Did JP sort a free bar last night in Citywest?
Words. A bit like saying I didnāt steal it your honour, I just borrowed it on a permanent basis.
That isnāt how society works. Lord McManus should not have the option of donating his money in lieu of tax. If he is a citizen of the country, as he claims, then he should pay personal taxes here. End of.
Presently, the foundation is largely funding a ā¬13m unit at Limerickās Mid- Western Regional Hospital that will provide life-saving facilities for patients with cystic fibrosis, breast cancer, stroke and a variety of other neurological conditions.
Keep trying kid . Keep trying.
Proper
FACT
Get the law changed so. Because until such time as heās broken the law heās ok.
Iād say most people in JPās situation would do likewise. But most people are not and they just whinge and piss and moan.
But people are hypocrites by and large.
JP is loved in Limerick, adored, thereās always begrudgers who were never offered a bowl of soup but would tip the hat if they were, hard men who wouldnāt say boo to a goose in a real life situation
Adored?
Dermot Desmond was a Board Member (maybe Chairman) of Telecom Eireann back in the day when the purchase of a site owned by Johnson Mooney and OāBrien was mooted as a possible investment. It was worth around 5m.
Another firm effectively owned by Desmond and JP McManus decided to get in first and buy the site for 5m, acting of course on insider information. Incredibly Telecom Eireann decided then to buy the site off the firm for almost 10m with influence exerted by Desmond who also paid for the upkeep of Celtic Mist, the yacht owned by CJH around the same time.
Desmond then proceeded to withdraw 600k in cash from AIB in Grafton Street and give it to McManus as part of his cut.
The Glackin report into this scandal more or less confirmed this version of events but was limited in its ability to prosecute. At the very least McManus was involved in a murky deal where 5m quid was effectively robbed from the taxpayer,
Regurgitating Paul Williams newspaper fluff is far more interesting than Sam Smythās farmer.
Smurfit was chairman
As my Dad used to say āGood enough!!ā
Youāre describing an act of corruption there farmer, of which I was unaware.
The fact that he is a tax exile seems to be the Limerick problem. Tax status is his own choice and he can do as he wants re same provided heās legit.
I could have been managing the minors when those lads came through. Daly abandoning ship to make a few extra quid immediately after they lost the biggest game many of them will ever play in tells you all you need to know. Credit where its due, but not to him.
Well my problem with him is that he is corrupt.
What do you mean by this by the way?
Thatās all great but it doesnāt take away from the fact that he engages in massive tax avoidance and corruption.
The way he tried to claim some of the glory of Limerick winning the All-Ireland for himself was embarrassing and Gerard Houllier/David May-esque - but in their defence, Houllier had managed Liverpool up to a year before, May was a current player.
McManus is a self-appointed man-mascot.
Signing in.