The last time you were in a fight

I am struggling with the concept of that actually happening.

poor brimmer mitty, crying out for some attention

Oh it happened alright @Fagan_ODowd.
No shame in it though, he was a heralded minor football and made a decent senior set up.
The only shame I felt was that I was silly enough to take him on in a half hearted manner. I should have done the job properly.

Venue: Semple Stadium
Year: Circa 1994/95
Event: Limerick v Tipperary Munster U21 championship.

A spirited display saw a Limerick team, who were massive underdogs, turn in a mighty performance against a highly-rated Tipp side. Limerick led from the off but were systematically reeled in in the closing minutes. When Tipp hit the front with a late goal an ignorant roaster behind me, who had heretofore been shocked into silence, started bawling ā€œHon Tipp boy, sow it into the cuntsā€ ad nauseum.

I was prepared to tolerate his bellowings given the circumstances, however a moment later a Limerick player mis-timed a challenge and was sent to the line by the referee. This prompted a flurry of references to ā€œknackers, tinkers, canā€™t take yeā€™re batingā€ etc. This was an insult too far and I turned around and told him to shut the fuck up. His riposte of ā€œtheyā€™re all only tinkersā€ was the catalyst for me to draw the right hammer and connect as sweetly with his jaw as a roast chestnut with a drizzle of orange chocolate.

To the credit of the Tipp supporters in his presence, they intervened with no more than a quiet ā€œah hereā€ and a nearby stewardā€™s policing amounted to a ā€œI know heā€™s a bollix but you canā€™t be doing that, ladā€

Suppose you couldnā€™t really call it a fight as he didnā€™t land a blow, but it was my last time involved in violence other than being on a field on which I was a player myself.