The Jim McGuinness is a big girls blouse thread! He is! Discuss........madly

I heard that Jim was a big condescending cunt to the lads and they got sick of it. Poor fellas.

I’d imagine Francie Friel’s decision to lay each player’s kit out where they were actually sitting in the dressing room, rather than piling them on top of each other in front of the door (with Colm McFadden’s kit laid out down in the far corner away from everybody else), was at the root of his sacking.

Jim’s the gaffer

Jim has lost it.

He’s off spending too much time on this Arthur Guinness Projects business.

Gallagher and Co are off to Kildare to make some real money?

Did you ever hear so much shite about the backroom team of a county? I mean FFS one of these guys is the fucking kit man.

It’s All Ireland week, fook off Donegal, you had your time.

[quote=“myboyblue, post: 834086, member: 180”]Did you ever hear so much shite about the backroom team of a county? I mean FFS one of these guys in the fucking kit man.

It’s All Ireland week, fook off Donegal, you have your time.[/quote]
Francie Friel wasn’t just any kit man. He brought a level of professionalism to the role never seen before in the GAA.

Was he the fella who came up with the idea of hanging the jerseys on the hooks instead of piling them 15-1 up on the table in the middle of the dressing room?

A pioneer*.

*In the sense of developing new kit laying out patterns, rather than in the sense of being a member of the ultra-conservative Catholic total abstinence from alcohol group, although he may well be a member of that too for all I know, a lot of Ulster GAA people are.

[quote=“Sidney, post: 834202, member: 183”]A pioneer*.

*In the sense of developing new kit laying out patterns, rather than in the sense of being a member of the ultra-conservative Catholic total abstinence from alcohol group, although he may well be a member of that too for all I know, a lot of Ulster GAA people are.[/quote]
Norn Iron GAA people more so. Donegal GAA is not known for its alcohol abstinence.

4 players, including Mark McHugh, have quit the panel.

Very little discussion about this?

I’ve always maintained that lads, in particular amateurs, will only put up the Supreme Ruler type approach from a manager for a couple of years until they reach their goal. Donegal reached that goal 2 years ago, and despite all the psycho-babble the same hunger and willingness to learn and sacrifice just won’t be there in the following years (unless you are dealing with a gormless bunch like Kilkenny). Lads who are giving up 6 days of the week will eventually tire of it all, unless they have an absolutely integral role in the side.

Davy Fitz’s Clare side will go the same way as we’ve already seen from the antics of a few over the spring.

Would be hilarious if the players gave Declan Bogue an exclusive about the reasons for their withdrawal. :slight_smile:

McGuinness seems a cunt. He worked a miracle to win them the AI but like most winners I’d say he is a right prick behind it. Banning club games during the summer, publicly humiliating Kevin Cassidy that time, moaning when other teams get stuck into them (as Monaghan did for last years Ulster final).

Off to Celtic or Raith Rovers with you, Jim.

Jimmy won’t be winning too many matches this year by the looks of it. I only heard McHugh who else is gone?

It’s grand when you are training a bunch of nobodies to be bossing them around, but when they become legends in their own lunch boxes like they boys would have in Donegal they’ll be less inclined to take orders from the cunt who took credit for the whole thing.

An incredible achievement by Jimmy in the first place though.

It was discussed on the Tyrone thread briefly. Normal service has been resumed in Donegal. Jimmy is a busted flush.

[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 939276, member: 1786”]Very little discussion about this?

I’ve always maintained that lads, in particular amateurs, will only put up the Supreme Ruler type approach from a manager for a couple of years until they reach their goal. Donegal reached that goal 2 years ago, and despite all the psycho-babble the same hunger and willingness to learn and sacrifice just won’t be there in the following years (unless you are dealing with a gormless bunch like Kilkenny). Lads who are giving up 6 days of the week will eventually tire of it all, unless they have an absolutely integral role in the side.

Davy Fitz’s Clare side will go the same way as we’ve already seen from the antics of a few over the spring.[/QUOTE]
You are right about McGuiness, but big difference between KK and Donegal. KK have serious talent coming thru to put pressure in players. Hence Cody can be the way he is.

With a much smaller pool of talent McGuiness needed to look after as many as he could. I think he got carried away with adulation and the power, especially when the clubs bent over. For a lad with a Masters in Sports Psychology he has made a lot of cardinal sins in that game.

It was only last week I was reading one of the Donegal players sympathizing with the club players and getting abuse about it, and reading between the lines he seemed to agree with them. It could have been McHugh in fact.

The other thing I don’t get, anyone studying sports science, S&C or has played and/or coached at all knows the best way not to get injured playing football matches is to play football matches. Playing club games I not only unique to GAA, but of huge social and physical benefit to County players. A lot of the things Jimmy has done have baffled me at least. I had great time for him when they won the AI, but straight after I turned a real dislike to him.
I have a few Donegal lads on the team with me here and they say he is very unpopular now.

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 939324, member: 273”]You are right about McGuiness, but big difference between KK and Donegal. KK have serious talent coming thru to put pressure in players. Hence Cody can be the way he is..
Donegal are supposed to have a very good minor team this year.

So? KK have one every year. And you can’t play minors at senior. Jimmy will be gone by the time they are thru.

Not this year :smiley: