to properly reform the PS and reengage with Trade Unions properly. We simply rolled back to the “Social Partnership” model which failed when the bad times hit. FG allowed this as it was convenient to avoid confrontation and to keep Labour happy. Allowing Labour to control public sector reform was a joke. Ironically it didn’t even help Labour the next time out as their traditional vote deserted them.
  1. The Dara Murphy stuff is dodgy. I think the Greens are the most honest in terms of Governance of their party. It’s also disappointing that our European partners will still give him a job.

2. The Maria Bailey stuff got more attention and the outcome was different. That’s politics.

3. The Murphy stuff was a stunt plain and simple. People have wanted him out from day one, his accent a huge part of that.

4. Ruth Coppinger didn’t take anyone on with facts. She just used a label. Later on she just suggested that whatever it was, it wasn’t that much money anyway. Similar to overall welfare fraud where people just say it’s tiny, when it actually is not. Woke Leo did the same.

The Peter McVerry Trust got over €10m extra in State funding last year, with his Trust now getting over €25m. Add in Focus Ireland etc and the increased funding they’ve got- why aren’t we questioning them as to why the number of homeless isn’t coming down despite the increase in funding to them?

It’s a grand old position to be able to throw stones at the State whilst being funded by them and taking all the positive PR.

Typical establishment mentality there — look over there.

He just said in the clip that he was working with homeless people … but way to distract from Murphy stealing a living.

Well I’m wondering why people want Murphy out on his ear after 2 years with his policies only being implemented now whilst there is never any discussion as to why the Charities are also not bringing the numbers down despite increased funding.

Focus Ireland and the PMVT have nearly 1000 employees between them.

I can take on board the argument that the State outsource responsibility to these bodies and actually think some of it should be centralized myself. But there is rarely any queries about these charities and performance.

Things are beginning to spiral out of control for Fine Gael in terms of negative PR

They only have themselves to blame, but predictably they want to blame others

As always happens with right-wing ideologues who shamelessly throw out their own fake mantra of personal responsibility whenever it suits them

The opposition en masse have said that the removal/resignation of a minister, like Eoghan Murphy in this case, wouldn’t trigger a general election. Sure Denis Naughton was forced out as Communications Minister over the national broadband plan shenanigans. I think another minister has also been cast aside during the current Dail term, but I’ve had a complete blank on it. Is it not just FF running a misdirection to try to justify their latest abstention or do they have a point?

I think there’s a difference between a minister resigning and losing a no-confidence vote :man_shrugging:

Possibly true but the challenge for the electorate is that realistically the only plausible alternative is a FF minority gov or a FF-led coalition

It’s amazing how the high tax and high spend FG Government, who aren’t even socially to the right anymore, still get labeled as right wing and Tories. :man_shrugging:t2:

Corbyn in the UK for example is calling for personal taxes to go up to similar to Irish levels for “higher earners”. Low earning Irish workers will still pay little to no income tax and PRSI versus the UK.

It’s amazing how Labour only want UK public investment to go up to the European average and they get painted as “communists”.

But still, TINA, TINA, and all that

Well Corbyn also has plans for state ownership etc which go into that realm but I’d agree there’s confusion in calling Corbyn that. Similar to Corbyn fans thinking he is close to advocating Scandinavian social democracy. Confusion all round really.

The salient point here is that middle to upper income Irish people pay a lot in Ireland, more so than the UK. Yet despite that and booming Corporation Tax receipts, we still have a deficit. It’s quite close to what you talk about with the GOP and racking up deficits. At least they actually properly cut some taxes when doing that though…

Minimal regulation and tolerance of white collar crime all contribute to attracting cunts like Frank Flannery, Angela Kearns and Paul Kelly to the trough that is govt funded charity. Govt policy, again, encourages despicable behaviour. The buck stops with them.

Yeah, in exactly the places they shouldn’t be cutting them

It’s hilarious when people go on about rich people paying supposedly high percentages of the overall tax take when they always neglect to mention the reason that happens is because of massive income inequality

I agree on a lack of regulation of them alright.